We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New management is fabulous”
Review of Mafia Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mafia Island Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New management is fabulous”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

There seems to be some confusion among travellers, including ourselves, about this lodge due to the changes in management recently. Rest assured, the new management is fabulous, and the hotel has been one of our favourites in Tanzania (and we should know, we live here).

Patrick, the new manager, personally ensures that each guest is having a wonderful time. His staff are conscientious, very warm and friendly, and really seem to care about the lodge and its guests. Chiara, his reservations manager, was also very attentive and accommodated each and every one of our rather picky requests.

The chef (compliments!) has done a superb job of using local ingredients mixed with western flavours to bring a delicious fusion of food to the table every day. We went full board and each day brought a tasty surprise. As an example, for Christmas, the kitchen and all the staff came together to deliver a splendid lobster and grilled meats dinner. Delicious.

Lastly, the Sea Point dive centre located on the grounds sets the same standard as Patrick has for its staff, thus providing a seamless experience no matter where you go or what you do.

Congratulations to everyone for what you have achieved at Mafia Lodge!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    78
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
41
86
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent an unforgettable holiday in this hotel. The staff did everything to make our trip an absolute dream. The employees are very friendly and they do everything to ensure that we are well served.
In addition, the food is excellent! We ate 3 courses lunch and dinner. We also tasted a lot of variety of fish! We enjoyed eating a lobster along the beach! Ask after "the frozen dessert coconut" ... delicious!

We were pleasantly surprised at our room! Everything is available: air conditioning, very comfortable bed, mosquito net, beautiful paintings ... We even had flower petals in the room!

Finally, the diving team is excellent. They help us to discover an underwater paradise whereas we never dived. The team is very professional!

We thank a lot this unique staff! For example, the hotel manager came every evening to ensure that we spend a great holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Mafia Lodge is just romantic.
My husband and I had really enjoyed the spirit of this place, its relaxing power and the loyalty of the staff!
During our stay we really felt that everyone at The Mafia Lodge was doing their very best to make people feel comfortable and we really apreciated the deliacte way of taking care of us and everyone.
The room was just lovely, the view over Chole Bay was fantastic!
We also enjoyed our meals. The fuit and vegetables were fresh and tasty and, even if that just might sound strage to stress, I do believe that everyone should know how difficul it can be in an island like Mafia, where every vegetable is imported from the main land, apart from coconuts!
Thank you for this special holiday! Thank you so much!

….A suggestion to people who like to... “play it safe”: The Mafia Lodge has a great beach were there's a diving center you can rely on it everytime you feel like it, so, please, be careful with the people you find around the beach promising “extrordinary experiences” with their boats because they're not professionists!
Some of them just don't care about the tides and it might also be dangerous.
The second of our saty day we dicided to go snorkeling with a guy that just ignored the tides, my husband and I had to get the anchor ourselves bacause it was sucked on bottom and this guy couldn't pick it up anyomore!
If you want to help local people buy souvenirs, but, don't wast time and money to get services they cannot provide!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony-Luisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited between Christmas and New Years. Staff seemed overwhelmed; never getting the orders quite right and not understanding what a nut allergy is despite several discussions with managers/chef. Not enough clean linens, beach towels or even napkins. Bar bill never seemed to be right, over and under.

Rooms were underwhelming despite being a superior (concrete floor). Shower leaks all over bathroom.

The Food was delicious!

Amazing Snorkeling trips and excellent Whale Shark adventure! Dive staff were great and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjcameron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi, Tanzania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Visited Mafia Island Lodge with my wife for Christmas. We were a little apprehensive due to some not positive reviews but were pleasantly surprised by the whole environment. It has a nice building complex with well appointed rooms, a beautiful beach facing a bay, thus the tides do not affect the size of the useable beach. The Lodge is under a new administration, Patrice, the new general manager for the last 6 months has made a wonderful job of training the staff to a level I’ve only found in Disneyworld: they are always smiling and attentive to your needs. They pay attention to every detail in the facilities to make your stay a nice experience. The chef does an excellent job with the food, especially for lunch and dinner and is very creative with the desserts; look for ice cream at the level of the famous Italian cassatta. From Sea Point Diving Centre, just adjacent to the lodge you could arrange diving trips in the local dhows which is an attraction in itself. You could go to Chole Island, across the bay, and visit ruins from the 12th century as well as go and see the enormous fox bats. Another “must do” excursion is go swimming with the whale sharks, a real life time experience. All in all, this Lode offers a tranquil ambiance appropriated for families or adults looking for a quiet retreat and multiple opportunities for aquatic activities. My wife and I will definitely return to this Lodge and strongly recommend it to our friends. We offer applause to Patrice and his team for a job well done in raising the operation of the Lodge to a very respectable standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIGUEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My daughters and I stayed a the Mafia Island Lodge in Dec 2012 and I must say it is a really nice place. The moment we arrived Patrick the owner personally welcomed us and introduced us to the staff who were equally friendly. We stayed there for 4 nights and every day Patrick would check with us to see everything is fine and if we needed anything.
The food was one of the highlights of the day with mouthwatering cuisine presented beautifully every day.

There is a dive center that provided excellent diving packages and took the utmost care of us since we were first time divers.

The lodge offers great value and personalized hospitality, we had an amazing stay and look forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sati G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have to second everything people have been saying about the new management - Patrick is excellent, funny, comes to introduce himself personally to each new guest and will sort you out whenever you need something. The reservation went smoothly and they have very good packages for divers. Food was excellent and beverage prices were ok considering it's a resort (although they could offer water for free during breakfast!). There is a book miniloan shelf there that is also most useful, and ping pong / pool table for evening entertainment. Staff - locals - was friendly and did their best to communicate and accommodate us. Room was nice (I got a superior twin room), with a balcony and a good basket of drawers for my stuff. I just wish I had stayed longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing (but patrick is getting the old ones renovated, so this may be outdat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpilomia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mafia Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Kinasi Lodge
Kinasi Lodge
#4 of 4 in Mafia Island
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mafia Beach Bungalows
Mafia Beach Bungalows
#2 of 9 in Mafia Island
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
#2 of 10 in Mafia Island
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meremeta Lodge
Meremeta Lodge
#1 of 10 in Mafia Island
133 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ibizza Inn
Ibizza Inn
#3 of 9 in Mafia Island
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nungwi Dive Centre
Nungwi Dive Centre
#4 of 10 in Mafia Island
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mafia Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mafia Island Lodge

Property: Mafia Island Lodge
Address: Utende, Mafia Island, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Mafia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafia Island Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mafia Island Lodge stands amidst tall palms on a sandy beach in Chole Bay, in the heart of the marine park near Utende village on South coast of Mafia. 14 superior rooms, 18 standard rooms and 2 family rooms are set among the coconut palms with their own veranda overlooking the bay. They are all self-contained with air conditioning. Twin and double beds are available. Among the 34 rooms there are 2 family suites, which are made out of 2 comfortable connecting rooms with one sharing bathroom, each one with its own veranda overlooking garden and sea. They may comfortably accommodate a max of 5 guests. All our rooms have garden and sea view. Hot and cold water is available 24 hours a day. The main lodge has a relaxing atmosphere with a large open restaurant, bar and lounge area. Board games, table tennis and volleyball are also available. Other facilities include a gift shop, laundry service, excursions, snorkelling, sailing and scuba diving. The cuisine is continental with an emphasis on seafood. Snacks, sandwiches and bitings are also available. Located on our beautiful beach - the only one in Chole Bay unaffected by tide - our Beach Bar offers light lunches and early afternoon fare such as salads, sandwiches and freshly caught fish, complemented by a fully-stocked bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mafia Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafia Island Hotel Mafia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing