We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's fiiine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilimanjaro Backpackers
Ranked #38 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It's fiiine”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Kilimanjaro Backpackers looking for a cheap accommodation. Not an easy task in Moshi. But this place, on the main road in trekking distance from the bus station, is at the lower end of the price scale.
We got a double room with a king size bed and a shared bathroom. Everything was clean, with intact mosquito nets.
There is a small communal area with travel books and a tellie, and a bar on the roof. Breakfast is also served on the roof - pancakes, fruits, coffee, tea. For lunch or dinner I suggest you step off the main streets and find a local joint. that's all the while cheaper than the Backpackers' restaurant.

There was no aircon or internet.

A word on tours: the Backpackers is happy to organize Kilimanjaro trips or visits to one of the other National Parks in the area. But you will also meet plenty of "guides" once you step out the door that will offer cheaper prices. It is on you to decide whether you believe the Backpackers' claim that they pay fair wages to their guides and staff or whether you look for cheap only... In case of the latter my preferred mode of action is to use local transport where available and organize as much as possible myself.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
8
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I arrived quite late but was given a room which was very small but fine for the price. The bed was comfortable enough and the net was fine. The communal toilet and shower was clean and there was plenty of hot water. Liked the bar with the view over the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balitraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Small, dirty room. Even the mosquito net was dirty and the way the net is hung from the ceiling makes it impossible to sleep without touching it. The toilets were difficult to flush and neither my husband nor I took a shower in the uninviting shower stall. Front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moshi hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

the place is on the road and so noisy, the room are small and dirty, fan is not working... The single room is 12 $ wich i think is not a good deal, no funny place and bad service

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ankotour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Out of the 6 criteria to rate in this review, I'm only able to pass judgment on one: service. It was absolutely terrible. Upon arriving, our party of 8 found they'd double booked our rooms, which we'd booked a week previously, as the people in them had asked if they could have them for another night and, because the record book wasn't at reception at the time, nobody bothered to check and simply said yes they could.
The man at reception was completely unsympathetic and stood with a smug grin on his face the entire time while two members of our group argued with him, simply saying over and over again "It wasn't my fault" and "What would you have done?". After about half an hour of arguing, he begrudgingly agreed to find us somewhere else to stay and sent someone out to wander the streets of Moshi to find a hotel with rooms available for 8 people. About 10 minutes later he returned saying there was a hotel nearby that had two rooms that could sleep four people in each and led us across the road to a mosquito infested hell hole, and the two rooms to sleep four were in fact twin rooms with the two single beds pushed together. Those rooms could barely have slept 2, never mind 4.
The customer service was absolutely appauling, and it seems clear that the staff out of this hotel only care about getting money out of whichever Mzungu they can, whether or not that means completely screwing over other potential customers. To top it all off, when we asked them to call us taxis, the cars that turned up were disgraceful even by Tanzanian standards (i.e. they were missing the wing mirrors and i think our driver had been drinking) and tried to charge us double what we'd been paying all holiday for the 30 minute drive back to Boma N'gombe.
For the sake of your own blood pressure, do NOT stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I was booked in for 7 nights at the Kili backpackers. This had been booked on my behalf by the organisation where I was undertaking voluntary work - this organisation has used the Backpackers before so is well-known to them so they knew it was a definite booking.

When I arrived there in the evening, they hadn't kept my room. The woman on reception didn't even apologise when she said she'd given it away. She was rude. She told me to go to the nearby Kindoroko Hotel, owned by the same management, and said they'd charge me the rate from the Backpackers. When I got there they refused, and I had to pay quite a bit more for the room. The room was horrible and the bathroom dirty so I moved first thing next morning to a much, much nicer place and stayed the week there.

What annoyed me most was that when the organisation that I was working for emailed the manager at the Backpackers to complain that the booking hadn't been kept and to try to ensure that they would honour future bookings, they lied and said that I hadn't got there till after 9.30 p.m. I'd been there at least an hour before which the driver who'd collected me from the airport verified.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

I booked in to Kilimanjaro BAckpackers on the strength of the reviews and all I can say is ? The room was dirty with paint peeling off the walls, the fan didn't work and there were no mosquito nets. The shared toilet and shower stank of stale urine and were shared between at least 10 rooms including a dorm (there was only one toilet and 1 shower). For this we were charged $20! There are lots of good places to stay in Moshi such as Hill Street, Buffalo and Newcastle all for much less money and you'll get ensuite, fans that work and mosquito nets. Don't get ripped off, have a walk around town (it's very small) and check out some of the other hotels, pay less and get much much more!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevil74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.0 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Rafiki Backpackers & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 68 in Moshi
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
0.0 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilimanjaro Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilimanjaro Backpackers

Property: Kilimanjaro Backpackers
Address: P.o. Box 8682, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kilimanjaro Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilimanjaro Backpackers Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing