We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff is very polite”
Review of Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Pros: People are very nice here. Place was very accommodating. My friend left her bag and they went out of their way to give it back to her. Great customer service!

Cons: Food was a little bland. Some of the rooms did not have hot water but that was an easy fix. We just changed rooms and voila!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Theresa,

Thank you very much for writing this review. We are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant, accommodating and you enjoyed the services! We are surprised to hear that the food was bland as we are very well known for our exotic, delicious meals. It's a shame you did not get to taste the food at its finest and we do apologise for this, however thank you for the feedback! We would like to welcome you back to taste the best of Mountain Inn. We offer an extensive a la carte menu including Indian & Continental cuisine along with our set menus, and we are pleased that our new Indian chef has recently joined us, having more than 22 years of experience in preparing Indian and Chinese cuisine, therefore next time we will definitely not fail to please. We look forward to having you back!

Kind regards from all at Mountain Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 242 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

On the 18th of March 2014 I took leave of my family and set off on an exhilarating adventure, to trek up Mount Kilimanjaro and touch “the roof of Africa” to raise funds for a charity called RIVER Africa www.riverafrica.org .
Having just completed a long arduous flight of 6 hours to Doha from London Heathrow international airport around 5 hours to Dar es Salaam then a further hour to Kilimanjaro International Airport; the sight of the friendly face of My Shah Tours representative waiting for me with a vehicle to take me to mountain Inn was certainly a welcome sight.
My representative was courteous and friendly, we conversed about local things including the growing mining town on route to Mountain Inn, the drive to Mountain Inn takes about 40 minutes or so, no matter how many times you have seen it, it takes your breath away to look out at the majestic peak of Mount Kilimanjaro as it appears to float above the clouds en route to Mountain Inn.
The staff at the Mountain Inn were warm and welcoming, signing me in and showing me to my beautiful, clean and immaculately arranged room. Where I stayed for three days prior to embarking on my climb and one night after my climb. I enjoyed relaxing in the open air dining room, the food, the service and swimming in the big pool in the twilight.
On the Mountain, the Shah Tours team of porters and guides all new their jobs and executed them above expectations. In addition, they were friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. In my informed Opinion, Mountain Inn is the best place to stay in Moshi, whether you are climbing Kilimanjaro or going on Safari. You are welcome to contact me for anything Kilimanjaro or Moshi via daniel@riverafrica.org I will be happy to answer your questions.
Well done Mountain Inn, God willing I will see you real soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Daniel, many thanks for taking the time out to write the review. It was truly a pleasure having you with us and we are glad that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the food, the surroundings, swimming and service! We wish you all the best for RIVER Africa, we hope we can support you in any way possible. We too hope that you will be back with us here very soon to make Mountain Inn your home away from home. Karibuni!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Services at the Mountain Inn were quite good and the staff was also great. The only negative issue was the food quality during the climb which could have been much much better then what we were provided.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praful R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hi there, thank you for taking the time out to write a few words. We are glad that you enjoyed the services at Mountain Inn and the compliment on our staff is much appreciated. We will forward your feedback regarding the meals on your climb to the Tour Operator concerned. Karibuni to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were at Moshi in December 2013 to climb the Kilimanjaro. It was a big group of 21 climbers and Shah tours managed things really well. One of our friends booked us all from India and the communication was smooth and dealings clean. The most amazing was the group of guides & porters that Shah tours arrange for our group for the Climb. For a group of 21 people we had a total of 69 guides and porters (including some personal porters). The care taken by the guides and porters was unparalled. With almost all climbers being novice when talking about High Altitude climbing, we had a great success rate too with 15 of us getting to Stella Point and 4 to Uhuru. And for the two of us who couldn't climb further post the 4th day, there was outstanding help & support. Easy to give maximum credit to Shah tours and its choice and arrangement of guides and porters for our achievement!

Mountain Inn is a basic hotel which we used as a base for our Climb, but it did turn out to be a great party place with 21 of us celebrating our achievement as well as a birthday and a wedding anniversary in the group for which the Mountain Inn staff service was great!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank sagitarrianarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this review. It was a pleasure having your group with us, and glad that you enjoyed your celebrations in Mountain Inn. Congratulations to you all for your achievements up Kilimanjaro. We hope that you will return to Mountain Inn for more celebrations some day!

Kind regards from the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

It' is very "average" accommodations but the staff make all the difference and it's very affordable. A super nice place to start and end a KILI-climb. The bungalow style hotel and open air restaurant makes a nice setting for relaxing passtime

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Søren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hi there! Thank you for the kind words and we are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful, relaxing stay. It is always great to have friendly guests such as yourselves which makes a world of a difference as well :) We welcome you back soon. Kind regards from us all at Mountain Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This place could have been described as "cheap and cheerful" if it wasn't for the regression into indifference and general disorganisation that so often ails hostelries in Africa. It's got a few plus points; big pool, reasonably good food. Downsides; no air-con, shambolic service, uncomfortable beds

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food and our swimming pool. We do apologise that Mountain Inn did not meet or exceed your expectations, as we continuously try our hardest to provide the best services we possibly can. Yes it's a pity that if there were any issues that arose regarding the services, they weren’t brought to the management or staff’s attention in person during your stay, whereby we could have tried to make a difference there and then. E.g. if you found the bed uncomfortable, your room could have been changed. It is a larger pity that we do not quite know in what ways you feel that there is general disorganisation and regression into indifference as they are very vague descriptions. Anyhow we will continue with all our efforts to improve and progress. We welcome you back, in the hope that the image you have of Mountain Inn will be different the next time you visit! Kind regards from the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Shah Tours provided me with a fantastic experience of a life time. The guides on both my Kilimanjaro hike and safari were outstanding in their care and attention, ensuring that I achieved my goals on this experience of a lifetime. The service and food was amazing.

Room Tip: The rooms were spacious with comfortable beds. They were excellent value for money. The hotel and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write the review and we are glad to hear that your had a wonderful stay in Mountain Inn. It was a pleasure having you with us! The rooms are designed to be spacious to help guests sort through luggage etc. before and after tours, and we're delighted that you found the beds comfortable. Our staff do work extremely hard, and your words and feedback will provide great motivation for them to continue. Karibuni tena (welcome back again). Best regards from our whole team at Mountain Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
8.3 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
0.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#7 of 18 in Moshi
46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#5 of 18 in Moshi
191 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aishi Machame Hotel
Aishi Machame Hotel
#4 of 18 in Moshi
28 reviews
1.7 mi away
Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn

Address: Taifa Road | Kiborloni, Mnazi, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range: $64 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Inn is the perfect base hotel conveniently located: - 5kms from Moshi town on the road to Marangu / main gate to Kilimanjaro National Park- Approximately one hour to Marangu gate - Half an hours drive to Mweka gate- Approximately one hour to Kilimanjaro International Aiport. Mountain Inn has 24 spacious en-suite rooms (singles, doubles and triples) allowing preparations before and after a Kili trek to be easily handled. Our restaurant is one of the very few in Moshi that serves freshly prepared meals including breakfast, lunch and dinner with a set menu, a la carte menu and an Indian menu by our experienced chefs. The small fully stocked bar and gardens are a popular place for meeting fellow trekkers. Services & Activities: Free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, massage & more! Itineraries planned by Shah Tours and Travels include accommodation at Mountain Inn unless otherwise specified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shah Tours - Mountain Inn Kilimanjaro Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing