We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kilimanjaro Backpackers
Ranked #39 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Reviewed December 10, 2008

I had a perfect stay at the Kilimanjaro Backpackers Hotel! The room was very small, but very clean. The shared bathroom and toilet were as big as my room and also very clean! The restaurant had a nice atmosphere and the food was quite okay. From the restaurant you had a nice view over the streets of Moshi. It was very easy to get around in Moshi from the hotel, because it's central. Good place to meet other backpackers.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BackpackerMarieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Kilimanjaro Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 48 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2008

For the price this hotel is great. With a double room being about $6 you can't complain much about this hotel. It's not perfect but it is above average for this price range.

Rooms are small but VERY clean. Some are literally box rooms with nowhere to move. All have a fan. The shared bathroom is cleaned several times a day and there is almost always hot water. The restaurant upstairs serves ok food but you have to wait a long time for it and it's a bit over priced. Breakfast is served in the morning and included in the price of the room. It's pretty good!

The only draw back of this place is that there is a lot of noise. Walls are paper thin and you can't help but hear your neighbour's conversation. Still, for the price, i don't think you can complain!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jamani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016
Thank oboe1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank akira_kamata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015
Thank なまずたろう2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazzabubbola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
Thank yucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
8.9 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
0.7 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 17 in Moshi
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilimanjaro Grand Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kindoroko Hotel
Kindoroko Hotel
#20 of 60 in Moshi
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
We Travel Hostel
We Travel Hostel
#5 of 69 in Moshi
46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tanzania Green Homes and Camps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilimanjaro Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilimanjaro Backpackers

Address: Mawenzi Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Price Range: $14 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kilimanjaro Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Kilimanjaro Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilimanjaro Backpackers Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing