We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for your money..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro
Ranked #12 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
1 review
“Good value for your money..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

When evaluating accommodation in Tanzania, you have to bear in mind, its Africa..
Rooms are quite old furnished, kept however always clean. Bath was sometimes missing hot water and water pressure.
For breakfast you can only choose cornflakes and eggs..good for 2 days visit, less for a week stay.
The restaurant offers US / EUR dishes, but african style..prepare, that you will have to wait for a meal for about an hour.
Prices are ok, the service is very professional but works with thw well known african pace.. :-)
If you are prepared for this, you will be very satisfied.
Wi-Fi is at around 130 kbit/s and needs often restarting, do not be afraid to ask the waiter or receptionist.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cervenansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    56
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
21
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Spent 2 nights at the Bristol Cottages during a business trip. The room & bathroom are simple but convenient and pretty large with a comfortable bed, mosquito net and even a TV ! The restaurant is nice, but don't go if you're in a hurry as it takes ages to get the food (well, at least, no doubt : everything is prepared and cooked upon orders !).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

I stayed already several times at the Bristol. It is centrally located, has simple clean room where everything is working. The service is friendly. The breakfast buffet lacks variety. Lunch and dinner, mostly indian and chinese food, is good and comes in generous portions. Booze is available. I also tried Parkview but I prefer the Bristol. The only negative is the year old hole in a corner, probably foreseen for a swimming pool. The managers tells you that they had just started digging the hole, but that's not true

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serengeti55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

Handy location in Moshi.

Hotel seemed clean but we did have a problem with ants in our shower and room. This was the only day in 2 weeks that I got bitten.

A small bottle of water was left in the room for each person and the food and drink was ok. Although service was slow at lunchtime, took over 1/2 an hour to get a sandwich and some of the alcohol is locked away after 10pm but after a week on the mountain you are quite happy to get a beer:-)

It is a bit noisy with the cockerels, mosque and traffic so remember your ear plugs.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trekkingkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

Very charming place, big clean room and gorgeous grounds. Generous breakfast. Get a room with a/c so you can run the fan and drown out the noise from the rooster and the Islamic sirens early in the morning. Also dinner is very slow so order dinner then have happy hour. It took 45-60 minutes. Mr Aggarwal is very helpful and friendly. There is a Barclay's ATM a few yards outside the entrance. I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnneG0772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed here for several nights while visiting clients in Moshi. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. The rooms were clean and spacious, and the food was quite good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NastiaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised at the cool, clean rooms and open air atmosphere at this hotel. The dining area was pleasant and the wide variety of food was convenient. It is well located in the center of Moshil, within walking distance to many shops, stores, internet cafe's and banks. There was always a staff member sweeping and cleaning and were very helpful when I asked for directions or recommendations on where to go. I climbed Mt Kilimanjaro through climbkili.com and this is where they arranged the hotel when I arrived, after the climb, and after my Serengeti safari. There was always plenty of warm water, free bottled water in the rooms, and a padlocked windowless room to store my things I didn't need on while climbing Kilimanjaro or out on the safari. They have wireless internet which was nice for me to use Skype on my phone to call back and communicate with friends back home. All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.3 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
133.7 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
5.5 mi away
Stella Maris Lodge
Stella Maris Lodge
#2 of 67 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro

Property: Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro
Address: 98 Rindi Lane, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Cottages Kilimanjaro Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing