We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to Killi”
Review of Marangu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marangu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to Killi”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We chose this hotel because it's close the start of our 1 day walk to the first camp on the Killi. With a family of kids we wanted to have a feel about the surroundings of this mountain but also the hotel where a lot of travellers start their walk to the top. The hotel is located in a nice garden with different, spartan style decorated, quiet and clean rooms. The food is good and served in a 'refter' stylish place while there is a great bar with chairs outside to enjoy the sunset. There is also a small swimmingpool.
The best choice for the location and it's atmosphere.

Room Tip: At the time we were there, there were old and redone rooms (with mosquito nets). Try to get the new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    62
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
50
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I am not an avid outdoor enthusiast, more like a passionate couch geek. I am fairly active, but am not an athlete. I also have asthma,hypoglycemia, and a broken back. I agreed to climb the mountain to please my husband. This is a Terrible reason.
The hotel could not have been better. It is not the Ritz; it has what you need. If you forgot equipment,they provide it (provided you have the fully- equipped package). If you need advice, Seamus will provide excellent counsel. If you need extra porters, the hotel will arrange it. The showers are plentiful and hot.
The guides and staff were AWESOME. The porters were so nice and so funny. The chef was a genius. Saturnin was phenomenal. He was calm,encouraging, and helpful. I can not say enough about the guides,porters and chef. Loved them all.
I enjoyed my trek up the mountain. Kilimanjaro is beautiful,otherworldly,and fantastic. The views surpass description. The Barranco Valley is unique; I still dream about it. I cant believe I made the summit. THANK YOU, SATURNIN. THANK YOU, Lionel.
Go try this. You can do it. And stay at the Marangu. Tell them Rebecca sent you.

Room Tip: Desmond and Seamus really give great advice and bend over backward to make your stay the best it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cferron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We organised a kilimanjaro trek through an Australian booking agency that was run by the Marangu Hotel. The trip was very well organised, guides & porters were fantastic. As 3 females heading off into the jungle with 15 blokes, you might get a little nervous, however there was absolutely no need to worry... about anything! The eldest in our group was nick named Mama and she was (as we all were) treated as though she was their own mother.
We took the lemosho track and stayed in the crater for the night (highly recommend) and then decided to descend in 1 day rather than 2. The hotel was very accomodating, considering we got back early. The adjusted transport pick up's were arranged on the way down the mountain and there were no additional hotel accomodation costs. With our extra day we were taken on a tour of the local village by our chief guide (Geoffrey) and then had plenty of time to organise our day in Nairobi the next day. Desmond (hotel owner) was fantastic, organising a driver to meet us at the airport, recommending an itinerary for the day, assisting with changing money and giving us lots of helpful information on what we could expect in Nairobi. A VERY BIG THANK YOU! Our day in Nairobi was amazing. Feeding giraffe's, seeing orphaned elephants and eating at Carnivores, was just some of what we squeezed into one day!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We camped in the grounds of this hotel for 5USD a night although you can upgrade to a room for not much more! It was the first campsite / hotel that we had stayed in on our trip with hot water so it gets a good review for that alone! I am told this is the best place to book guided trips up to the top of Kili - most agents - Intrepid, Dragoman and Gap just book their trips through these guys and add on a large percentage for themselves for processing your booking - so you will get the same service that you would get through an agent for a much cheaper price! Hotel has a good bar, interent station and shop which were all helpful

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The place is pretty comfortable to rest before and after climbing Kili. The food is great and the staff friendly. The nearby local town is rustic and you pretty get whatever you require incl. medication. The rooms are basic; just carry your own shampoo and shower gel as only soap is provided. Very important for that sought after shower when you return from climbing Kili!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshMath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

One of the best vacations we had. Wonderful staff! Outstanding orange marmelade.
Anna Maria

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMaria49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

A great hotel to use before and after a Mt Kilmanjaro climb. Friendly staff, excellent briefing before the climb, comfortable accommodation, good value meals and a relaxed atmosphere. Excellent crew provided for Mt Kili climb including guides - Augusti & Carmeli

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurnettN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
13.2 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
222 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
13.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
170 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
20.5 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 69 in Moshi
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marangu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marangu Hotel

Property: Marangu Hotel
Address: PO Box 40 | Marangu, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marangu Hotel is set on 12 acres of beautiful garden and has been open since 1932. We have been organising climbs of Kilimanjaro, on all routes, for over 80 years. The original farm buildings (now offices and reception) were built in 1907 as part of a coffee farm before being converted in 1932. Guest accommodation is provided in cottages around the gardens, and meals are prepared with vegetables from our own gardens and home baked bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marangu Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing