We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad room, bad service”
Review of Kindoroko Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kindoroko Hotel
Ranked #21 of 59 Moshi B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“bad room, bad service”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

we stay at the hotel before our safari but we didn't come back to the same hotel because of the service we received and the rooms could not accommodate even a 1yrs old child. the staff don't have a good communication skills, when asked if they have a bigger rooms so that we can change they reply that what we requested therefore its not they are problem. no air condition due to that we could not sleep well because of mosquito.

Room Tip: no advice for that hotel and no recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thawndeka u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
5
14
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerteminde, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Nice hotel - some room are big, others have a great view over Kilimanjaro.
Great place to start and end a safari or Kili trip.
Bars and restaurants are good - the top bar "Summit Bar" can also be used for dining.

Room Tip: Apparently are the inside rooms bigger than the rooms with a view - room 102 is large
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanBraunDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We came here because we had gotten a good review from friends. When we first arrived we immediately got in an argument with the man working at the front desk. He didn't want us to check in because none of us had passports (we all lived in Arusha and didn't feel the need to bring our passports to Moshi for security reasons) after we threatened to go elsewhere he changed his story and told us the passports were no big deal. The private room I stayed in was very nice but very basic. It had two beds, mosquito nets, a mini fridge and a TV. The TV had international news and sports which was a plus! The fridge really didn't keep anything too cold, but it was still nice to have. The room was a sauna during the night however, and I woke up numerous times uncomfortable and sweating. The view from the deck was pretty amazing, as you could see Kili quite clearly. For smokers the deck is a tease. There is no smoking anywhere but outside the building. The rooftop bar had a great view and was really nice. The staff once again was horrendous. They accused two of our group members of not paying (even though they both did) and insisted that we give them more money. Some of our group members checked out the next night and booked a different hostel. When they came back to come up to our rooms for a few minutes they were not allowed. The man at the front desk (same as before) screamed at us for trying to sneak non paying customers in. We explained that it was just to grab things from the room but he insisted we were lying. Every time I passed him he always had a rude comment to say to me which became rather annoying and somewhat offensive. The location was excellent. The staff shouldn't prevent you from staying here. If you're looking for a basic, clean backpackers room this is the place. Just don't talk to the staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freespiritlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel before and after our hike of Mt. Kilimanjaro. We found this hotel to be well priced as compared to some of the other hotels/ hostels in the area. The rooms were compact with TV and working fans/ mosquito nets. They have a great rooftop bar/ seating area, which was great in the mornings when you could see Mt. Kilimanjaro. They also have a nice restaurant and bar on the main floor of the hotel. We really liked the front desk staff- Christopher, he was very helpful and kind. Had extra luggage that we left with the hotel while we climbed, with no extra charges.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

The room is very small and not to the value of US$ 25.00. The room rent should be US$10.00. The toilet is most ordinary and not well maintained. Fan speed is slow, but no AC in the room. TV is there inside the room but not in working condition. Buffet breakfast is there but it is very simple, not upto the mark. On duty receptionist is not well trained, as I have made 10% deposit and she was asking to whom you have paid 10%. Not accustomed with Hostelworld booking. Only location is good i.e. near to the bus station. It is very average hotel.

Room Tip: For solo travellers, it is managable but not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArghyaKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

The single rooms in Kindoroko hotel are very small. I managed to get a room with a balcony (room 304) and it was great. From the balcony I had a good view on the Kilimanjaro and that was so beautiful.
The bed was comfortable with a good mosquito net. The room was very clean and refreshed every day. All the people working at Kindoroko where extremely friendly.
The location couldn't be better, in the middle of town and everything on walking distance.
There is a nice terrace on the 4th floor, also with stunning view of Kilimanjaro. The atmosphere on the terrace although could be much nicer. What I really missed here was WIFI for the guests, which would attack more people and give a better atmosphere.
Overall an OK place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.0 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
0.0 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#6 of 16 in Moshi
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 71 in Moshi
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stella Maris Lodge
Stella Maris Lodge
#2 of 71 in Moshi
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#10 of 16 in Moshi
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kindoroko Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kindoroko Hotel

Property: Kindoroko Hotel
Address: Main Street, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kindoroko Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing