We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Inn - good accomodation”
Review of Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed there with my friends for 3 nights : one night before climbing Kilimanjaro, one after we reach the summet and one after doing a safari. Everything was very good : the rooms were large and clean, the food was good, the employees were very kind and the pool was the bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 242 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really enjoyed the majority of our stay. Amazing food, quiet, clean rooms and a really nice setting. The one thing for all guests travelling from Moshi to the hotel is that it is definitely not near the town (at all) and for some reason taxi drivers had little idea to where we were going, especially if you said 'Mountain Inn'. Instead say Shah Tours and they will known exactly what you mean.
The main disappointment was the contact with the front desk who barely cracked a smile, were very disorganized and it took us almost 40 minutes to check out as they didn't have any knowledge of our 50% deposit even though I had a copy of the email sent by them proving it.
The food was excellent and would recommend the hotel on this basis!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmtemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

A nice place to start a safari, we stayed here overnight and really enjoyed the service, they had also arranged my safari and it was really nice, the guide was really good and he really looked after us. They are a good company and I felt very safe. I would recommend them to any friends and family. A fun place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We signed up for a 7-day Kilimanjaro trek through Shah tours. Part of the package included a two nights stay at the Mountain Inn. I had read many of the reviews included below and was not sure what to expect. However, it seems that the hotel owners have made several changes based on the reviews. The rooms were huge, clean and comfortable and the showers worked perfectly, good pressure and plenty of water. The staff was extremely attentive (we were the only group staying at the hotel) and the food was very good. We were given two entree options for each meal and the dinner consisted three courses, which included a soup, main dish with sides and a dessert. The pool at the hotel looks very inviting, but we were too exhausted after the hike to jump in. If you are hoping to walk around Moshi town, then this is not the hotel for you. There is very little to do near the hotel and the town center of Moshi is not within walking distance. Because we stayed at the hotel before and after the hike we really had no time or energy to get into Moshi, so this made the Mountain Inn a good choice for us. I did not try to use the internet, but one of my traveling companions did, and it was a frustrating process. I would just wait until you get to another hotel. We also had some confusion over tipping. We were originally tipping each person individual, but as we were leaving we noticed a communal tip jar.

While the hotel was great the trek was outstanding. Our main guide was Augustin and his assistant was Asante-el. They were both extremely professional and understood the intricacies and difficulties of the trek. Augustin oversaw every aspect of our journey and ran a tight ship (in a good way). He made sure we had everything we needed, and they both ensured that we were going an appropriate speed and feeling well. On the evening of the summit they sang the entire way up the mountain! This was absolutely amazing and surprisingly comforting. Augustin carried my bag when I was feeling like I could not walk much further, and they both helped us with our drinks and food the day of the summit. Augustin took pictures for me at the summit because he could tell I did not feel like doing it, but he also knew I would regret that later. Each night he gave us an overview of what the following day would consist of, and he constantly reminded us that we could make it to the top of the mountain, if we were in the right mindset. It was certainly not an easy trip, but Augustin, Asante-el, the cook Nixon and all of the porters did their best to make us comfortable and to help us successfully summit. They were amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aholla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay.
Everyone seemed very eager to help!
We also thought it was a very safe place to leave our luggage behind for the kilimanjaro trip.
Our room was excellent and the food divine.

Room Tip: 213! It's right by the pool and restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneundBunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Mountain Inn was clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly.

The food at the restaurant was also good. We had a great feast the evening before and the evening after our Kili Trek. They also had nice cold beer, which was a plus after long days of travel.

The only things that keeps this property from getting 5 star is:
1) They have one computer, but they use an 'air card' to access the internet. This is painfully slow and you might as well not bother. Although, using the internet isn't a priority when on vacation in Tanzania, it would have been nice to efficiently check email after 7 days on the mountain.

2) The hotel is well outside the city center. So, if you're expecting to walk out of the gate and walk around Moshi, this would not be an option. Taxi rides to Moshi city center were about 7,000 - 10,000 TSH ($4 - $6), so it is certainly not expensive to get to the city, just an extra 'to-do.'

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beach2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, great service and nice facilities and setting. Was a nice place to relax before and especially after our Kili trip. Food very good and swimming pool available for use, with a nice bar situated by the pool

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
8.3 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
1.3 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
0.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#6 of 17 in Moshi
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#5 of 17 in Moshi
191 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aishi Machame Hotel
Aishi Machame Hotel
#2 of 17 in Moshi
34 reviews
1.7 mi away
Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn

Address: Taifa Road | Kiborloni, Mnazi, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range: $63 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Inn is ideally situated at the foothills of Mount Kilimanjaro making it one of the top accommodations in Moshi, Tanzania. Additionally the hotel's restaurant offers the finest authentic Indian cuisine in town! Established in 1988, the hotel originally started as a base for trekkers. Over the years it has developed into a perfect place for all, accommodating travelers, businessmen, families and many more. Whatever the reason may be, you are all very welcome to Mountain Inn, a home away from home, a peaceful and tranquil environment with excellent Tanzanian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shah Tours - Mountain Inn Kilimanjaro Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing