We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastisch”
Review of Tembotamu B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tembotamu B&B
Ranked #1 of 59 Moshi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was my second visit to Tembotamu and it was also excellent. Sandra picked me up at the bus station - an excellent beginning to my visit. The accommodation is clean and comfortable. Food is fine and the organization to get to the airport functioned without problems. All good. I will return.

Room Tip: The outside rooms are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 197 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Its a well worn cliche but staying with Sandra and little Tony felt really homely. I stayed with my gf one night before my Kili-climb and then I stayed here another 3 nights following my successful summiting. We both enjoyed the warmth personal feeling of Tembotamu a lot more than the resort-ish Honeybadgers out of town.

The rooms were supercosy and Sandra was generous with her wifi dongle setup. The food is homecooked and breakfast, while having few items are nicely varied from day to day and everything is done supremely well, including the yoghurt and amazing mango. Sandra also invited us to dine out in town with her friends and offered us a ride. Tembotamu really is a small home with many guests staying long term, make sure to book well in advance if you want your own home in Arusha!

Expect:
Learning about local life from Sandra and the lovely group of guests who are (usually) involved with the local community
Amazing breakfast and homecooked dinners
Cosiest bedrooms

Don't expect:
To stay impersonal
Unlimited wifi, its through a 3g USB dongle

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reeop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

It has taken waaaaay too long for me to write this review but it has been on my mind since leaving the gorgeous Tembotamu. Three of us stayed with Sandra, Frank and Toni in July 2013 and did both Kili and a two day safari with them.
They could not have been more accommodating and helpful. My bag got lost and was nowhere to be found and both Frank and Sandra did everything to help me get my bag just in time for the climb.
Breakfast is to die for, delicious fruit, pancakes, passion fruit jam and lots lots more, yum! Don't think twice just book it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Its hard to find a good place to stay in Moshi. You either have the overprices tacky Tanzanian hotels with plastic furniture or the really dirt cheap backpacker places with communal bathrooms and laundry handing in the lobby. TemboTamu is the perfect middle ground that has neither of those things. The price is great, location is convenient (about 5 mins cab from town), quiet, cozy and relaxing. The place is small, located next to the owners' home, and very anonymously located on a little side road. Sandra, the owner, will help you with just about anything you need and will have a delicious healthy breakfast ready for you in the morning (with real coffee - no Africafe!). Such a lovely surprise to come across this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Tarangire room - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our stay at Tembotamu in September 2013 got off to a bad start: we got sick on the airplane in. It was so, so nice to finally arrive at Tembotamu after a long journey and have Sandra look after us. We immediately felt at home. Sandra took great care of us and arranged for our plans to be changed.
We had booked a trip to Kilimanjaro with her, as well as a six day safari. She arranged it in such a way that we had a couple of days at the B&B to recover, we went on safari after that and ended with the Kili-climb. Sandra really saved our holiday (actually our honeymoon) by rearranging everything! She will do everything she can to make your stay as enjoyable as she possibly can. Really, you won't find a more welcoming host anywhere. She will drive you into town, arrange trips for you, cook you dinner, etc.
We loved every minute of our stay at Tembotamu. The safari and Kili-climb were both great as well. Very well organised, the guides and cooks were fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Tembotamu back in November 2013. Sandra was very helpful from start to finish, helping provide directions, set up trips, cook us meals. She is a great cook and makes you feel like a part of the family. I would not hesitate to stay here again. The B&B is located about a 20 min walk to town or a $5-10 cab ride, so if you want to be out of the craziness of downtown Moshi, this is a great option. It was very reassuring to know we'd be returning to Tembotamu after the long trek up & down Kili! Thanks for the hospitality, Sandra & Frank!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed at Tembotamu before and after my Kilimanjaro climb, great place to stay, very close to town and Sandra can organize you everything you want and it is all fantastic. I recommend this place to everyone! Enjoy! It's perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms not in the main house are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
1.1 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 17 in Moshi
239 reviews
1.7 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#7 of 17 in Moshi
45 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
0.3 mi away
More Than A Drop B&B
More Than A Drop B&B
#2 of 59 in Moshi
64 reviews
2.7 mi away
Honey Badger Lodge
Honey Badger Lodge
#2 of 71 in Moshi
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembotamu B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembotamu B&B

Address: Off Uru Road | Third Road to the right past Keys Hotel, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range: $47 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tembotamu is a family run B&B. We are located on the rural fringe of Moshi town: a 25min walk to the bustling centre of Moshi.Our separate guesthouse, with private bathroom, can sleep 5 persons, and the main house has one double and one twin room, each with private bathroom. In our relaxed atmosphere you can relax inside around the family table or outside in our garden, taking in a view of Mt Kilimanjaro.For breakfast we provide an alternative to the common omelette breakfast: cereal and yoghurt, toast with homemade preserves, fresh fruit, pancakes, French toast and wonderful Kilimanjaro coffee! Light evening meals are available: for example burgers, omelettes, toasted sandwiches.A full dinner can be provided with half a day notice.Children are most welcome.There is ample room for car storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tembotamu B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing