We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, amazing staff - profits go to school nearby”
Review of Stella Maris Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stella Maris Lodge
Ranked #1 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great hotel, spacious rooms with very high ceilings. All rooms have a balcony (some face the Kili). This is a great base before/after a Kili climb. There's also a restaurant.
Staff was very friendly and made us feel like home. They provided spare suitcases for us to leave the belongings we would not need on the mountain.
The best thing about the hotel is that all profits go to the school next door (~150 kids) - don't miss a quick tour of the classrooms!
Note that the hotel is NOT in downtown Moshi (it is 5km south), so if you want to be able to walk around town, this is not the best option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the school: you will have a Kilimanjaro view on clear days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdmondDantes_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 328 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a great place to come to after a week of safari and camping in the Serengeti. A warm welcome was given to us at the lodge. Teddy, the manager, seemed like we had known her from a previous life - so hospitable and receiving. The hot showers and the delightful dinner (absolutely fairly priced) incl a cold 'serengeti'/'kilimanjaro' beer that followed made the day! We stayed three nights and Teddy managed to organize a fantastic coffee tour the night before at 8 p.m.!

Can only recommend this place, feels like home, with free top internet connection. Probably also a good place to stay when you are in Moshi for longer.

And what more do you need looking outside your window or stand on your balcony - there he is - Kilimanjaro!

I want to go back now!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sand9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Stella Maris staff was accommodating from the moment we walked trough the door. It was quiet and clean. Perfect for before and even better after a trek up Kilimanjaro. There are great views of Kili from our room.

Room Tip: They might all have it, but get a view of Kilimanjaro. If its clear, its breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcoleman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have never been greeted with as much hospitality and generosity as I received at Stella Maris! The staff and management is spectacular and the facility is absolutely beautiful. The staff is incredibly accommodating and they will do anything to make your stay at the hotel one to remember. I have never felt so comfortable and cared for in another country. I highly highly recommend Stella Maris and will most definitely be returning in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetsyHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

having heard very good things about Stella Maris we were very excited to stay here. The driver who picked us up from the airport was lovely, although I felt the transfer at 45,000TSH which was charged at $35 was quite expensive for the distance. The room was clean and simple and the view of Kilimanjaro from the balcony was spectacular! Water was warm and the food was tasty and very reasonably priced. The only thing is that with being a way out of Moshi, there isn't really much to do - having a pool would significantly improve it. Great that they have built the school.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 89minnie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I really loved staying at the hotel, it felt like home in no time :) Everyone was so nice and friendly, the staff were the sweetest and they had wonderful service. I highly recommend staying at Stella Maris. Teddy and Innocent were one of the sweetest people I have ever met and they are so welcoming. It's a tranquil place with a wonderful view. I just can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImenB257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here for my medical mission with international service learning and I loved it! Nice location, friendly staff, comfortable, great service. It started feeling like home! I definitely will stay here again next time I'm in that area. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Haq17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
10.8 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
4.1 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
5.3 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#5 of 17 in Moshi
191 reviews
5 mi away
Aishi Machame Hotel
Aishi Machame Hotel
#2 of 17 in Moshi
33 reviews
3.7 mi away
Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Lodge

Address: Moshi-Arusha Road | P.O. Box 3041, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Price Range: $87 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, conference center, restaurant and bar at the foot of Mount Kilimanjaro. Just 25 minutes from Kilimanjaro International Airport. All proceeds from the hotel go to fund the adjacent Stella Maris Primary School for orphaned or at-risk children of Mailisita village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Stella Maris Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing