We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't stay here...well...you're dumb.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ndarakwai Ranch Camp
Ranked #5 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you don't stay here...well...you're dumb.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The caveat: I was staying at the camp while on a video shoot and going to stay there regardless of reviews. I'd seen pictures and knew the owners through production work...but this was my first visit.
The camp: Wow. Having traveled all over God's green Earth and stayed in hundreds of properties, Ndarakwai stands out as one of my top ten most memorable properties. Excellent staff and accommodations. Owners are committed to making as little environmental impact as possible and all power is solar (with generator backups). You're not going to have power in your tent...but that was no big deal. (and this from a guy who had to charge camera/monitor/lights/laptop batteries each day after shooting)

My only complaint is that I didn't get to stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PursuiterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
37
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moshi, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We live in Moshi and have therefore visited many lodges and national parks. Peter Jones's camp is beautiful, ecological, like an oasis in a jungle with a river running through it. He is doing wonderful work for the environment and local schools. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Such a beautiful place in such a great location next to a trickling river. Such great staff and such a nice feel to it! Would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants an enjoyable stay! I for sure will be returning in the near future!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Ndarakwai Ranch is an experience I will never forget: truly an elegant ranch embedded within magnificent views from your table. The atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff was also second to none and the game drive was not only an enjoyable experience but a very informative one too. The tents were of luxury standard and the food was top class - I would definitely recommend this lodge to anyone seeking to travel to Tanzania.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davedass M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Time stood still. Weeks of stressed dissolved into the harmonious lull of the warm African air whilst the burden of accumulated worry, imposed on us by our laborious careers of monotony, were washed away into the serene trickle of water flowing past the camp. Reclined and relaxed in Ndarakwai ranch, my mind soothed by nuances of nothingness, at last I was at peace.

This place truly is wonderful. Its functionality and sophistication panders to your every need whilst leaving you immersed in the beauty of nature. As humans we are continually confused about what makes us happy, often the answer is something unexplainable. Ndarakwai is a place that will leave you truly happy in the most subtle of manors.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were a group of 6, and really enjoyed ourselves at the Ranch. Great Location, very helpful and friendly staff, we spend our news eve near their beautiful fire place. The tents were beautiful, very clean, the housekeeping did its best to ensure we were comfortable during our 3 days stay at the Ranch.

Some experiences we were not very happy with;
We were not impressed with the food, the kitchen could do with some help. The breakfast was very very boring. one of the evenings we stepped out of the ranch, and had dinner in Moshi town. i believe the quantity of food is strictly controlled.

I found slugs and giant lizards in the bathroom, i found that very creepy, but i guess i should have expected to see that at a Ranch, however as soon as i informed the house keeping,they got rid of them, which made me very happy.

We found deers near our tents every morning, and we got to feed the bush babys every night, which was absolutely beautiful!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shereen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ndarakwai, Owner at Ndarakwai Ranch Camp, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi Shereen, thank you for taking the time to write the review! I'm glad you liked the tents! We buy large canvas rolls from Morogoro and all of the tents are then hand made at Ndarakwai!

Sorry you were not impressed with the food, it is actually something we pride ourself on. For breakfast we offer fresh juice and fruit, home made granola, eggs (poached, scrambled, fried, boiled and even eggs Benedict), bacon, sausage and toast, along with coffee and tea. We even deliver coffee and tea to your room at any time of day. Im sorry you couldn't find something you wanted!

The "Giant lizards" are called geckos and their size ranges from 1cm to 15cm. They are harmless and eat butterflies, moths and anything other insects attracted to lights!

Glad you enjoyed seeing the Bush Buck near your tents, we have about 10 living in camp and many of them have given birth within the least month.

Again, thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

As good as it can get! You feel here at ease immediately with the personal attention and the great attention to detail. When you stay here, it is not just about glamping but also what (small) contribution you can make to the thriving of this reserve which has a bigger story (and challenge) than other reserves. Eric was a great guide who got the kids to enjoy the small wildlife as well.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suushil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moshi
31.3 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
32.8 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
22.6 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 65 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 mi away
Honey Badger Lodge
Honey Badger Lodge
#1 of 65 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
8.8 mi away
Africa Amini Maasai Lodge
Africa Amini Maasai Lodge
#1 of 1 in Engare Nanyuki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
28.5 mi away
Stella Maris Lodge
Stella Maris Lodge
#2 of 65 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndarakwai Ranch Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndarakwai Ranch Camp

Property: Ndarakwai Ranch Camp
Address: | On the slopes of West Kilimanjaro, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Started in 1994, Ndarakwai is a unique success story of land and wildlife rehabilitation, the first of its kind in Tanzania. With about 70 mammal species and over 350 bird species in a combination of high long grass plains, classic Acacia savannah, Commiphora thickets, and riparian habitats, a stay at Ndarakwai is a great addition to any safari itinerary. Ndarakwai Camp, with 14 large comfortable and individually decorated tents, is set at 4200 feet in the midst of an 11,000 acre privately-owned ranch in Siha District, West Kilimanjaro. Ndarakwai offers a high degree of personalized service, attention to detail, great food, as well as a wide variety of excellent wildlife related activities, cultural experiences, and excursions. What really sets us apart from National parks is our ability to offer half and full day walks with an experienced guide, as well as night game drives. These are two things you are not able to do in the parks. If it is birding on foot, or searching for nocturnal animals by spotlight, Ndarakwai is for you! Ndarakwai strives to be the best in luxury tented camping while maintaining the principles of responsible environmental stewardship. Extensive use of solar power (for electricity and hot water), the use of clay ovens for cooking, preference for local produce, combined with 11,000 protected acres of bush and woodland give confidence the camp is being established as carbon neutral. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ndarakwai Ranch Camp Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing