We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park within the town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro
Ranked #12 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Masaki, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Park within the town”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying one night in this lovely hotel last month. After having a bad experience on the first night of our visit to Moshi at another establishment, we were delighted to find this little oasis in the town. Immediately on walking through the entrance gate there is a sense of calm in what is like a mini park with lots of greenery and tended shrubbery. We stayed in the cottages but I believe there are also rooms. They were clean and fresh-smelling, hot shower and plenty of towels. Bedlinen was crisp and there was a mosquito net. Also an air conditioner if required. There was free wifi as well. The staff were very helpful and assisted us with finding taxis and directing us to the best coffee shops. Breakfast was good with fruit, cereals and toast as well as a cooked selection, tea or coffee or juice. We did not have lunch or evening meal so cannot comment on those. We look forward to staying there again if we are in the area but I would recommend early booking as we were only able to get a booking for one of the nights we were in Moshi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    57
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
21
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Bristol Cottages for three nights during our honeymoon. The rooms are large, with cozy beds that have mosquito nets and air conditioning. The breakfasts and dinners were also very good, or there are other restaurants and shopping near by. I would recommend staying here if you need a place close to Kilimanjaro mountain or the airport.

Room Tip: It is a bit noisy with the roosters in the morning, but I would try to stay in the actual cottages i...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sdsunandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you plan to hike Mt. Kilimanjaro (and don't plan to visit the immediate surrounding area), this is a great place to stay before you begin. The cottages/rooms are tucked away right in the middle of a busy town full of pedestrians, dirt roads, and merchants selling misc items on every corner. The rooms are clean and basic, with a mosquito need above each bed. We stayed in a cottage (one story; no rooms above) and had A/C in the room. In the center of the cottages is a well landscaped garden. It was nice to sit in the open-air dining room and look out into the garden. Food options were limited, but satisfied my hunger. When we left for our 3-day hike, we only took the items we needed and left everything else at the hotel locked in a storage room - very convenient! The staff is friendly and helpful. Also, there is a bank next door and an ATM machine (the ATM machine had Tanzanian Shilling only, I think; no USD).

Room Tip: Reserve a cottage if you want A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xctour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The location of this hotel in Moshi is OK, but the surrounding neighborhood (which is out of their control) is very noisy - especially the Evangelical Church with loudspeakers across the street.

The rooms were large and the beds fairly comfortable - all facing a large court.

Mealtime was African time. Short-staffed, they took forever to fill our orders -- even our drink orders. When we complained that the drink order took over 40 minutes to fulfill, the server was offended. Who needs this?

Breakfast was a tad better, but one gets tired of Spanish omelettes at a buffet after a while...

Room Tip: Try not to back onto the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Bristol Cottages is an oasis in the very centre of Moshi. Very friendly staff. Well kept, refreshing central garden, even on hot days. Quiet, tranquil atmosphere, large, very clean rooms in the cottages, where we stayed five days. Nice restaurant and lounge open to the yard. Functional, yet atmospheric, sublimly balanced architetcture in white, red and brown.

Room Tip: Take a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at Bristol Cottages before and after our Kilimanjaro Trek and it was lovely. The staff is incredibly nice and friendly, particularly the young man at the reception office, he was very helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are very nice, very clean and the breakfast is also good. The atmosphere is relaxing, with a very nice garden/courtyard area. The hotel has wireless and is conveniently located near the bus station (although you hear no noise from it). Highly recommend staying here if you're passing through Moshi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Sadly I only had one night at Bristol Cottages during a recent work trip from Nairobi, but it was great. Good sized rooms, standard bathroom, tasty food (cooked to order), really friendly staff and affordable rates. The compound is very peaceful, yet right in the middle of town. Plus I left my Kindle behind and the guys at Bristol Cottages arranged to send it back to me in Nairobi. Thanks Maimouna and Mehul!

Would very much recommend Bristol Cottages. Don't look anywhere else in Moshi!

Mike Pflanz
Africa Correspondent
The Daily Telegraph (UK)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikePflanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
222 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
1.1 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro

Property: Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro
Address: 98 Rindi Lane, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing