We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
252
22
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
22
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday bedeach eveningmafia island divingchole islandseafooddive centresunset cruisehomemade breadthe restaurant bar areaeco luxuryfree excursionnice balconypeaceful environmentcoffee deliveredlocal ingredientsbefore dinnerperfect place to relax
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 280 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2007

Bit of a trek to get to all the resorts in Chole Bay along a rutted dirt road, after the only flight there in the afternoon from Dar es Salaam, which does not connect very well with the incoming early morning flights from Europe. But a really friendly welcome made it worthwhile. The room and verandah are nicely put together in traditional local style, private, spacious and clean, with hardly any bugs to spoil it: authentic castaway atmosphere with none of the bustle of a larger resort. Staff were very friendly and enjoyed looking after us, food pretty good for the back of beyond, and sometimes superb, in an atmospheric setting. Early morning tea in bed and sundowner cocktails served on the verandah made us feel at home. Best bit was the way the resort and dive shop managers would mingle at dinner time and find out what we all wanted to do the next day – be it boat trips, diving, excursions, massage, or just nothing, and planned the days events around this (and the tides). Extras were all reasonably priced, so no worries about racking up a big bill at the end. Also no vendors to spoil the peaceful beach.
Snorkelling ranged from good to world class, depending on how you caught the tides. Scuba diving was pretty good, with mature textbook specimens of most reef fish, prolific to the point of overcrowding at times (but none of the big stuff). The dive-shop is professionally run and the dives well organised in parties of 2-4 with no other divers in sight: returning under sail in a dhow after a dive in the afternoon was serene. 2-tank dives are the norm, but the dive-shop gladly organised 1-tank dives for us oldies who find 2-tank dives a tad exhausting and not what we like on a relaxing holiday, but I am sure they would equally organise 3-tank dives for keen divers.

Stayed: March 2007
Thank SimonGGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2006

I spent 5 nights at Pole Pole and really enjoyed it, though it was not quite what I was expecting. The bungalows are spacious with large verandas and ecologically friendly. I thought the food was really good (though for those who don't like fish there could be a problem) and although the menu is "take it or leave it" it was personalised so that it didn't include any of my pet hates, though all the portions were rather too large for me. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the service was good. Unlimited drinking water is supplied and although other drinks are charged for the prices seemed reasonable. Having a drink delivered at 1800 (as well as tea or coffee from 0700) to the veranda is very civilized. Laundry is also included in the rate and you are given the option to have the towels and bed linen changed each day, or not.

It is not a place for people who just want to sit on the beach, because there is no beach at high tide (particularly around the time of the full moon) and the beach is rather shady in the afternoon. There are, however, different types of excursion included and for people wanting to watch birds or fish it is a good place. The snorkelling is from dhows and while I was there meant trips of about 45 minutes to get the the coral sites but there is an amazing variety of fish and I was able to go out even when I was the only one booked to snorkel.

There is a village nearby and the option to have a look round one on the nearby island of Chole. Even walking around on my own I never felt uncomfortable and although not many of the local people speak English a "jambo" and a smile are always returned.

I was told that the dirt road from the airport has recently been upgraded, still a bit bumpy and dusty but the journey to and from the resort gives the chance to see the countryside.

All in all it is a very relaxed and quiet place - a good option for after a safari - don't go there if you want night life (apart from watching the fruit bats and listening out for bush babies). If you take a massage do so when the tide is high so you can lie there and listen to the sound of the waves.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tutte le sistemazioni sono ottime
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews