We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for better”
Review of Honey Badger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Honey Badger Lodge
Ranked #2 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I just yesterday arrived home from my trip to Moshi and am already starting to plan a return visit. The Honey Badger Lodge is by FAR the best hotel that I have stayed at anywhere. We were treated as more than customers, we were treated as an extension of their family. The love that was shown to our group was matched by excellent food and views. I highly recommend this lodge to anyone who wants to really experience hospitality at its finest. Thanks Jen and Joey! I cant' wait to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hopkinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you so very much for your review, we are thrilled to be called ' the best hotel EVER' what an acclaim. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We genuinely enjoyed hosting you and the group and really hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Do keep in touch.
All the best
Jen and Joey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 405 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was my first trip to Moshi. Everything about the Honey Badger Lodge was wonderful! The entire staff was friendly and genuine. They did everything in their power to make my trip the best it could possibly be. I felt like I was family while I was there and didn't want to leave. While I was there I made some amazing friends that I will remember always. Thank you Jenny and Joey, I will be returning with my family!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacque D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words about our lodge, we feel exactly the same. The lodge should be a place to make friends, to feel at home and to really get a sense of Tanzania. We are so glad this is how you felt as well.
We of course welcome you back any time,
Warmest regards
Jenny and Joey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Honey Badge Lodge sits on what felt like the outskirts of Moshi, Tanzania. It is a neat complex of the lodging buildings/cabins and the bar/pool/dining area.

I was part of a large group (Trekking for Kids) who stayed there prior to climbing Kilimanjaro. It was neat to see folks on their way or coming back to Kili while there.

The rooms were spacious and had private bathrooms. All beds had mosquito nets and plenty of power outlets as well. The grounds are very well kept with plants of different kinds and you likely will see some of the monkeys who live around!

The staff was very attentive and eager to help. Some of them knew us by name and used it which made us feel very welcome. The food was plentiful and quite good.

Our favorite spot was the pool area, though we didn't have as much of a chance to spend time there.

But one of the things I liked the most about the lodge was how they seek to share with others in their community some of the income they make. They have a long history of doing so and this continues after the lodge passed into the hands of the son/daughter-in-law of the founder of the lodge. If you stay there, find them and hear more about what they do!

Room Tip: I got to stay in the standalone cabin - it was VERY spacious! Have a headlamp or flashlight as it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilivetotravel_Raul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a very full review of our lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back again if you ever come to these sides again. Thank you also for taking such an avid interest in the work we are trying to do on the community development side. It is this that really drives Joseph and myself, we believe the lodge truly can be a center of community development beginning with our staff and emanating out to our wider community. It really encourages us when guests see and appreciate this aspect of our work,.
Many thanks
Joseph and Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

As my daughter lives in Moshi, I did not use the accommodation, but I can say the pool area is beautiful, the lunches we had were great, the food was hot and fresh with good portions! And the staff were pleasant and friendly!! Always a pleasure to be there! I look forward to the next time!! I met Jenny and Joey briefly, very friendly and welcoming!! Great place!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lisatKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Honey Badger lodge. We would love to welcome you and your daughter back to the lodge when you are next here.
Warmest regards
Jenny and Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Jenny and Joseph, the Honey Badger was a perfect setting for our non-profit expedition participants to settle in, prepare for our work at a local orphanage, and then gather our energy for the hike up Mt. Kilimanjaro. The warm smiles of your staff, the comfortable guest rooms, and the beautiful ambiance of the grounds were just wonderful. Thanks much, and we hope to return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you to you and your group. We very much enjoyed hosting such a great group of people. We congratulate you all again for your success on the mountain and thank you for your incredible donations to local worthwhile projects. We very much look forward to continue this relationship into the future and hope to see Trekking for kids back very soon. Thank you for taking the time to review the lodge.
Warmest regards
The Whole Honey Badger team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Dear Jenny and Joseph,
Thanks for a great stay, it was an excellent experience of people-meeting and interaction. Your friendly staff were always cheerful and helpful, and always very willing to accommodate our needs.
Your set-up is like a different world and what you are undertaking to make your world a better place, a greener place in particular, is exemplary and for us all to learn from. We really appreciate that you are always remedying if something is found to be not working, this is what makes a good enterprise the better one. Where I would like to see improvement is in the functionality inspection of your fans and other electrical and/or plumbing in the rooms prior to change-over to new guests: in our two instances (first and second room) the fans were either too noisy to use (your remedy to change us to the larger and cooler room was great), or not operating because quite possibly the previous guest had broken the plug. I am sure that by now they are fixed.
Your pool was refreshingly cool during the hot days and so was the shade and always clean chairs and lounges were an added plus.
Your food services were absolutely tops (loved the pizza!) and we found your prices for kitchen and bar quite reasonable. There is nothing like a cool soda served with a big smile! And your being available to talk to us without rushing is also a very important component of creating that welcoming atmosphere which had you at top rating for the previous years.
Would we come back? Definitely, and we would love to.

Room Tip: The "round house" (no.18) coolest one the natural way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for ranking us so close to a full 100%. It is comments like yours that help us to continue striving for perfection. We certainly take on your comments and have added new fans to each of our rooms and trained the housekeeping staff on checking them and ensuring they are in full working order. We just need to ensure that our guests are encouraged to switch fans off when leaving rooms in an attempt to continue conserving electricity. We are glad you enjoyed the new 'traditional boma' room and found it airy and spacious and we warmly welcome you back whenever you can make it... We hope to get back to the top spot soon and will continuing working hard to do so!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

You know, from your first moments at Honey Badger that Joey and Jenny Rengu really care about their guests. They are welcoming, warm and amazingly accommodating. The rooms are beautiful and the pool a fantastic bonus. The atmosphere they create permeates throughout their staff and you get used to a smiling and genuinely concerned team, from bar staff, to waiting staff ( excellent food, fresh and local!) to room cleaning staff. I stayed over 2 weeks whilst working at a local school and staying at Honey Badger made my stay extra special. This is one of those reviews you have to write, because Honey Badger is so lovely, but you don't want to write it, because you want to know there will always be room for you to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penny1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us and most importantly thank you for spending 3 weeks with us. We so very much enjoyed hosting you, your group and your family. You are all such wonderful people. There will always be a room available for you and if we are fully booked we will build you another one!!!

finally thank you also for the time you spent with the children, especially with one hard working little boy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
3.1 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 17 in Moshi
239 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
3.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#7 of 17 in Moshi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
3.0 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
189 reviews
8.3 mi away
Stella Maris Lodge
Stella Maris Lodge
#1 of 71 in Moshi
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Badger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Badger Lodge

Address: Moshi/Dar Es Salaam Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Price Range: $54 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Honey Badger Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is a family run, solar powered oasis situated just outside Moshi town (Tanzania) with breathtaking views of Mount Kilimanjaro. Our grounds are spacious and gardens are lush providing guests with a lovely natural relaxing environment. Our location enables guests to experience rural life in Tanzania and therefore feel they are more in touch with the country they are visiting. We are THE BEST VALUE ACCOMMODATION OPTION IN THE REGION. We offer tailored made mountain climbing and safari packages and a wide variety of local and cultural tours and activities. These include: coffee tours, trips to visit waterfalls, hot springs, caves and blacksmiths. forest and village walks, African banquets, drumming and dancing shows, cooking, drumming and dancing lessons and more. The best part is, when you choose to support us you are inadvertently supporting local community development initiatives. The directors of Honey Badger have over 12 years of experience in the field of community development and public health and are working hard to ensure Honey Badger is an integral part of the community and its development. We also have volunteer placements for those interested in staying longer and getting involved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Honey Badger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Badger Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing