We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stella Maris Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stella Maris Lodge
Ranked #2 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
1 review
“Simply Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I really loved staying at the hotel, it felt like home in no time :) Everyone was so nice and friendly, the staff were the sweetest and they had wonderful service. I highly recommend staying at Stella Maris. Teddy and Innocent were one of the sweetest people I have ever met and they are so welcoming. It's a tranquil place with a wonderful view. I just can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImenB257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    43
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
48
66
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here for my medical mission with international service learning and I loved it! Nice location, friendly staff, comfortable, great service. It started feeling like home! I definitely will stay here again next time I'm in that area. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Haq17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My friends and I stayed here recently around the time we were climbing Mt Kilimanjaro. I've stayed in a lot of different accomodation over the years and this place is just amazing in its quality, friendliness and value for money. Building itself is expansive and comfortable, rooms are large and clean with everything in working order, food is yummy, staff are lovely! The lodge also is non for profit and supports the primary school attached to it. I wish there was a place like this to stay in everywhere around the world!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ying Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Stella Maris for 3 nights, 2 prior to my group's Kili climb and 1 night after the climb. Our climbing group included my daughter and 3 of her friends. The best part about this great hotel is that it is non-profit, in that all the proceeds go towards running the school next door, so when you stay at the hotel, you are doing a great thing for the underpriviledged children who attend the school Visit the foundation's website for more informaiton www.mailisitafoundation.org The staff are very attentive and accommodating. Teddy, the manager, is welcoming, professional, and made sure our stay was wonderful and felt like home. Thank you to the 2 Innocents - the hotel driver who drove me to the airport at 4.30am and to the other Innocent who was so helpful with our room requests. The hotel is clean and well-run and the rooms with ensuites are clean, and the beds very comfortable. The hotel has a restaurant where you can order a variety of entrees and the breakfasts are very good. We left our personal items that we didn't take on our climb at the hotel and felt very secure doing this-we had no problems on our return. On our return to the hotel, we were all greeted with a cold glass of juice (tasted so good!), our muddy gear was cleaned for us including our boots, and we were quickly assigned rooms which was great after being so dusty and dirty for the past week. The hotel has wifi in the reception and dining areas as well as in rooms facing the school (and Kili). There is an amazing view of Kili from this hotel as well and it is located close to the Machame gate where we started our climb. I highly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay, whether you are climbing Kili or exploring the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My teenage daughter and I stayed at the Stella Maris Lodge for four nights in July, before and after our Kili climb.
We had a room with the wonderful view of Mt Kilimanjaro.
Hotel driver, Innocent, drove us to Moshi town and show us the best cafes and curio shops!
All the staff are so helpful and friendly.
We bought stationary for the students of Stella Maris school, they welcome us so warmly and spend a special time with children at the Stella Maris School.
Restaurant meal and drinks was tasty and very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Two bed room suite is so spacious and comfortable for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makikookabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I highly recommend experiencing Stella Maris. The people are the friendliest you can find anywhere. The accommodations are super clean and comfortable. The atmosphere is welcoming and refreshing. Teddy, the manager, greets everyone with a smile and will make your stay perfect. Don't miss the chance to visit the primary school the hotel supports. The children's smiles and joyful classrooms were the highlights of my trip. Bring them some school supplies and see their faces light up in gratitude. This is a wonderful place that should not be missed!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel was a great place to stay for me. After just finishing a tour of Africa on a truck I was so happy that the staff at the hotel were so helpful for me. They organised my transfer from my campsite in Arusha to their hotel with their driver. That was a huge relief off my mind. Once I got the hotel I had 3 people help me with my bags AND I was greeted by a lady who had fresh passion fruit and mango juice for me! The rooms were spacious and had everything that I needed. The food from the restaurant was very tasty and there were many charging points for electronics. I also found out the proceeds from the hotel go to towards a non profit school next door, which made me happy as I am a school teacher and know expensive things can be for schools. Also I felt happy to helping the local community with my stay.
The hotel then organised my transfer to Kilimanjaro Airport in the morning of my stay and made my breakfast earlier than they normal serve it! This hotel put a big smile on my face. Thank you very much for your hospitality .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
5.3 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
5.4 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.6 mi away
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Lodge

Property: Stella Maris Lodge
Address: Moshi-Arusha Road | P.O. Box 3041, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, conference center, restaurant and bar at the foot of Mount Kilimanjaro. Just 25 minutes from Kilimanjaro International Airport. All proceeds from the hotel go to fund the adjacent Stella Maris Primary School for orphaned or at-risk children of Mailisita village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stella Maris Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing