We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good by African Standards”
Review of Springlands Hotel

Springlands Hotel
Ranked #31 of 60 Restaurants in Moshi
Restaurant details
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Good by African Standards”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you get a room with windows facing the courtyard - be prepared for noisy evenings. Rooms are clean, some with mosquito nets (that are useless).

Showers are hot. Lunch and Dinner are buffet style, cost $10 and are luxury by African standards.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    15
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just what we needed after our trip up Kilimanjaro”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Springlands Hotel is far from a luxurious resort, but then it's visitors are using it as a stepping stone to an even less luxurious experience climbing the mountain!

For our team of 9, Springlands was our oasis in the desert and was like a palace upon our return from 5,895 metres!

I'd rate it at 3 stars. The rooms were basic and clean, with functional ensuite bathrooms and mosquito nets that for once in my life I didn't get completely tangled up in!

The food was a simple buffet setup and was pleasant enough, and the bar was well stocked and not too expensive.

As climbers we found some excellent additional facilities including a place to store our extra baggage (no charge) and security boxes for valuables and money we didn't want to take up with us ($1a day). Then there was the hire store - it was like a treasure trove! One of our team was unfortunate enough to have the airline loose her baggage (thanks a bunch Precision Air!) and, as a result of the hire store, I think she went up the mountain better kitted out than the rest of us!

The staff were very friendly, although I would have liked to have seen them be a bit more proactive about the missing baggage which was still missing when we got back from the climb (but turned out to be just down the road in Moshi).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Standard place for pre climb groups”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This place was really nice but don't expect to be able to sleep past 6am. By this time all the maids and helpers are speaking very loud as they make up the rooms of the people have just left for the mountain.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeem27HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gets better as you stay”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

An average hotel for travels with Zara tours. They have a few others around the country and they get better. Staff help make this a better hotel that is really is.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BTDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles, ca
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“perfect location - basic accomodation”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

service was great
rooms were dirty
staff were nice
food average . breakfast always the same - tomatoes , beans , hotdogs, toast
dinner are better - more variety
bathrooms - some rooms no hot water
provides shuttle to downtown Moshi for $1 each way , Guide is free but please tip them
great location for start and end of kili hike
provides free storage for luggage pre and post hike, pre safari
mosquito net - very dusty
bed sheets were dirty.

Recommendation:
choose room by the storage side otherwise you will be awaken @ 530 am by some singing /praying on loud speaker

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kent2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springlands Hotel also viewed

Moshi, Kilimanjaro Region
Moshi, Kilimanjaro Region
 
Moshi, Kilimanjaro Region
Moshi, Kilimanjaro Region
 

Been to Springlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing