We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff, well organized climb”
Review of Marangu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marangu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at Marangu Hotel Prior to, and after our Kilimanjaro climb. The hotel rate includes both breakfast and dinner. Options around the hotel are scarce so this is welcome. The rooms are in small houses located in a large attractive garden. The rooms themselves are very good as well.

As for the Kilimanjaro climb itself it was very well organized. The guides are professional and were a lot of help when ascending for the summit. If I were to point out something it would be that the guides did not explain a lot about the mountain and what's what.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrikr529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 246 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I arrived at the Marangu Hotel after a long trip from Hainan Island,China, and were met by Desmond and his two siblings who own and run this very relaxing spot. It is an old coffee plantation that has been associated with the Brice-Bennetts for decades, and has been modernized to bring it up to today's standards. I cannot say enough about the staff, all so friendly and helpful. The guests are all housed in cabins on the spacious grounds and the dining room is in one of the old farm buildings. The food is ample and delicious. As we were involved in a safari this trip we didn't use the climbing team that organize for their guests but we did have a great safari that the hotel organized for us in the nearby National Parks...Very reasonable in price and we were very well looked after by Winluck, our guide. We would highly reccomend this Hotel and Thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: The rooms are generally 4 to a cabin, and all self-contained. We had the "honeymoon Suite"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Words cannot describe this place and the people that run it, from the minute we arrived to the minute we left we felt like we were at home, the management and staff cound not have been nicer to us. The hotel was so nice and ideal for 2 days before our climb and 2 days after. the hotel organised everything for our climb, the advice we got before we left was superb and the crew were outstanding, they could not do enough for us and made us feel so at ease. Unfortunately my boyfriend got very sick on the mountain and almost died but thankfully our amazing crew rushed him down the mountain on a stretcher which saved his life. They were outstanding and we will never forget what they did, the management at the hotel could not have been nicer when we arrived back, coming to the hospital and ensuring we were ok, they went above and beyond on all levels and we will be forever grateful. Thank you to everyone at the hotel, we'll be back!

I would highly recommend this hotel and for the htoel to organise your climb, very professional, friendly and the price was very reasonable, 100% recommendation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giglesoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you're heading to Kilimanjaro this is the place to book your trip through and stay beforehand. Allow you to borrow gear from a room if you have forgotten something to take with you up the mountain.
All of the staff are extremely friendly and will go out of their way to help you.
The rooms are great and just what you need before you trek up that mountain and after when you come back and want a hot shower.
They are an extremely professional team and will brief you on all aspects to do with the Killi climb.
I would recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillyboy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Felt like family staying there. This old world coffee plantation has clean comfortable cottages, friendly staff, and good food, and their planning of my climb to Mount Kilimanjaro was absolutely perfect. The lead guides, porters, and cook all knew their jobs, did them well, and without the constant pep-talks during the last thousand feet of climbing I would not have made it to the top. The pre-climb briefing was professional and reassuring. Waking up in the morning with the view of the snows on Mt. Kilimanjaro just outside your window was a wonderful sight. After the six day climb they helped arrange my safari to the national parks in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n2maps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

It was nice to spend a night there, staff very friendly, nice food. Arrangements to climb the mountain were quick and very professional.This treatment you get at Marangu hotel at the foot of Mt Kilimanjaro

Room Tip: all rooms are suitable really no preferance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsk1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Tucked in little Moshi, this hotel provide a great escape from the big cities of Tanzania, and is just perfect if you intend to climb Mount Kilimanjaro.

Was there with a large group of friends, so they were pretty accommodating to all our needs. Very friendly staff, great food, and very peaceful layout.

The rooms are actually little chalets, with two rooms in each chalet. The place is greenery, and plenty of space to just wander around and enjoy the weather.

They have a swimming pool, and a small little library with good selection of books.

They do provide daily briefing for Kilimanjaro climbers, with very informative details of what to expect during the climb.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
13.2 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
241 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
13.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#7 of 17 in Moshi
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Aishi Machame Hotel
Aishi Machame Hotel
#3 of 17 in Moshi
28 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
13.2 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#5 of 17 in Moshi
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marangu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marangu Hotel

Address: PO Box 40 | Marangu, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marangu Hotel is set on 12 acres of beautiful garden and has been open since 1932. We have been organising climbs of Kilimanjaro, on all routes, for over 80 years. The original farm buildings (now offices and reception) were built in 1907 as part of a coffee farm before being converted in 1932. Guest accommodation is provided in cottages around the gardens, and meals are prepared with vegetables from our own gardens and home baked bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marangu Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing