We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best experience that I have had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rafiki Backpackers & Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Alfredi, wow this guy is amazing and makes you feel most welcome! He can organise anything from waterfall tours to safari trips to expeditions up mt kili! This guy makes the African experience become a reality, and makes anything possible. Best place to stay in Tanzania!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natelyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 137 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent a few nights at fafikis around christmas/new years time and felt very comfortable relaxing at the hostel. Nice single beds with mosquito nets and big open living room and kitchen. feels like being at home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hostel is clean, there is laundry service, breakfast service and pick-up service from the airport or bus station.
They also run a Safari company called ''Viva africa tours'', that I also recommend. Alfred and his team are great, they'll help you in everything. If you want to live the real Tanzania trust them.

Opposite of the hostel there is bar which makes good meal.

We went for 13 days in september 2012 for a Safari. They provided to us the room, the car and the guide (Richard) for the safari. Everything was great.

They are true rafiki (friends in swahili).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiovanniCeccarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was a great find - I was absolutely blown away by the hospitality of the two managers! Alfred was an absolute super star, picking us up from the bus station and helping us book our onward tickets, while Freya treated me like a good friend rather than a guest. We were upgraded from the standard dorm to a triple room with no extra charge as it was empty, which felt like luxury after our killer bus ride.
The kitchen is massive and well equipped, the bedrooms were lovely and clean [no mosquito nets over the beds, but the windows have them], HOT showers! and a wonderful free laundry service which was VERY appreciated after being in semi-rural Rwanda for a week! They also run a small travel agency and managed to sort us out with a hike on the steppes of Kilimanjaro just outside of the park boundaries [and thus much cheaper], which was superb. There's also a great little bar/restaurant in the gardens of the museum across the street which seems to attract all the volunteers in Moshi!
The only nuisances were that it is a bit of a pain to get to by yourself if you're new to the city, and the door would generally be locked if no one was around or awake - which is understandable, but we had no access to the key which made for a very awkward early morning departure! Nonetheless, I'd recommend this place to anyone headed to Moshi.

Room Tip: I didn't get to see all the rooms but there doesn't seem to be much difference between them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Rafiki Backpackers is located a few kilometers outside of Moshi town, but in walking distance if you don't mind a 20 minute walk. Rooms (both common rooms and sleeping rooms) are very clean! A self-catering kitchen is included which is why we picked it. Be sure to load up on groceries at the local market (only 4000Tsh if you don't want the walk) but there are several small shops close by if you forget something basic. Laundry is included. And it's possible to buy time on an internet stick to use the internet from your laptop.

There are comfy couches and a tv with some dvd's available as well as a tasty local restaurant two houses down. We're regrouping from a month of heavy travel and preparing for our Kili climb -- great spot for it!

I highly recommend Rafiki. Prices are reasonable and amenities are an excellent value.

The only negative, the place isn't well signed en route from Moshi. The directions they provide are accurate, however, so don't be discouraged if you don't see any mention of Rafiki until you're at the door! It's worth the hunt!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjlrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anastasija82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank mrks_Wdmnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
1.8 mi away
We Travel Hostel
We Travel Hostel
#4 of 78 in Moshi
68 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#3 of 78 in Moshi
128 reviews
1 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#3 of 17 in Moshi
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
1.3 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#6 of 17 in Moshi
56 reviews
9.7 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#5 of 78 in Moshi
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafiki Backpackers & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafiki Backpackers & Guesthouse

Address: Uru Road | Rau, Moshi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Price Range: $11 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafiki Backpackers & Guesthouse a true place for friends like YOU, that's why we named it rafiki, the swahili word for friend. We are situated in the more sophisticated Old Moshi. Within a 20 minutes walk or 5 minutes taxi drive you can easily reach the city centre with it's markets, shops, bars and restaurants without giving up on a good and quiet night sleep. We offer you everything you need to make your stay in Moshi enjoyable and one of a kind: - Hot showers - Free WiFi - Common living area - TV, books and DVDs - Games and Cards - Free breakfast - Free laundry - Free fridge and kitchen usage - Security service - Towel Rental (1 USD rent, 5 USD deposit) - Free linen - Cosy bar opposite to the Backpackers & Guesthouse - local store and fruit stalls within 2 minutes reach - In-house tour operator - Viva Africa Tours - for day tours, safaris, Kilimanjaro trekking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rafiki Backpackers & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing