We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to rethink”
Review of Honey Badger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Honey Badger Lodge
Ranked #2 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This may be ideal for some people, but we didn't meet any. The lodge is very attractive and clean and our room was fine - if dark. Lovely gardens. Our complaint was that, despite the "blurb" on the site, there was no flexibility or willingness to listen to clients. "Welcome to rip-off Africa" and "We feel imprisoned within the walls by the prices of the outings" were two comments made to us by other guests from those in the dorms as well as the separate rooms. Being kept waiting 20 minutes to check out, having arranged a time and with a taxi waiting, while the proprieter had a shower was just the icing on the cake. We had already decided to cancel our return booking. It took another 1/2 hour to pay the bill. In true Honey Badger style, we were told "This is Africa". No apology and not our experience elsewhere. Please think through your service, Honey Badger, as the potential there is huge.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Trish1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
We would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to express your views on your stay at Honey Badger. We are obviously sorry that it did not live up to your expectations and we would like to take this opportunity to address some of the issues you mention. It is a shame that our communal evening dining that is enjoyed by so many was not to your liking. Our aim with our set evening meals is to mirror a typical African family setting whilst also giving our guests an opportunity to sit together and share experiences. However we did listen to your feedback that you gave to us and guests can (should they wish) opt for just one or two of the three courses.

Concerning the outings, we work hard to remain competitively priced for all our tours, safaris and excursions whilst ensuring our packages are ethically sound, meaning our crew/guides etc are well remunerated for their efforts and that our company continues to support our local community initiatives (we do not know if you had the time to visit our secondary education centre or our pre-primary school that provide opportunities to many vulnerable and disadvantaged young people). Finally concerning the payment, it was unfortunate that your card was not accepted by our machine even after 2 attempts. This is unusual but has happened, on these occasions other guests have used alternative cards or paid in cash. In your case we were fortunate to be able to use our new on line payment system. We understand your discontent with needing to wait and for this we sincerely apologise. We are sorry that you did not come back on this trip but do you welcome you back another time to enjoy our lodge as other reviewers have experienced it.

Warmest regards
Jenny and Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 412 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Recently myself two colleagues and two children spent 10 nights at the Honey Badger whilst working. We have been to Moshi many times before staying in a variety of upmarket lodges. Our question to ourselves is " Why did we bother?" The Honey Badger far exceeds any of its more expensive rivals. The warmth is genuine both from Jenny and all her staff who seem delighted to be working at the Honey Badger. Rooms, though simple are spotless . The immaculately clean large pool has plenty of sun loungers. Food is homecooked and tasty and the other guests are either climbing the mountain or passing through with interesting tales to tell. The Lodge is outside Moshi, safe and quiet and easy to get into town. An excellent choice for all budgets.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthumberlandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. We very much enjoyed having your group stay with us and we have certainly missed your presence around the lodge. It is lovely to have people around for a while and to hear about their daily activities. Your work sounded fantastic and your spirit for the work was revitalising. It was lovely that what you were doing built on the teachers workshop that we had supported only just before. We are looking forward to your visit next year and wish you all the best for the rest of this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Had a lovely relaxing few days here while waiting for my husband and dtr to climb Kili. I stayed there with my other teenage dtr. We loved the pool and bar area - especially as the town was busy, dusty and the weather hot. All staff were very friendly and helpful. I liked the idea of 'community conscious tourism' and giving back. Loved the food, the activities and entertainment.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you for your kind review about the lodge. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves here. We enjoyed having you here and getting a bit of time to get to know you (especially with the local drumming and dancing!!). We warmly welcome you back to the lodge whenever you can and hope your husband and other daughter enjoyed their Kilimanjaro climb!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have just returned from 10 days stay at Honey Badger Lodge. I was a part of a team of 5 teachers from 2 International Schools who came to offer a Teacher Capacity Building workhshop involving over 20 teachers from the Moshi Rural Education District. The workshop was run from the Lodge and all teachers were accommodated there. Jenny and Joey were excellent hosts, providng an value-for-money comprehensive package for the Moshi teachers and the visiting teachers, which included comfortable accommodation, good food and room to conduct the workshop. All of the staff could not have been more helpful, resourceful and friendly throughout, supporting us wherever we needed some advice or additonal resources. When the workshop was over and the teachers had left, we really enjoyed the wonderful pool area while Daudi (the barman par excellence) regaled us with Masai stories. All in all a fabulous experience. I fully plan to return with my own family in order to go on a safari. Honey Badger's focus on community is genuine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you for your kind words about the lodge. We also want to congratulate you and the facilitation team for another fantastic and inspiring workshop. As Honey Badger we are delighted to be involved in such initiatives that aim to improve and support teachers in our region. We strongly believe in this project and will do all we can to continue our support in the future. We welcome you all back whenever you can. Karibuni sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed in Honey Bagder Lodge during new years eve, it was an amazing night! Together with all the guest we had one big family dinner and afterwards a traditional African evening, with dancing masai people and singing&dancing Tanzanian ladies. It was so much fun!
You should really go there! With others or on your own, because you will definitely meet nice people there and otherwise are there always the nice hosts, Joey and Jenny.

Room Tip: The lodges are very good! Clean, big and they look nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willemjin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Thank you so much for your taking the time to review Honey Badger. We very much enjoyed spending new year with you. Our staff and local cultural groups loved dancing with all of you! In fact only yesterday they requested to be dancing for our guests every week! We very much hope you will come and visit us again soon. Warmest regards Jenny, Joey and the whole honey badger team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

As we arrived at Honey Badger after our Kili Climb, it was a great place to wind down at the pool and enjoy this lovely lodge. The family run lodge provided a very homily atmosphere during NYE, when Maasai and Chagga performed dances for us!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGdeKempenaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay and unforgettable new year's eve at the lodge! After a day relaxing at the pool (perfect recovery from Kilimanjaro) we had wonderful dinner with all the guests and after that there was a show with Masaai men and dancing women in which we ended all dancing around men playing drums. The rooms are clean and big, and the personnel is very kind. I highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FvS v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
3.1 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
246 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
3.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 17 in Moshi
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
12.2 mi away
Aishi Machame Hotel
Aishi Machame Hotel
#2 of 17 in Moshi
35 reviews
4 mi away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#3 of 77 in Moshi
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Badger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Badger Lodge

Address: Moshi/Dar Es Salaam Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Price Range: $86 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Honey Badger Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is a family run, solar powered oasis situated just outside Moshi town (Tanzania) with breathtaking views of Mount Kilimanjaro. Our grounds are spacious and gardens are lush providing guests with a lovely natural relaxing environment. Our location enables guests to experience rural life in Tanzania and therefore feel they are more in touch with the country they are visiting. We are THE BEST VALUE ACCOMMODATION OPTION IN THE REGION. We offer tailored made mountain climbing and safari packages and a wide variety of local and cultural tours and activities. These include: coffee tours, trips to visit waterfalls, hot springs, caves and blacksmiths. forest and village walks, African banquets, drumming and dancing shows, cooking, drumming and dancing lessons and more. The best part is, when you choose to support us you are inadvertently supporting local community development initiatives. The directors of Honey Badger have over 12 years of experience in the field of community development and public health and are working hard to ensure Honey Badger is an integral part of the community and its development. We also have volunteer placements for those interested in staying longer and getting involved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Honey Badger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Badger Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing