We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of Twiga Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Twiga Home
Ranked #18 of 61 Moshi B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The only thing this hostel has going for it is the manager, who is professional (hard to come by in Africa) and beyond helpful. The only problem is she's never there!

Go for the AC rooms as the fans are small, loud and just blow around hot air. And it's HOT in Moshi. The 'restaurant' menu has a very good looking selection of food; however, if you order something you're more than likely going to be told it's unavailable (the manager did tell me they were in the process of changing the menu). Also, it appears to give you two breakfast options. But, you really only have one - a fried egg, bread, one sausage, and fruit. Not sure why they list an option "B".

One night my friend and I came back to the hostel to see that all the tables/chairs were removed from the common area and were being used for some kind of family reunion/event at the front of the house. It was awkward, we were paying to be there yet felt like we were intruding on someone's family. The staff was not there to attend to us that night, and if we wanted something had to interrupt the event. It was strange.

The morning after the 'party' NONE of the staff showed up to work. There was no one to make breakfast so all guests were just sitting around waiting. Finally, around 9am one of the guests called the manager who informed us she'd send someone (not hard because they seem to live at the hostel). They apologized and said they'd been working late the night before.. ummm.. you still have to show up to work!!

Also, the shuttle never operates according to the schedule so don't depend on it. There were a couple days the shuttle was not in service - no explanation given either.

This hostel has a lot of potential. Unfortunately, the incompetent, apathetic staff ruins what few positive qualities there are. I've traveled a lot throughout Africa and do not have high expectations - especially in budget travel environments. However, Twiga was the epitome of unprofessionalism and disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaROK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwigaHome, Public Relations Manager at Twiga Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Since February 2012 there is a permanent manager at Twiga Home, July who is around 7 days per week.

The problem with the restaurant occured because the permanent and lengthy electricity cutoffs in Moshi made it hard to store any food items. As freezers and fridges require a lot of electricity, we cannot run them on the emergency power generator. This problem has been solved already with the help of ice pack elements that we brought from Europe (not available in Tanzania) which guarantee that food can be stored at hygienically safe temperatures for up to 48 hours even without electricity.

We are not offering Twiga Home for conferences any more as this interfered with our accommodation guests, so we stopped conferences altogether.

The shuttle service is now operating as published.

There is always a learning processes in any new business, but we are trying hard to improve and apologize for any inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 40 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

Outside of town, so u'll need taxi or shuttle, which you can arrange at the hotel. Food and room are so-so, at night you can hear dogs fighting in horror... its very creepy. Staff is kind and friendly.
[u]But I especially recommend that you ask about Steven.[/u] Its the young local guide who takes you in the forests under Kilimanjaro, on the vay he shows you different plant that locals use, then u visit home of his friend Oscar and make your own coffe including roasting and smashing seeds... very nice!
Then if u want, Steven takes u to the waterfall and if u have guts u can swim under it or even go behind the waterfall! The feeling of that is incredible! If u want, he can show u even the local pub and drink banana wine or banan beer with locals. So worth every dollar!
So ask about Steven and u'll experiance true nature of sub Kili Africa. 6 stars for him!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is a really great place to base a trip from if you're planning a trip up Kilimanjaro or anywhere in the surrounding area. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from the main town, but it's a straight road so it's easy to find. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and it does have a good homely feel about it, with very clean and comfortable rooms. We ordered food here most of the days we stayed and it was really good. It's also possible to arrange a pickup from Kilimanjaro airport. When I arrived Stephen was there to meet me bang on time which got the trip off to a great start. The staff are very helpful with recommending places to eat in town or agencies to book trips through. The lady who runs it, Adelina, even stopped us in town to tell us we were going in the wrong direction and put us back on track.

Overall, I really can't fault this place. If you're visiting Moshi, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

On a quite spontanious stop in Moshi, making our way to Arusha, we chose to stay at Twiga Home. We had about 2 nights in mind and ended up staying for 5. Twiga home and Moshi is really an amazing place. Not only do you have Mount Kilimanjaro as your view everywhere you go, but the house has a brilliant charm to it. Twiga Home is not your typical hostel or hotel - it's basically a house turned into an intimate and friendly chillout-spot.
The first thing you notice about Twiga is the extremely helpful and kind staff, who also speak very good English. Due to the fact that the hostel is a bit out of town (still not far enough to be impossible to walk), Twiga has a free town shuttle which for us, due to the fact that we stayed there off-season, was available anytime we wanted it. When we arrived in Moshi, we were greeted at our random bus stop by the lovely Adelina, the manager, who chose to not only pick us up in a taxi, but also pay for it, due to the van being on an excursion at that particular time. Mentioning that, Adelina can arrange several different trips to see in and around Moshi. We would reccomend the coffee tour.
At Twiga we had a double room, and we can't deny that it was very small, at least when you have two massive backpacks two small bags and a guitarcase with you! We also chose the room without air-con, and it became quite stuffed when you had a shower, even though the fan was on full power. You have an en-suite bathroom, which consists of a shower right next to the toilet. Straight after a wash, the bathroom is slightly unuseable due to a lot of saturation. However the water is hot and you certainly can't complain about cleanliness.
At night, the fan can be quite loud, but to be honest it didnt bother us, even with one of us being a light sleeper.
The outside area is very relaxing, being split into two parts. One with a bar, which seems to attract locals in the area, especially during football matches, which actually gives a nice vibe to the place, everyone mixing with the tourists. The other area is mainly for eating and a place for only the guests, if the locals and football isn't for you. You can still unwind with the news on a little tv they have set up or watch an array of dvds. All free of charge! Twiga does also have wifi, but sadly we wern't able to connect with our mac, however they do have a computer to use, again for free, where the internet is very speedy.
The only downside was that the cooks didn't always follow the menu, so you would never get what you quite expect, which can be annoying, but whatever you did get was real quality, especially for the prices. We can definately reccomend the breakfast number 1 (jam, butter, toast, fruit, juice, egg, sausage and coffee or tea)!
All in all Twiga Home is a hidden treasure, full of character and a homely vibe that you will be reluctant to leave. We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we were to go back to Moshi.

Room Tip: I would choose an aircon room in hindsight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lewis_Nicoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwigaHome, Manager at Twiga Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

Thanks a lot for your review! Please note that we have meanwhile replaced the noisy ceiling fans with quiet ones! Enjoy your sleep at Twiga Home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We found Twiga Home to be one of the best hostels we stayd in while travelling in Tanzania. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and spoke very good English (which is good if you haven't learned your Kiswahili yet). We especially appreciated the free shuttle service even at our late hour of arrival. The hostel itself was clean and very comfortable, right below Mount Kilimanjaro, so even the view was great. The rooms weren't the biggest we have stayed in, but big enough as we didn't go to Moshi to stay indoors. The beds were comfortable with mosquito nets and the shower had hot water. The hostel has free wireless Internet and you can also use the computer at the hostel if you don't have your own laptop. Everything from the food to the security was excellent, so we have absolutely nothing negative to say about Twiga Home. During our stay the only slight minus I can think of were the fans which were quite loud, so for a slight sleeper they might be a problem. But even that is going to be fixed with AC being installed. All in all we want to recommend Twiga Home most heartily to all travelling to Moshi!

Room Tip: All rooms equally good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rumis-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwigaHome, Manager at Twiga Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

The noisy ceiling fans have already been replaced by quiet ones, so nothing should restrain our guests now from a peaceful sleep at Twiga Home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Stefano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind schön!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manfred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
1.3 mi away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#3 of 75 in Moshi
113 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
2.1 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#3 of 18 in Moshi
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#7 of 18 in Moshi
46 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#5 of 18 in Moshi
191 reviews
4.3 mi away
Honey Badger Lodge
Honey Badger Lodge
#2 of 75 in Moshi
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twiga Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twiga Home

Address: Soweto Area, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range: $17 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twiga Home is a friendly and new budget accommodation in Moshi/Kilimanjaro. We have 14 clean and modern rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, hot showers and ceiling fans. There are AC and non-AC rooms. We offer free Wi-Fi and free town shuttle transfers. We are located in a quiet residential area with an attractive garden and 24 h security. Our outdoor bar and restaurant offer international and African dishes, drinks and refreshments at very competitive prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Twiga Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing