We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
28
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
28
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco lodge interesting people home away from home place to stay enjoyed my stay a great stay two nights sana opportunities sociable fridge accommodation hostel backpackers tanzania community adventure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2019

While I'm not the biggest fan of hostels, my experience at Mountain Bikes House really made my recent trip to Moshi. Rahim, one of the owners, and the rest of the staff were not only accommodating, but they were also so genuinely eager to become friends. Beyond the warm staff and their friends, however, what makes Mountain Bikes House such an awesome place to be is how communal it is. From the family style breakfasts and dinners, the Friday night ritual of going to the local karaoke bar as a group, sunsets and music on top of a large Mercedes bus, to private tours of the area organized by Rahim and his friends, there are so many opportunities to bond with the people in the hostel.

There certainly is no pressure to do so, however what makes Moshi and this hostel so great are the warm and hospitable folk. If you want the full welcoming Tanzanian experience, then Mountain Bikes is the place to stay! Karibu Mountain Bikes!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

Mountain Bikes House is a newcomer to Moshi- it's only been operating for four months as a hostel (it was previously only for Kilimanjaro Tour clients.) I stayed in the 4 person dorm, in which beds are made out of recycled wood. All the private rooms in the back garden are made out of traditional Tanzanian building techniques (mud and eucalyptus wood)

Room tip: Sign up for the AMAZING sunset bus trip!!!
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vegaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2019 via mobile

This place should be called Mountain Bike Home. Muksin and the team are very patient, caring and friendly with the guests. I loved the meals and the trips,and the garden behind the house is perfect for relaxing.(you can actually see Kilimanjaro from the terrace while having breakfast). The people i met there and the overall atmosphere made it a wonderful experience. I would gladly go back to Moshi, especially to this place. I totally recommend it, Asante Sana Mountain Bike!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Danielabcn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

The Mountain Bikes House has all the comfort and cleanliness I expect from an accommodation (especially clean bathrooms!). The extras that make it worth it are: the soul that it has through the people with the friendliness of the family there and the spontaneous activities) like an out of the blue barbecue or open air movie) and the innovative approach of how it is ecologically built.

Room tip: The bungalows are private and have everything in there.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willeke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

A very charmed place definitely recommended to stay not only for backpackers but anyone who is not looking for expensive hotels. Although some part of the campsite are still uder construction (the place will become even bether than), we found everything needed and even more - cozy and peaceful place, so enthusiastic and friendly guys, clean amenities, hot water, you just grab a cold beer without asking, good food and a big change of meating other interesting people or just to talk to some of the local guys who are always happy to help you.
You may even organize any kind of thip/adventure here and be sure that it will be just perfect and not overpriced.
Sure that in a very short time, it would not be easy to find available rooms here.

Thank you guys and good luck!

Stan and Rumi

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank stambeto03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews