We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our memorable trip to kilimanjaro”
Review of Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

super stay at mountain inn while doing our kili climb. ideal place for base for the kili climb. both shah tours and mountain inn experience was memorable. food was fantastic and had great party after successfully summit the kilimanjaro. they even had birthday cake ready for one of our group member.


Remee's guidance through out was so help in our success. Thanx !!!

udayan patel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank UDAYAN PRABHUDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

We really appreciate the time you have taken to review us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the celebrations after the climb, the stay and the food at Mountain Inn! Congratulations on your achievements up Kili and we look forward to having you and your whole group back with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 242 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Lovely place to stay and ideal for Kilimanjaro Trekkers! Staff took great care of us both before and after our climb. There was hot water for all 17 of us when we got back from climbing Kilimanjaro which was excellent! I would definitely recommend Mountain Inn

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seneesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to review us! Great to know that you had a pleasant stay at Mountain Inn. The water is heated with solar panels and we're glad you enjoyed it! Karibu tena (welcome again) to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Amazing trip. Fantastic friendly hotel.
Would recommend to everyone.
Climbed Kilimanjaro for Charity and was recommended this hotel.
Clean. Good food. Great staff.
Great customer service.
Amazing is all that can be said. Amazing place. Amazing people.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rachael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. It's a pleasure to have amazing guests like you too! A big congrats on your charity climb up Kili. We hope to have you back soon and thank you for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Pros: People are very nice here. Place was very accommodating. My friend left her bag and they went out of their way to give it back to her. Great customer service!

Cons: Food was a little bland. Some of the rooms did not have hot water but that was an easy fix. We just changed rooms and voila!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Theresa,

Thank you very much for writing this review. We are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant, accommodating and you enjoyed the services! We are surprised to hear that the food was bland as we are very well known for our exotic, delicious meals. It's a shame you did not get to taste the food at its finest and we do apologise for this, however thank you for the feedback! We would like to welcome you back to taste the best of Mountain Inn. We offer an extensive a la carte menu including Indian & Continental cuisine along with our set menus, and we are pleased that our new Indian chef has recently joined us, having more than 22 years of experience in preparing Indian and Chinese cuisine, therefore next time we will definitely not fail to please. We look forward to having you back!

Kind regards from all at Mountain Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

On the 18th of March 2014 I took leave of my family and set off on an exhilarating adventure, to trek up Mount Kilimanjaro and touch “the roof of Africa” to raise funds for a charity called RIVER Africa www.riverafrica.org .
Having just completed a long arduous flight of 6 hours to Doha from London Heathrow international airport around 5 hours to Dar es Salaam then a further hour to Kilimanjaro International Airport; the sight of the friendly face of My Shah Tours representative waiting for me with a vehicle to take me to mountain Inn was certainly a welcome sight.
My representative was courteous and friendly, we conversed about local things including the growing mining town on route to Mountain Inn, the drive to Mountain Inn takes about 40 minutes or so, no matter how many times you have seen it, it takes your breath away to look out at the majestic peak of Mount Kilimanjaro as it appears to float above the clouds en route to Mountain Inn.
The staff at the Mountain Inn were warm and welcoming, signing me in and showing me to my beautiful, clean and immaculately arranged room. Where I stayed for three days prior to embarking on my climb and one night after my climb. I enjoyed relaxing in the open air dining room, the food, the service and swimming in the big pool in the twilight.
On the Mountain, the Shah Tours team of porters and guides all new their jobs and executed them above expectations. In addition, they were friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. In my informed Opinion, Mountain Inn is the best place to stay in Moshi, whether you are climbing Kilimanjaro or going on Safari. You are welcome to contact me for anything Kilimanjaro or Moshi via daniel@riverafrica.org I will be happy to answer your questions.
Well done Mountain Inn, God willing I will see you real soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Daniel, many thanks for taking the time out to write the review. It was truly a pleasure having you with us and we are glad that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the food, the surroundings, swimming and service! We wish you all the best for RIVER Africa, we hope we can support you in any way possible. We too hope that you will be back with us here very soon to make Mountain Inn your home away from home. Karibuni!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Services at the Mountain Inn were quite good and the staff was also great. The only negative issue was the food quality during the climb which could have been much much better then what we were provided.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praful R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hi there, thank you for taking the time out to write a few words. We are glad that you enjoyed the services at Mountain Inn and the compliment on our staff is much appreciated. We will forward your feedback regarding the meals on your climb to the Tour Operator concerned. Karibuni to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were at Moshi in December 2013 to climb the Kilimanjaro. It was a big group of 21 climbers and Shah tours managed things really well. One of our friends booked us all from India and the communication was smooth and dealings clean. The most amazing was the group of guides & porters that Shah tours arrange for our group for the Climb. For a group of 21 people we had a total of 69 guides and porters (including some personal porters). The care taken by the guides and porters was unparalled. With almost all climbers being novice when talking about High Altitude climbing, we had a great success rate too with 15 of us getting to Stella Point and 4 to Uhuru. And for the two of us who couldn't climb further post the 4th day, there was outstanding help & support. Easy to give maximum credit to Shah tours and its choice and arrangement of guides and porters for our achievement!

Mountain Inn is a basic hotel which we used as a base for our Climb, but it did turn out to be a great party place with 21 of us celebrating our achievement as well as a birthday and a wedding anniversary in the group for which the Mountain Inn staff service was great!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank sagitarrianarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this review. It was a pleasure having your group with us, and glad that you enjoyed your celebrations in Mountain Inn. Congratulations to you all for your achievements up Kilimanjaro. We hope that you will return to Mountain Inn for more celebrations some day!

Kind regards from the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
8.3 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
1.3 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
0.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#6 of 17 in Moshi
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#5 of 17 in Moshi
191 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aishi Machame Hotel
Aishi Machame Hotel
#2 of 17 in Moshi
35 reviews
1.7 mi away
Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn

Address: Taifa Road | Kiborloni, Mnazi, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range: $63 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Inn is ideally situated at the foothills of Mount Kilimanjaro making it one of the top accommodations in Moshi, Tanzania. Additionally the hotel's restaurant offers the finest authentic Indian cuisine in town! Established in 1988, the hotel originally started as a base for trekkers. Over the years it has developed into a perfect place for all, accommodating travelers, businessmen, families and many more. Whatever the reason may be, you are all very welcome to Mountain Inn, a home away from home, a peaceful and tranquil environment with excellent Tanzanian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shah Tours - Mountain Inn Kilimanjaro Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing