We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best business hotel in Moshi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro
Ranked #13 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have been staying at the Bristol for 2+ weeks a year for the last five years. It is the best place to stay if you are in Moshi on business. If you don't want to stay down town in bustling Moshi or want a swimming pool, this is not for you.The clients reflect this and many are repeaters.
The grounds are an oasis in down town. The rooms are very clean and quite adequate. The 8 "cottages" have a/c, the rooms in the 3 story building do not and are a bit noisier but I have never been kept awake.
The dinning room is one of the nicest places in Moshi to sit of an evening. Food could be better and a bit more adventurous.
I hesitate to recommend the Bristol because it is getting harder each year to book a room as it gets busier, would have liked to keep it my secret!

Room Tip: Cottage rooms are air conditioned and if you are a light sleeper, probably the a/c drowns out at noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intersurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 126 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here through our Kilimanjaro tour guide, Tusker Trail. The place was clean, conveniently located, and secure. The rooms varied on whether and how much hot water was available for your shower. The rooms in the 2 story building had their own hot water "holder" so was more consistent with providng hot water than the rooms in the single story building. Be sure to bring your own shampoo, conditioner, etc. They only provide small bars of soap. You'll also need to borrow a hair dryer from the front desk, which is not open all the time. Also, bring a flashlight (which you'll obviously have already if you're going to trek Kilimanjaro) as there are frequent short power outages in Moshi.

The food was great - but very slow, so plan accordingly. The staff were friendly and nice.

We kept most of our money and our passports at the hotel while trekking, as recommended by Tusker. We marked our packages and the hotel managment kept it for us. All was in order for everyone on our group when we returned.

No, it's not a Hilton or Westin, and not "American standards" - - but, you're not in the US and that's the point isn't it? It was quaint and clean. The grounds were also nice.

After your trek, for a few dollars, they will clean your filthy hiking boots for you. They will also do your laundry (Tusker also provided that service as well.) The prices were reasonable by American standards and, in our opinion, well worth it rather than throwing dirty clothes into our luggage to travel home.

There's a nice supermarket very close by and the shop right outside the cottage had some nice wraps and trinkets for gifts. Visit the hot bread shop too - some yummy bread with raisins for sale there...

We loved Moshi - go with an open mind and enjoy the differences you'll experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4CoHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed hear two nights before climbing Kilimanjaro. The restaurant was very pleasant and clean, the service was very friendly if a little slow, but the food was good. The rooms were fairly basic but clean and the gardens pleasant. The hotel itself was secure with locked gates and the luggage store was secure with more locks than Fort Knox. The location is close to the centre Moshi. Perfect for staying for a few days before or after the climb, would be nicer if it had a pool area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddog186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our group stayed at the Bristol Cottages before and after our Kilimanjaro trek. While the rooms are not fancy, they were more than adequate for our purposes. The bathroom were a little outdated for our tastes, but they were fully functional and clean. The cottage grounds were well maintained and secure. The cottage staff was extremely friendly and willing to assist at all times.

The food at the restaurant was good, although service could be a little slow at times. (You just need to get used to Tanzania speed.) Overall I would recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages that are separate from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scalba123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed in Moshi for one week in May 2012 on a business trip. The staff is friendly and location is reasonably central for those who may need to work in the small downtown area, but the facility itself is a bit more spartan than would be ideal on a work trip... lacking basic conveniences and amenities like a shower floor mat, 2nd towel, shampoo, etc. I see that this hotel is something better suited to the many young backpackers there during my stay. It was a bit more like camping than staying at a hotel.

Sure, the rooms are clean, but mine faced the surprisingly noisy small street behind the property and did not have a/c installed, meaning that the windows remained open for most of the stay, making it difficult to get a decent night's rest. Internet service failed about 9/10 times, making it practically unusable. Meals served at the property are acceptable, but not exactly recommended. We scoped out some newer hotels and resorts around the area for our next trip, which seem closer to the standards which I have become accustomed while traveling.

Room Tip: Be sure to bring cash, US$ series 2006 or later, as credit cards are not accepted. No, I'm not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Bristol is ok. The staff are very friendly but to stay here for more than a week for work is not the best.. The internet is either non functional or extremely slow. The restaurant takes minimum an hour to bring the food (which at least is good).. The room is very basically equipped and no small fridge or anything should you decide to bring things you bought... The breakfast was just laying there on a table with insects covering the fruit but the things made in the kitchen seem fresh.
All in all the facilities are kind of nice, there is a large lounge to hang out or work but it is by no means excellent.

Room Tip: Most other reviewers suggested "cottages" rather than rooms / it's what I choose and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roukiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This place is very close to the centre of town. It has great views of Kili when not covered in cloud apart from the large building in front. (See photo).
The room, which was relatively clean, had a bed, bathroom, shower, hot water. There was no power to begin with and later we had to ask the receptionist "where was the power"? The reply, "I shall have to speak to the electricity provider". Why, when there was clearly power in the rest of the hotel!
The restaurant was ok and the food ok but nothing to get excited about especially as it took an age to arrive. However, this is standard in Tanzania.
We paid $90 for a twin room with an extra bed. There was no mosquito net provided for the extra bed so good job we took a spare one!!
So to summarise, I think there are better places to stay in Moshi for the same or less price. Shop around.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.3 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 17 in Moshi
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
188 reviews
2.0 mi away
Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
0.8 mi away
Keys Hotels Travel & Tours
8.5 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro

Address: 98 Rindi Lane, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Price Range: $98 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing