We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spendid”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ndarakwai Ranch Camp
Ranked #5 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spendid”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Ndarakwai ranch starting a 11 days safari. This place was a "coup de coeur" for all of us. It is well decorated, with nice food, and welcoming staff. And we loved the walking games for 2 days. The ranger was excellent. The landscape is splendid and it is a privilege to be able to walk so freely with wild animal not so far away.
Nothing was so unique then this magnificent tented camp during our safari!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
37
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

One of the few places outside the tourist trail where you can enjoy game drives as well as walking safaris, night game drives and other cultural activities. Staff is very friendly and the tents are comfortable. Food is excellent. Stay at least 2 or 3 nights to get the full experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngataFmH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Ndarakwai Camp stood out from the several tented camps we visited in our 16-day trip throughout northern Tanzania. It was our first camp and it was a fantastic first impression. The camp itself was elegantly set and comfortable. After an arduous trip to finally reach it after 30 hours of almost uninterrupted travel, it seemed like we had stepped into a movie in which we were starring ourselves. Being surrounded by the most varied fauna and flora helped, nit most impressively, however, were the people who ran and worked in the camp. We were blown away by their genuine friendliness, care of their environment and animals, and the love for their work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JONVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Ndarakwai is a great get-away safari experience...super to go on walking safaris with the kids, great game spotting sundowner treehouse, and super open-vehicle safari cars. There are a couple of orphaned elephants on the grounds which provide great entertainment for the kids, and the facility is at the crossroads of an elephant migratory corridor that links Kilimanjaro to Lake Natron. Great to just relax in the sofas on the porch too and watch the monkeys and birds in the trees.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthanasA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We started our Tanzania safari in October with 2 nights in Ndarakwai. This turned out to be a very good decision. The place is SO friendly and relaxing with very private and authentic safari tents in a very natural setting. At the same time you have all the comfort you could wish for with running water, big shower with hot water, fantastic food. The staff and management are outstanding. The game drives in open vehicles were very pleasant, even though you cannot expect to see big predators or herds of elefant here. But you have the whole terrain to yourself with spectacular Mount Kilimanjaro on one side and beautiful Mount Meru on the other.
In the evening we had a sundowner on a fancy wooden construction that was specifically built for the purpose and on the second evening we had a night game drive, that was also very interesting. I can wholehartely recommend Ndarakwai Ranch for 2-3 nights as a start for your Tanzania safari or even a finish if you do not want to go to the coast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheodorWiesbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I travelled to Tanzania 10/9/12 to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro and to take a safari. We only stayed one night at Ndarakwai and wished we had more time to stay there. There were 2 couples in our party and we each had a tent. Don't be put off by the word "tent." Each tent is quite large and has all the amenities you could want in the "bush." We took a walking safari at Ndarakwai and saw bush buck, bush baby, zebra, antelope, wildebeest, mongoose, eland, elephants, various birds and more right there on the grounds! The tree house for sunset was fantastic and had a small bar! We saw bush buck, bush baby, zebra, antelope, wildebeest, mongoose, eland, elephants, various birds and more right on the grounds and had a troop of baboons walk right in front of our tent! Dinner was a gourmet event and they catered to the special needs of one of our group. The service was impeccable and I don't hesitate to give my highest marks to the ranch and support their efforts towards conservation of their 11,000 acres! We felt perfectly secure and slept great! Stay there if you can!

Room Tip: I thinik the higher on the hill you stay the better view you will have, but our room was fabulous, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We loved our stay at Ndarakwai. The staff were wonderful and the accommodations great. While we didn't see the big five game, we had an incredible visit to a nearby Masaai village. Thomas, our guide, gave us a once in a lifetime opportunity to meet and sit with Masaai women and children and understand their traditional life. This wasn't one of those prearranged fake cultural experiences, but an authentic one I won't forget.

We did see plenty of game too: zebra, impala, elephants, eland, baboons, vervet monkeys, Wildebeast, warthogs,bushbuck.

Food was great too. All in all a great experience that I would readily recommend to anyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arturmaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moshi
31.3 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
32.8 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
22.6 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 65 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 mi away
Honey Badger Lodge
Honey Badger Lodge
#1 of 65 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
8.8 mi away
Africa Amini Maasai Lodge
Africa Amini Maasai Lodge
#1 of 1 in Engare Nanyuki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
28.5 mi away
Stella Maris Lodge
Stella Maris Lodge
#2 of 65 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndarakwai Ranch Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndarakwai Ranch Camp

Property: Ndarakwai Ranch Camp
Address: | On the slopes of West Kilimanjaro, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Started in 1994, Ndarakwai is a unique success story of land and wildlife rehabilitation, the first of its kind in Tanzania. With about 70 mammal species and over 350 bird species in a combination of high long grass plains, classic Acacia savannah, Commiphora thickets, and riparian habitats, a stay at Ndarakwai is a great addition to any safari itinerary. Ndarakwai Camp, with 14 large comfortable and individually decorated tents, is set at 4200 feet in the midst of an 11,000 acre privately-owned ranch in Siha District, West Kilimanjaro. Ndarakwai offers a high degree of personalized service, attention to detail, great food, as well as a wide variety of excellent wildlife related activities, cultural experiences, and excursions. What really sets us apart from National parks is our ability to offer half and full day walks with an experienced guide, as well as night game drives. These are two things you are not able to do in the parks. If it is birding on foot, or searching for nocturnal animals by spotlight, Ndarakwai is for you! Ndarakwai strives to be the best in luxury tented camping while maintaining the principles of responsible environmental stewardship. Extensive use of solar power (for electricity and hot water), the use of clay ovens for cooking, preference for local produce, combined with 11,000 protected acres of bush and woodland give confidence the camp is being established as carbon neutral. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ndarakwai Ranch Camp Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing