We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Meremeta Lodge(Mafia Island)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Butiama Beach(Mafia Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chole Mjini Lodge(Mafia Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Kinasi Lodge(Utende)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mafia Island Lodge(Mafia Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Ibizza Inn(Mafia Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mafia Beach Bungalows(Mafia Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Didimiza Guest House(Mafia Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chole Foxes Lodge(Mafia Island)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
248
22
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
22
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday bedeach eveningmafia island divingchole islandseafooddive centreearly morning coffeesunset cruisehomemade breadthe restaurant bar areaeco luxurydifferent activitiesfree excursionnice balconypeaceful environmentcoffee deliveredlocal ingredients
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 276 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2011

After a week on safari in the Selous. A few days at Pole Pole was the perfect place to
relax, in beautiful surroundings, tremendous food and a delightful host in Robyn.
We enjoyed it immensly. The beach, sailing on Dows to surrounding Islands, the
sea and sea life, visiting the nearby village, lovely people including delightful Masai
and "Rasters" , just added to the totally laid-back beautiful pole pole, and you could
do as much or as little as you wanted. Lovely rooms and sea views.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ByronEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Mafia Island is probably the way that Zanzibar was years ago. The airport is tiny with a bougainvillea draped “waving bay” and the 20 minute drive to Pole Pole on a rutted unpaved road was hair-raising (well, it was my first rural African driving experience) but Pole Pole was an oasis of pleasure when I reached it.
The food was (IMHO) terrific and the manager, Robyn, couldn’t have been more charming and helpful.
The individual houses are arranged do that their back porches face a fantastic view of the sea. On the porch there is a day bed as well as a couple of tables and chairs. At 6 pm, the barman comes around taking orders for cocktails, which are then delivered to allow an uninterrupted enjoyment of the sunset.
As well as three wonderful meals each day, a daily excursion is included. This included a morning snorkelling followed by a picnic on a sandbar (including a fresh caught fish roasted over an open fire), a visit to Chole Island, a whale watching trip and more great things to do than I had days for. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We were four friends meeting up on Mafia Island as a reunion of sorts- all of us marine lovers who have been all over the world to beautiful snorkelling/ diving islands... we knew it would be beautiful and fun, but we really had no idea what we were in for and how much Pole Pole would impress us.
Our accommodation was so cute and quaint with beautiful touches everywhere that we could have stayed there all day long ordering espresso or teas on the veranda overlooking the mangroves and waters of Chole Bay. The lodge looked elegant made out of mostly local woods and materials, extremely tasteful and aesthetically designed. The food was unbelievably good, with fantastic options for those of us who were vegetarians or who had other dietary restrictions. Service was wonderful and the staff were sweet and friendly. Very genuine and happy people who made our stay all the better.
As for the marine life, we were all blown away with our encounters with whalesharks. What an adrenalin rush- yet humbling experience! The whalesharks themselves make it worth the entire trip... but then when we went snorkelling and diving inside Chole Bay our awe increased even more, if that were possible! Diving was rather phenomenal with better overall diversity and abundance than Zanzibar and much larger fishes. We saw sharks, sea turtles, Napolean wrasses, manta rays, and massive groupers. Much of the coral reef health is still in great condition. I would liken the quality of diving to Palau in Micronesia and at times as good as South East Asia. Divers and snorkellers will not be disappointed no matter where you have been before... there is both macro and mega-fauna to enjoy!
Pole Pole couldn't have been more ideal and we thank all of the people at Pole Pole lodge for making our trip perfect and unforgettable. It is definitely a place that I will return to in a heart beat, next time with my husband and daughter.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DreamOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at pole pole for 5 nights - and did not want to leave!
Every minimal detail has been thought of and the service is absolutely impeccable. Staff is fantastic, both in pole pole and at the dive centre.
Highly, highly reccomended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderingminstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Pole pole was extraordinary. We came from Kilimanjaro and it was a wonderful week. We loved the place, the people, and the time there. The staff is gracious and welcoming. We hope to return for our anniversary (but haven´t decided if for the 1st, 2nd or 5th :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intendente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews