We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Untapped Gold Mine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lutheran Uhuru Hotel Moshi
Ranked #12 of 51 Moshi B&B and Inns
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Untapped Gold Mine”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have a kind of bitter-sweet relationship with the hotel. The rooms are in dire need of an upgrade, the bathrooms need new fittings last year... The suites are rather poorly furnished with very outdated spartan furniture, some of it unnecessary, towels need an urgent change... the breakfast is basic, meals are ok, the bbq quite pleasant. your reservation will be honored, rates are very pocket friendly. beautiful, secure, quiet location but a lot more can be done, management seems trapped between running a hotel and a youth hostel... gate closes at 10.30pm... so much for a hotel.... for some reason, i always find myself cheked-in, maybe its the location... the rooms are quite basic.... very basic... not bad if you are not looking for luxury....

Room Tip: For a couple, a suite is more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The location of this hotel is convenient as it is not far from the town centre. I was disappointed with the conference facilities. Management should look into upgrading the presentation equipment. AC would have been beneficial and calming especially in the afternoon when it was hot, humid and after having lunch! Food was same throughout and a bit boring. Sometimes there wasn't enough food for all the participants despite the fact that they had number of people they were to cater for!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's a good choice if one needs reasonably priced accommodation, in a peaceful, green area of Moshi. There is a new wing and an old wing. When we were there in March the new wing was full so we had to stay in 'Kibo', the old wing. I wasn't too happy about that , but it turned out to be a very comfortable night stay. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable.
There is a pleasant big garden, a restaurant specialising in grilled meat - not for me as I am a vegetarian!!! and an internet room
After breakfast, as we were returning to the room, we caught a glimpse of snow and then when we went to the special lookout area, we were thrilled to get a clear, wonderful view of Kilimanjaro.
I recommend this to anyone vsiting Moshi for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards Kilimanjaro and if you prefer to pay less, go for the older wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAISURYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is in a nice location on the edge of Moshi with nice views of Kilimanjaro. I stayed here for a business meeting in March of this year. The room was clean but in need of refurbishment. The taps on the basin and shower didn't work properly, the furniture was old and tired and several panes of glass were missing from the vented windows which made security of things left in the room a bit of a concern. Service was variable - staff in the hotel's restaurant and especially the hotel's driver were very friendly and helpful. However, staff on reception were moody like you were inconveninencing them asking for keys or to change money. Food at the Green Bamboo Barbecue was nicely cooked but none of the staff seemed interested in serving us and we had to ask twice just to get a menu. Overall, however, its an OK place to stay in Moshi, its cheap and in a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of Moshi town.

Room Tip: Choose the newer Mawenzi wing as this is the newest and has better rooms including air con (the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0mbard0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This place was well located and perfect for a quick stop over. I had a school group of teenagers and they were all comfortably accommodated but there is not the security I would want for na larger group and you have many different people staying. Good view of Kili.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were very well received at this hotel. Their barbecue was delicious. we rooms were very clean and the prices were pocket friendly.
Our over the phone booking was followed up which made us feel important.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through Tanzania or those preparing to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro

Room Tip: Mawenzi block is new and renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NairobiCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.5 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#3 of 68 in Moshi
79 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tembotamu B&B
Tembotamu B&B
#1 of 51 in Moshi
181 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 68 in Moshi
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutheran Uhuru Hotel Moshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutheran Uhuru Hotel Moshi

Property: Lutheran Uhuru Hotel Moshi
Address: Kilimanjaro Road | Moshi Shantytown, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing