We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good" but no more..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro
Ranked #12 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Bristol is ok. The staff are very friendly but to stay here for more than a week for work is not the best.. The internet is either non functional or extremely slow. The restaurant takes minimum an hour to bring the food (which at least is good).. The room is very basically equipped and no small fridge or anything should you decide to bring things you bought... The breakfast was just laying there on a table with insects covering the fruit but the things made in the kitchen seem fresh.
All in all the facilities are kind of nice, there is a large lounge to hang out or work but it is by no means excellent.

Room Tip: Most other reviewers suggested "cottages" rather than rooms / it's what I choose and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roukiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 129 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

This place is very close to the centre of town. It has great views of Kili when not covered in cloud apart from the large building in front. (See photo).
The room, which was relatively clean, had a bed, bathroom, shower, hot water. There was no power to begin with and later we had to ask the receptionist "where was the power"? The reply, "I shall have to speak to the electricity provider". Why, when there was clearly power in the rest of the hotel!
The restaurant was ok and the food ok but nothing to get excited about especially as it took an age to arrive. However, this is standard in Tanzania.
We paid $90 for a twin room with an extra bed. There was no mosquito net provided for the extra bed so good job we took a spare one!!
So to summarise, I think there are better places to stay in Moshi for the same or less price. Shop around.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This hotel is an excellent starting point for Kilimanjaro hikers.
It's not a luxury hotel but they have everything an average tourist need: comfortable beds with mosquito net, hot showers, ventilators or A/C and a good restaurant. Additionally a safe luggage storage room is available and Moshi centre is in walking distance

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirsch72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Having again returned to Moshi in December 2011 for another ascent of Kilimanjaro, I decided to stay once more at the Bristol Cottages. It was a good decision. This hotel is, generally speaking, a delightful and secluded oasis of calm near the center of a noisy, busy, traffic congested town that does not quieten down until well into the evening. Not much has changed since I was last here. The bungalows, of which there are eight, are the accommodation of choice compared to the rooms in the block above the spaceous and comfortable lounge. While these rooms are not bad, the bungalows are simply far superior. In the large, open lounge, one can relax with a cold beer after a hot day in town, browse the Internet with the free but frustratingly slow WiFi connection, or just chat. The grounds are meticulously maintained with one glaring omission. The owner - the ever accommodating Raju Aggarwal - intended to put in a swimming pool some 10 years ago. Regrettably, after having excavated a large hole, he abandoned the project and the pit remains open to this day. This is a pity. It is a decided eye sore in the otherwise carefully maintained and trimmed lawns. The bungalows as mentioned are the rooms of choice. They are large, well furnished, clean and very comfortable. Each is equipped with an efficient if somewhat noisy air conditioner. This is a "must" at night to help ward off the stifling heat of Moshi. The water is always hot and the bathroom facilities are first rate, not always the case in Tanzania even in an upmarket hotel. A shower here after six days on Kilimanjaro is one of life's little pleasures! The breakfast buffet in the morning is on the whole good, but not great. Service can be a little indifferent and the quality of the items on offer varies. The breads, jams and the juice are decidedly poor. The eggs, bacon, sausage and fruit are good to excellent. The coffee is hot. Given the risk of venturing out into the sometimes risky streets of Moshi after dark, where dodgy characters seem to lurk in many doorways, it might be advisable to consider having dinner in the hotel. After a particularly unpleasant walk down to a restaurant near the Buffalo Hotel one evening, I decided to eat in and it was excellent. The evening menu offers a wide variety of dishes and the cooks prepare your choice from scratch. It may take a while, but the wait is worth it. If there is a downside to staying at this hotel, it is the current marital dischord between the owners. Continued bickering and quarelling is never pleasant to overhear. It is even less pleasant to witness. While this does not necessarily intrude on the enjoyment of the top notch facilities at the Bristol Cottages, it is disconcerting for those of us who are return guests and who have come to know and like the owners. This, however, ought not be an impediment to those wishing to lodge in one of the top hotels in town. The best features remain while additional services are constantly being planned. For example, a new trekking company partly funded by Mr. Aggarwal called Killi Glaciers, operated by Bijal Shah, formerly of Shah Tours, used to be located on the grounds of the hotel. However, she has recently been forced to relocate to another part of the city. By the way, this trekking company is not recommended. All in all, the essential goodness of this hotel remains unchanged and it remains a "top pick". Allan H. Adams.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trekkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights on a recent trip to Moshi. When checking in the staff were really helpful and processed me very efficiently. My room was clean and very comfortable with a lovely en-suite which was also well presented. There was plenty of hot water for a shower each day and the food in the hotel was wonderful. I had full English for breakfast on both days and was very pleasantly surprised at the portion sizes and quality. The gardens were lovely to walk in and it felt like a really authentic Tanzanian experience. I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: The inter connecting rooms are great if you are travelling with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 897travelling_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Bristol Cottages is a small clean and tidy hotel right in the centre of Moshi with fantastic views (from the top floor) of Kilimanjaro on a clear day.

The staff are really helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They serve a great cooked breakfast, best to pre-order how you'd like your eggs if you're in a large group! They also have a menu of tasty snacks which we very much enjoyed which are just the ticket if you are arriving late as we did off your flight and just need something to nibble before going to bed. Make sure you get some Tanzanian Shillings to pay for any extras you may have.

The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable (mosquito nets provided) and it is ideal for getting a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast before starting your climb.

As it's located right in the heart of Moshi it's easy to walk out and around town. There's also a bank right next door if you need to change cash.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scoobydoo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed 3 nights prior to climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro and one night after climb. This was the best place to stay in Moshi by far. I stayed in one of the small cottage rooms which was quite roomy and clean. The bathroom facilities were fine and there was plenty of water pressure for a great hot shower once off the mountain. The staff was very very friendly, including the owners. The owners were always around to chat with or ask any questions you may have. It truly is an oasis from the streets of Moshi.

There is an ATM machine right next store along with a nice souvenir shop. Just a half block away is a nice park to pull up a chair and have a beer. A waitress after I had lunch took me up to the third floor of the hotel part for a great view of Mt. Kilimanjaro.

I ate here at least once a day and I noticed many locals and other visitors also came here to eat. Two females wonder in for a bite to eat and told me they sure wish they were staying here at Bristol. The pizza was fantastic and the garlic sausage salad was great.

Room Tip: stay in one of the cottage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#5 of 18 in Moshi
191 reviews
2 mi away
Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel
8.5 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Keys Hotels Travel & Tours
1.6 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
0.8 mi away
Moshi Leopard Hotel
Moshi Leopard Hotel
#10 of 18 in Moshi
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro

Address: 98 Rindi Lane, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Price Range: $97 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing