We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for Kilimanjaro tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 59 Moshi B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“Perfect place for Kilimanjaro tour”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nice place, friendly people, home conditions, beautiful garden! That is maybe not 5 stars luxury hotell, but it really very good place for resting and preparing for Kilimanjaro tour. I strongly recommend it!

Darek from Poland!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dariusz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us, We are glad you could rest well before and after your climbs and between safari's.

From all the Staff at The Hibiscus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    41
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
39
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

After staying at a few hotels in Moshi I was so happy to finally come across Hibiscus hotel. A friend recommended Hibiscus to me. It was the most relaxing, comfortable and pleasant experience I had ever had at a hotel. I went with my two children who had plenty to do playing outside in the garden. Rebecca, the owner was very friendly and we even extended our stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and very clean. I can't recommend it enough

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaCW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we are happy you enjoyed your stay, we also know how difficult it is to travel with children so we try and make a families stay as relaxed and care free as possible.

We look forward to your return.

Rebecca and all the Staff @ The Hibiscus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Hibiscus is a great place to stay and represents excellent value for money. It is in a quiet residential area (although there are barking dogs some nights) and is within walking distance of Moshi town centre. The breakfast is excellent offering choices and very very good coffee and plenty of it.

Overall the Hibisicus is a great addition to the places to stay in Moshi whether you are travelling alone or with a small group. The staff are very friendly and helpful and i am really looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMW0170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving feedback and we are so glad you had a good stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Rebecca and the staff at The Hibiscus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geita, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Hibiscus is clean, comfortable, and the staff is fantastic. We stayed with our children, ages 3 and 1, and the owner, Rebecca, went out of her way to make us feel at home. She brought over toys for the kids to play with and let us use the fridge in the kitchen to keep milk and snacks for them. There is plenty of room outside for kids to run around in. The breakfast is tasty and they made sure to have it ready early for us when we were leaving early. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. We had a wonderful stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChristieH268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us, we hope to see you again next time you are in Moshi.

Rebecca and all The staff at The Hibiscus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hibiscus offers a great stay at a very reasonable price. I stayed there for two days at Hibiscus and can 100% recommend it! It’s in walking distance to the center but still enjoys the tranquility of a residential area. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast delicious and the owner Rebecca very good in providing all the practical tips and support necessary to get around easily. I was amazed by the nicely furnished rooms with the best bed I slept in for months!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66MarcS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From The staff at The Hibiscus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Accommodations -- Our room at the Hibiscus was clean, spacious and totally charming. The beds were comfortable and had nice mosquito nets conveniently suspended on wire tracks from the ceiling. We had a private bathroom that was very clean with a western toilet and a shower with warm water!! (Note: There was one small issue with the shower here. The hot and cold water nobs were reversed!! We didn’t notice this until well into our stay unfortunately. Once we figured this out though, the showers were fantastic.) The common areas were welcoming and clean. There was a comfy front porch that was great for read on during the day and a fire ring out back that looked like a lovely area for night time activities. (The evening temperatures of +80 F and previous engagements prevented us from checking this out during our stay.) Inside there was a living room with plenty of seating, a little library with books to share and a sizable community dining area. A really delicious breakfast spread was served each morning in the indoor common area. Options included, coffee and tea, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt and toast with jam and peanut butter. It was a great way to start the day, it was also a great way to meet and get to know other guests staying at the Hibiscus.

Management and staff -- The owner, Rebecca, and the staff could not have been better! They were sooooooo welcoming and friendly and helpful. You could really not ask for better hosts! Rebecca even drove me to the packet pick up site for the Mt. Kilimanjaro marathon when she found out I had no idea where I was going. They were absolutely fantastic.

Location -- The Hibiscus is located just north of the main part of Moshi. It is a quick (15 min) walk to the town center and the dala and bus stands or a 5 min (3000 $TSH) cab ride if you have lots of luggage. It is also just a quick (10 min) walk to the start of the (2011, 2012 and 2013) Mt. Kilimanjaro Marathon! This was a very luck coincidence for us as we just selected The Hibiscus based on its reviews and adorable pictures on here (which it TOTALLY lived up to). SCORE! Unfortunately, it is also about 1 American block away from Zumbaland – which can be rather loud both during the day and late into the night. This would probably be my one and only very minor complaint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write an in depth review of The Hibiscus, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and congrats with your sucess with the marathon.

We are always happy to help our guests with directions, places to eat and general info of the area.

From all the staff at The Hibiscus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hibiscus is clean, great breakfast and the staff is great. The ambiance and evening bonfire are a winner. The location is not bad and very close to town. I had a great time staying there and felt really welcomed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, we also love the fire pit in the evening, such a great way to unwind.

We look forward to your next visit to Moshi.

Warm regards

Rebecca and The Hibiscus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
231 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
1.0 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#5 of 16 in Moshi
174 reviews
3.4 mi away
Honey Badger Lodge
Honey Badger Lodge
#1 of 71 in Moshi
391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tembotamu B&B
Tembotamu B&B
#1 of 59 in Moshi
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast
Address: St Margaret's Church Road | Near the Freemason hall / Pare Avenue, Moshi 7403, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hibiscus A friendly run boutique Bed and Breakfast within walking distance from the town center we are situated in a peaceful residential area. The beautiful tropical garden is just the ideal background to the glaciers and snow of the Kilimanjaro.All thirteen bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms, offer western comfort with an African feel. Our helpful staff will endeavor to make your stay a memorable one.You will enjoy your breakfast in the shaded garden or on your balcony entertained by the songs of the morning birds or have a cool drink under the stars beside the fire pit.The weather will be always on your side, mainly sunny with occasional showers, all year round.With its central location, The Hibiscus offers you a quick easy access to the local shops, restaurants and swimming pools.We are happy to share our experiences, provide guides to local attractions, connect with reputable safari companies and give help to volunteers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing