We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely lovely guesthouse!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Worlds Collide Africa House
Ranked #4 of 61 Moshi B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2013

With a view of Kili and just a short distance from Moshi city centre, the Pamoja guesthouse is a superb example of social business done right. This guesthouse operates under the Pamoja umbrella, along with the Pamoja cafe, to support the women's centre. Pamoja Tunaweza women's centre provides healthcare services to high risk women in the Kilimanjaro region (about 15min walking distance from the guesthouse).

Rooms are uniquely decorated & facilities are spotless. Very safe (the guard is friendly and you'll find three loveable dogs in the yard waiting to welcome you).

Excellent choice for the socially minded traveller :)

Room Tip: Balconies are beautiful, double check if your room has an enclosed bathroom vs shared washroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stargirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 54 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were very pleased with our choice of stay in Moshi. The Pamoja Guesthouse is an excellent venue, rooms are clean and pleasant, there is a fantastic view of Kilimanjaro from the balcony of the house, and Andrew is a fantastic manager (he has provided us with several very useful tips and eased our stay considerably in Moshi). As a plus, there are several interesting local projects in which Andrew is involved and part of the money from the guesthouse goes to fund these local development projects.
We highly recommend anyone travelling to Moshi (or using the town as a base for hiking in Kilimanjaro or organising safaris) to opt for Pamoja guesthouse. In addition, Moshi is a much nicer and quieter option to the mad Arusha.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serbanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

For accommodations in Africa, this one was a surprising treat. Comfortable, friendly, accommodating and extremely safe with a 24 hour guard. Beautiful balcony overlooking Mount Kilimanjaro. Good location. Warm water including shower! Many rooms have their own bathroom. Quite spacious. Would recommend to anyone going through Moshi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Pamoja Guesthouse on 3 separate occasions. The first of which was with my husband and our two boys who were 13 and 9 at the time. It was a home away from home. We felt completely safe, enjoyed walks to Moshi town and became quick friends with the local children. We enjoyed the duka at the corner on many occasions. The house is clean and fully equipped. I have been back twice since, once solo and the third time bringing my 71 year old mother who loved her visit. I will be heading back in January 2014 and i can't wait to see the new cabins that have been build in the back court yard!
The beds are very comfortable... This makes all the difference when trying to adapt to the time change!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Pamoja Guesthouse is a comfortable, safe and quiet guesthouse that provides the perfect combination of security, comfort and relaxation with just the right touch of Tanzanian authenticity. The staff is kind, trustworthy and extremely helpful and the place is always spotless. The added draw to this place is the link that it has with the Pamoja Tunaweza Women's Center, which is just a short 10 minute walk away. All proceeds from the Guesthouse go to supporting the Women's Center which provides medical care and social support for people in need in Moshi and the surrounding area. Whether you want a private stay or want to meet and socialize with other travelers, Pamoja Guesthouse is the place to stay....we have stayed many times and will never stay anywhere else while visiting in Moshi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctaJennMoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Not only a quiet, clean and welcoming place to stay, but also the staff provide very helpful information on how to get around Moshi, where to eat, take a stroll. Easy connections to locally owned companies to help you go on a day trip or a longer safari. A home away from home, with profits going to a local resource centre. A nice place to meet interesting people doing interesting things.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy_gail_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Pamoja Guesthouse is an extremely comfortable, clean, and private guesthouse just outside of the Moshi town centre. The staff at the house are very friendly and prepare excellent meals. On a clear night you can see the peak of Mt. Kilimanjaro from the balcony. I recommend staying here for both business or pleasure!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
7.4 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
0.8 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#3 of 17 in Moshi
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#7 of 17 in Moshi
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Honey Badger Lodge
Honey Badger Lodge
#2 of 75 in Moshi
407 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#5 of 17 in Moshi
191 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 75 in Moshi
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worlds Collide Africa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worlds Collide Africa House

Address: Rau, Moshi, Tanzania (Formerly Pamoja Guesthouse)
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range: $20 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just below the slopes of the majestic Mt Kilimanjaro this beautiful guesthouse rests on a lush garden property in a quiet neighborhood. Worlds Collide Africa House is your true home away from home, with plenty of common areas to relax and socialize. From our living room to library, garden and balcony, you will never lack for a quiet corner. There is even a fully equipped kitchen where you can cook and satisfy your cravings. Whether you are just passing through on your way to the mountain or the Serengeti, or plan to stay a while we welcome you. The Guesthouse exists as an income generator for the Pamoja Tunaweza Boys & Girls Club, located just at the end of the road. The Club serves the areas most vulnerable youth in the Kilimanjaro Region. Come visit us today and help make a difference! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing