We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mafia Island Lodge(Mafia Island)
$195
$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Ibizza Inn(Mafia Island)(Great Value!)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meremeta Lodge(Mafia Island)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mgeni Homestay(Kilindoni)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Mafia Beach Bungalows(Mafia Island)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Didimiza Guest House(Mafia Island)(Great Value!)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chole Foxes Lodge(Mafia Island)(Great Value!)
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
248
22
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
22
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday bedeach eveningmafia island divingchole islandseafooddive centreearly morning coffeesunset cruisehomemade breadthe restaurant bar areaeco luxurydifferent activitiesfree excursionnice balconypeaceful environmentcoffee deliveredlocal ingredients
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 276 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at Pole Pole and loved it! The flight in is spectacular and we were greeted and whisked to the peace, quiet and solitude of Pole pole. I'm a keen diver and this certianly lived up to expectations. The dive centre was just up the beach and very well organised -as my first ocean dive seeing a turtle, shark and lots lots more in one dive was special - the bay was calm, waters warm and the perfect place for beginner divers and more expereienced divers alike. We took a dhow trip to a deserted sandspit which was great, and quite strange to have this sand in the middle of the ocean! The guys at Pole Pole were great, friendly and relaxed without being in the way - the perfect place for loafing, reading, chilling and chatting.....! Now the food - amazing blend of italian, homemade pastas and fresh fresh seafood - coming from a landlocked country we were in heaven!!! Pole Pole we'll be back..... sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I enjoyed every single moment on Mafia Island's Pole Pole Lodge. Robyn, the utmost friendly and attentive hoste (manager) of the premises, does a marvelous job of letting you feel comfortably pampered and welcomed. The staff is equally joyful and kind and fulfilling every wish, before it's even spoken. The prepared food is of such delicious quality, that I felt tempted every day to leave a clear plate and I assume the cook to be paid upon the amount of weight gained by his guests.

Great benefits: Outside daybed on privat patio (I fell more than once asleep, while gazing at the stars), Coffee/tea in your room before breakfast, very private beach set between lovely mangroves, quiet and highly private premises (only 7 bungalows), private boat trip activities, delicious sea food (best fresh shrimps I've ever eaten!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_Aurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

After the mad rush of the Christmas season, we arrived to Pole Pole for a new year's rest and rejuvenation in the quiet of a secluded resort under the tropical sun. The relaxed and friendly nature of the ever sunny Robyn our host ensured our needs were met, Each meal was a culinary delight, a combination of local food with an Italian touch with seafood the highlight. Nothing pretentious, just perfect the combination to make you feel at ease, much like the resort itself. Thatched bungalow, with a view east to the rising sun, and nestled in a cove, away from the strong winds that hit the neighbouring resort, it was easy on the eyes and comfortable all around. Excursions planned each night, and all a delight, sailing to picnics on the sandbanks, scuba diving through colourful coral reefs, and snorkeling with impressive whale sharks. We were fortunate to have had perfect weather, but even if the rain had poured Pole Pole lived up to our expectations and we left ready for 2012.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

After two weeks of thrilling fotosafari in West- and South-Tanzania, we spent a very relaxing holiday-week in the Pole Pole Resort. We estimated specially the quiet athmosphere, the excellent kitchen and the kind and very friendly service of the personnal and the management. We enjoyed also the individually offered excursions and we will never forget the snorkelling trip to the whalesharks. We can warmly recommend the Pole Pole to any guest who enjoys and outstanding holiday in a natural surrounding (Mafia Island Marine Park)
Walter and Evelyn from Wettswil/Switzerland

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Pole Pole provides the perfect place to relax after a week of Safari. We were very happy we chose Mafia Island over Zanzibar. Bungalows at pole pole were very good, with gorgeous surroundings and above all fantastic food. This was - without a doubt - the best food we had in Tanzania.

We didn't go diving, but still preferred our stay on this side of the island - the beach and water at Pole Pole were fantastic. Even without diving there are several great excursions, we went to the sand bank and did a sundown cruise (both of them highly recommended). Robyn took care of everything and was a great host. We'll no doubt return to pole pole in the next years!

Room Tip: If I remember correctly, we had bungalow number three, which had a stunning view from the balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy-ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews