We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Moshi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed here before and after the Kilimanjaro climb. It is a nice hotel and the staff cannot do enough for you, the comments about lack of hot water are true at certain parts of the day but when we were there it was mid 30's so a cool shower didn't really matter. The food was good and there was free WiFi in reception but it was the slowest ever but I could e-mail some photographs home. The bar is lovely to relax in and prices for everything although more than in town (5,000sch Taxi ride away, don't forget to barter with the Taxi drivers) are far cheaper than the UK. Overall compared to what else is avaialable you would not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: 104 and 105 are in the main buiding and spacious, the bungalows behind reception are also nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 118 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed at Sal Salinero for a few days before and after my Kilimanjaro climb. The staff were really friendly and made every effort to make my trip an enjoyable one. The restaurant had a great atmosphere and the food was delicious, although it did take a little longer than I had anticipated but the meals were freshly prepared so this is to be expected i suppose. I spent time relaxing in the gardens and by the pool which were both very clean and well presented. All in all a thoroughly wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The individual bungalows are particularly wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 897travelling_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed at Sal Salinero after climbing Kilimanjaro and it was a welcome relief to find a very well appointed room with ensuite shower and toilet, relaxing gardens and a small swimming pool.

The outdoor bar area is a great place to celebrate your summit success with a few beers.

The food in the restaurant was good albeit the service a little slow but then again it is Tanzania.

Free Wifi was available around the garden area and in communal areas.

Having stayed at the Keys hotel before my climb, Sal Salinero was by far much nicer surroundings to relax your weary limbs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scoobydoo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here for 3 seperate nights during a Kili, safari and beach holiday in Tanzania. Some of the problems we encountered were: no hot water for shower after Kili climb, no plug for basin, no milk for tea in the room, no coffee in the room, noisy night with gardener watering plants with a bucket outside our room for hours, dirty blankets, security guards making noise at night, bright lights on the whole night shining into bedroom, no bottled water in room, booked packed breakfast not prepared for us, really bad breakfast and poor dinner. So taking into consideration electricity cuts and the like we still got better service on the Kili climb our of a tent and one plate gas stove. Pleasant reception staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Josephin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ironio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TansaniaKenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
8.3 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
1.7 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 17 in Moshi
239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
0.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#7 of 17 in Moshi
45 reviews
1.9 mi away
Keys Hotels Travel & Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel

Address: Salinero Road, Moshi, Tanzania (Formerly Sal Salinero Hotel)
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range: $102 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing