We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow”
Review of Marangu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marangu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

like all other reviews about this hotel i can confirm that this is without doubt the hotel to stay and let them organise your trip up Killimanjaro if you are thinking about it.Our hotel guides up the mountain were amazing and witout whom i doubt we would have summited. Their knowledge of the mountain and of our abilities was priceless and they paced us from day one to summit, polee polee, slowly,slowly.we witnessed some extraordinary behaviour by some of the other guides from other companies who unsurprisingly did not summit. As for the hotel itself, it is basic but clean and the staff were friendly and attentive to all our needs. Our final night celeboratery drinks in the hotel bar with our guides will be something i will remember for the rest of my life. A TRUELY FANTASTIC PLACE.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 806giles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 246 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our group of climbers stayed three nights at the Marangu Hotel. Seamus and the staff were very helpful, professional and gracious. The gift shop was ideal for purchasing gifts for family and friends. The meals were tasty and well prepared. Seamus' presentation on the climb to Mt. Kilimanjaro was very helpful and professional. The porters, guides and cooks were excellent for our climb--we were well taken care of.

The rooms had plenty of hot water and the grounds were simply lovely. Thank you Marangu Hotel for providing a wonderful team of guides, porters and cooks to assist us in climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowy1466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

As other reviews can tell vouch, the hotel is very good at organising tours of Kilimanjaro (we took the Machame route) and at taking care of their guests at the hotel. The staff at the kitchen and at the shops were especially nice.

The almost idyllic experience was marred by just a few annoyances:
1) The tents we were given for the climb were horrid. Zips failed and they weren't the most water resistant. If you rolled next to the skin of the tent during the night you'd start to freeze. Far from ideal in those climates.
2) During the briefing we were told that at the end of the trip we'd "be expected" to give a tip to our guides, and that a basic rate was of $100. This came as a surprise after the amount of fees we had to pay beforehand. The idea that a tip is optional is not the case: it is as obligatory as can be to the point that the certificates are only presented AFTER the tips are handed out. This felt a bit extra. I would have rather paid it in advance as part of my expenses without having the worry of dividing tips after the climb. But it felt a bit worse due to:
3) ...the wages and food the guides and porters are given for the mountain. Their rations were so poor, our group enjoyed leaving left overs during our dinner so that the porters would have slightly more to eat. Their wages are so poor that they depend highly on the tips they get afterwards.

Room Tip: As long as you have hot water in the room, you can't go wrong at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaMsMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our group of 8 intrepid travellers stayed at the Marangu Hotel before and after our climb on Mount Kilimajaro.
Firstly a little about the hotel.
The hotel is great, the beds are comfortable, plenty of hot water which is so welcome when you get back from the climb. The food was outstanding and the staff are the friendliest group of people that I have met in any hotel worldwide. The individual cottages with about 4 rooms each are delightful and waking up to sound of birds everyday was as far removed from London as one can get. Defiantly this venue is worth a return visit in the future.
The Climb:
We did the Marangu Route which was fully organised by the hotel. If you are looking for ethical climbing then look no further than this hotel. They employ their own guides and porters who are paid directly by the hotel and are very much looked after unlike other groups. For our group of 8 we had 19 support staff who could not have been better. The guides really cared about our experience and did a fantastic job of looking after those members of our group who became unwell during the climb. The food (chef and assistant chef) was excellent and plentiful and the porters are extraordinary. The briefing before the trek was excellent and really prepared us for what was ahead of us in a realistic way. Overall I could not recommend this hotel and their team more if you are considering climbing Mount Kilimanjaro.

Excellent trip and experience but I won't be persuaded to climb Kilimanjaro again.!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are to a very good standard, if travelling as a couple let the hotel know in advance so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oonitoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

What can I say? The Marangu Hotel and the staff provided above and beyond what I would have expected.

Desmond provided us with an excellent briefing pre-climb. Dora the quartermaster provided us with all we needed. Dinners and breakfasts were plentiful - I certainly didn't expect to see a cheese platter! Pete, Pete's Bar and the all day menu kept me watered and fed when I wanted a snack.

All up, the staff were all super helpful. The beds are quite comfortable, the setting on the old family coffee plantation is great, lots of outdoor space to sit down with a book and a beer if you feel inclined. Bathrooms have both a shower and a bath should you need to soak yourself on return from the mountain. The property is very secure, and I'd have no hesitation in returning should I be back in this part of the world.

Only one comment, and that is if you're looking for Wi-Fi, the service is limited to a small radius, but it does work quite well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at Marangu Hotel Prior to, and after our Kilimanjaro climb. The hotel rate includes both breakfast and dinner. Options around the hotel are scarce so this is welcome. The rooms are in small houses located in a large attractive garden. The rooms themselves are very good as well.

As for the Kilimanjaro climb itself it was very well organized. The guides are professional and were a lot of help when ascending for the summit. If I were to point out something it would be that the guides did not explain a lot about the mountain and what's what.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrikr529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I arrived at the Marangu Hotel after a long trip from Hainan Island,China, and were met by Desmond and his two siblings who own and run this very relaxing spot. It is an old coffee plantation that has been associated with the Brice-Bennetts for decades, and has been modernized to bring it up to today's standards. I cannot say enough about the staff, all so friendly and helpful. The guests are all housed in cabins on the spacious grounds and the dining room is in one of the old farm buildings. The food is ample and delicious. As we were involved in a safari this trip we didn't use the climbing team that organize for their guests but we did have a great safari that the hotel organized for us in the nearby National Parks...Very reasonable in price and we were very well looked after by Winluck, our guide. We would highly reccomend this Hotel and Thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: The rooms are generally 4 to a cabin, and all self-contained. We had the "honeymoon Suite"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
13.2 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
241 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
13.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#7 of 17 in Moshi
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Aishi Machame Hotel
Aishi Machame Hotel
#3 of 17 in Moshi
29 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
13.2 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#5 of 17 in Moshi
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marangu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marangu Hotel

Address: PO Box 40 | Marangu, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marangu Hotel is set on 12 acres of beautiful garden and has been open since 1932. We have been organising climbs of Kilimanjaro, on all routes, for over 80 years. The original farm buildings (now offices and reception) were built in 1907 as part of a coffee farm before being converted in 1932. Guest accommodation is provided in cottages around the gardens, and meals are prepared with vegetables from our own gardens and home baked bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marangu Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing