We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ndarakwai Ranch Camp
Ranked #8 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Wonderful and incredibly romantic bush getaway only an hour or so from Moshi/Arusha. You can see zebra, wildebeest, eland, bushbuck, warthog, mongoose and blue and vervet monkeys as well as baboon very easily around the camp and on walks and game drives. Other species can be spotted on game drives such as lesser kudu and dik dik, with a variety of bird-life. The food is incredible and there is a lot of it! You won't go hungry that's for sure, and they even cater for vegans. The dining area has two gorgeous big fireplaces, and a highlight is feeding the bushbabies that emerge for a piece of banana around 7.30pm, as well as spotting the nocturnal genet (occasional cheese-thief!). A great place to kick off and finish a trek up Kilimanjaro or start/end your safari experience. The tents are really 'Out of Africa', with little decks that look over the bush. Wonderful staff and managers (special thanks to Ailsa), who will cater to your every need, and experienced guides (special thanks to Ashari) will make this visit extra-special, not to mention stunning views of both Meru and Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 172 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent 4 days in Ndarakwai at the beggining of a 3 weeks safari. The site in beautiful, calm, food is excellent. The staff is really friendly. We enjoy to relax after a 24h in airport. On the 4th day we were ready for the bigs safaris and the 7-8 hours drive in jeep in the differents parks.
For us it`s a 5 stars site. Coup de coeur complet pour nous tous!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lfavreault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Ndarakwai ranch starting a 11 days safari. This place was a "coup de coeur" for all of us. It is well decorated, with nice food, and welcoming staff. And we loved the walking games for 2 days. The ranger was excellent. The landscape is splendid and it is a privilege to be able to walk so freely with wild animal not so far away.
Nothing was so unique then this magnificent tented camp during our safari!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

One of the few places outside the tourist trail where you can enjoy game drives as well as walking safaris, night game drives and other cultural activities. Staff is very friendly and the tents are comfortable. Food is excellent. Stay at least 2 or 3 nights to get the full experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngataFmH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Ndarakwai Camp stood out from the several tented camps we visited in our 16-day trip throughout northern Tanzania. It was our first camp and it was a fantastic first impression. The camp itself was elegantly set and comfortable. After an arduous trip to finally reach it after 30 hours of almost uninterrupted travel, it seemed like we had stepped into a movie in which we were starring ourselves. Being surrounded by the most varied fauna and flora helped, nit most impressively, however, were the people who ran and worked in the camp. We were blown away by their genuine friendliness, care of their environment and animals, and the love for their work.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JONVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Ndarakwai is a great get-away safari experience...super to go on walking safaris with the kids, great game spotting sundowner treehouse, and super open-vehicle safari cars. There are a couple of orphaned elephants on the grounds which provide great entertainment for the kids, and the facility is at the crossroads of an elephant migratory corridor that links Kilimanjaro to Lake Natron. Great to just relax in the sofas on the porch too and watch the monkeys and birds in the trees.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AthanasA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We started our Tanzania safari in October with 2 nights in Ndarakwai. This turned out to be a very good decision. The place is SO friendly and relaxing with very private and authentic safari tents in a very natural setting. At the same time you have all the comfort you could wish for with running water, big shower with hot water, fantastic food. The staff and management are outstanding. The game drives in open vehicles were very pleasant, even though you cannot expect to see big predators or herds of elefant here. But you have the whole terrain to yourself with spectacular Mount Kilimanjaro on one side and beautiful Mount Meru on the other.
In the evening we had a sundowner on a fancy wooden construction that was specifically built for the purpose and on the second evening we had a night game drive, that was also very interesting. I can wholehartely recommend Ndarakwai Ranch for 2-3 nights as a start for your Tanzania safari or even a finish if you do not want to go to the coast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheodorWiesbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
32.8 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#3 of 17 in Moshi
248 reviews
31.3 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
32.5 mi away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#3 of 78 in Moshi
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#5 of 78 in Moshi
178 reviews
32.1 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#6 of 17 in Moshi
56 reviews
31.2 mi away
Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndarakwai Ranch Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndarakwai Ranch Camp

Address: | On the slopes of West Kilimanjaro, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Started in 1994, Ndarakwai is a unique success story of land and wildlife rehabilitation, the first of its kind in Tanzania. With about 70 mammal species and over 350 bird species in a combination of high long grass plains, classic Acacia savannah, Commiphora thickets, and riparian habitats, a stay at Ndarakwai is a great addition to any safari itinerary. Ndarakwai Camp, with 14 large comfortable and individually decorated tents, is set at 4200 feet in the midst of an 11,000 acre privately-owned ranch in Siha District, West Kilimanjaro. Ndarakwai offers a high degree of personalized service, attention to detail, great food, as well as a wide variety of excellent wildlife related activities, cultural experiences, and excursions. What really sets us apart from National parks is our ability to offer half and full day walks with an experienced guide, as well as night game drives. These are two things you are not able to do in the parks. If it is birding on foot, or searching for nocturnal animals by spotlight, Ndarakwai is for you! Ndarakwai strives to be the best in luxury tented camping while maintaining the principles of responsible environmental stewardship. Extensive use of solar power (for electricity and hot water), the use of clay ovens for cooking, preference for local produce, combined with 11,000 protected acres of bush and woodland give confidence the camp is being established as carbon neutral. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ndarakwai Ranch Camp Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing