We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
58
21
10
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
58
21
10
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mount kilimanjaro an adventure banana beer wheel drive bring warm clothes black and white colobus monkeys next morning shower and toilet transportation from the airport travel agent double bed east africa rooms are basic primary school local food dar es salaam tour operator
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 100 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

this is the second time i visit this place and as much as i want to keep silent about this secret spot , its time to reveal this wonderful place- if you are expecting temprapedic beds or airconditioning this is not a place for you- however i can guarantee you will come out refreshed if you come here for a peace of mind ! lenny is an amazing host and you wont come out disappointed

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank alizoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2018 via mobile

Yes! I read the reviews and watched the videos on YouTube. And, yes, there were concerns about transportation from the airport, food at the hotel, and the walking. There was a lot of talk about the walking. I’ll get back to that one. First, let me come clean. I’m a RPCV, a returned Peace Corps volunteer. I served in Kenya, in the mid 1980s. This stay was my first trip to Tanzania and I was traveling with two other RPCVs that I served with thirty years ago. There was also a friend of a friend with us.

We arranged for four (4) single rooms and two airport pick ups. The friend of the friend was arriving after us. By the time we reached the airport, we may have been a tad late, the driver picking us up was also late, and we all decided to just wait for the friend. First off, there was only one driver. The poor fellow would have to drive the three of us to the lodge and then turn around to get our friend. Secondly, our friend wasn’t a RPCV. The idea of having her navigate getting to the lodge, without us, in the middle of the night, didn’t seem fair.

True to all online reports. The car we were in could NOT make the final push to the hotel. Another car, one that had been following us, at some point, pulled in front, after our car became stuck. The four of us bounced out, entered the new vehicle, and arrived at the hotel, shortly before midnight. We did not find four individual rooms. Too tired to deal with it, two of us took singles and the other two took a room for five!

The next morning we woke up and saw the view. We were home. For some, it looked like our old site in Kenya. For others, it was the site we always wanted. Either way, it was amazing. The rooms had hot water (after a day or after we figured it out), a toilet, and a bed. The staff was great! They gave us a choice of breakfast and lunch or breakfast and dinner. We went with the latter and requested only local food! During our stay, we did the three hour coffee tour, visited a local church (and cried like babies, watching a choir rehearsing) and taught “Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes, at a primary school. We loved every single moment of our stay. Even the walk from our rooms/huts to main area for our meals became wonderful! Those steps brought us closer to the most wonderful views of Kilimanjaro. The time we spent together, hot drink in hand, brought us closer to each other.
We never wanted our time there to end.

The Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge isn’t for everyone. But, ... if you’ve been missing East Africa, the red of the dirt, the laughter of the children, and the person you were, the last time you lived there, you really don’t have a choice.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank GhettoGtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2018

Its was great and enjoyable trip being there with my guests, the Lodge is located right by the park and has the best view for both Mount Kilimanjaro and Mount Meru. We enjoyed a lot as the staff were friendly and professional. Foods were delicious, good accommodation and drinks as well. This is the best place when you need to feel that you want to be by the Mountain Kilimanjaro. The Lodge also has Materuni Waterfalls nearby.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank africawonderssafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

This place is awesome for the adventurer! Not so awesome if you require creature comforts (hot shower..room service..english everything..etc). It is tough to access if you dont have a jeep or 4 wheel drive (no worries the hotel can pick you up). I got lucky with an awesome local driver and some how we made it up the road (it's the last 2km that will kill you). The lodge is cute and woodsy feeling, the food was some of the best I've had in Tanzania. Our room was cute, small basic, with lots of nature around (bugs can crawl in anywhere and since you are in the wilderness expect a bug or two near the doorway or windowsill). The staff was very nice. We went for the views and they were AMAZING! Wake up early and get a 630am view..you wont regret it. The only down side is it can be cold up there, however easy fix-- ask for a "Jikola mkaa" ( thats in swahili) to have in your room or near you at dinner. It's a traditional charcoal cooking stove- small but effective. In your room open a window to let the smoke out and your room will be a toasty oven! Overall it was exactly what we wanted, crazy good views of the mountain (bonus watching the moon set behind mount Meru), a little adventure, and a warm bed.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank 501charlotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

We arrived to this beautiful place around 5pm, a day before climbing kilimanjaro, found it like a dream landscape!
It's a must to get there by 4x4 vehicle.
Rooms are a bit small but you get whatever you need.
Beautiful restaurant, whole ceiling is coverd by exotic paintings. They serve fresh fruit and juice. food is good.
We needed to got early in the morning around 5:30 to 6, our breakfast was ready.
Very nice and kind staff.
Best view of mount Kilimanjaro!
Very romantic place for honeymoon.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Narc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews