We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shamba Kilole Eco Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Mafia Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Kinasi Lodge(Utende)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pole Pole Bungalows(Mafia Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Mafia Island Lodge(Mafia Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
126
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishfantastic placeanywhere in the worldowners are greatdive spotswhale sharksdiving holidayitalian cuisineswimming poolmarine parkdive guideevery mealperfect staywhite sand beachtaking carechole islandfrancesca
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 134 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My experience in Mafia, travelling all by myself was very rewarding and this was because of the welcoming atmosphere that you find in Shamba Kilole. The place is just great, starting with the bungalows which are clean and very nicely decorated. The food is just delicious and the staff is very friendly and attentive. If you are going for a dive or for snorkelling this is the place. If you plan to see turtles and whales, I would suggest to contact the owners (Marco and Francesca) to get from there information when it is the best time to go.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 837AngelaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

we flew over from dar with our 13-month old daughter in the standard 13-seater aircraft. Francesco and Marco are complementary hosts, each with their own specialities. Marco handles the diving and snorkeling (at very reasonable prices) and it was one of the best dives of my life. the coral is fantastic, and the dhow takes you to the best places off the coast. Francesco prepares the menu, which are highly creative and original, using local ingredients. literally every dish is a treat. And every meal has several courses. The staff is very attentive without being obsequious, and the tip policy is indicative of Francesco and Marco's philosophy: you are encouraged to leave a group tip, while extra tips for specific staff members are noted in a book that everyone can read. There's a nearby village that one can walk to very easily. the pool has no chlorine, but is cleaned with a type of salt solution so we were able to allow our daughter to put her head underwater for the first time. the sky is very beautiful at night, and the whole experience is very familial, but not in a cloying sense.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights.
It's a very nice lodge, quiet and peaceful, great to regenerate after a stressful period, in a wonderful location.
The staff is really experienced and professional, but at the same time welcoming and friendly.
The activities are really well organized and everything is perfect.
Food is excellent and there is a good selection even or vegetarians.
Thank you for the hospitality
I hope to come back soon

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stgpoggi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Shamba Kilole is an amazing lodge to stay at when traveling around Africa. You can actually relax and enjoy the stay. They organize activities perfectly and professionally. The staff are all extremely friendly and accommodating. I will definitely recommend this lodge to anyone and would love to be back ASAP.

Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinBrooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for three nights at Shamba Kilole over New Year and had a wonderful time. The property itself is very stylish and thoughtfully conceived. Francesca has a great eye for detail; just perfect for a boutique/eco resort. There are only 6 bungalows so it feels very exclusive. The common areas are also well designed and it really pushes folks to be sociable - which was really nice. They have a pool and the resort faces the sea - but no beach as mangroves are the original inhabitants here. The food is lovely -and there is plenty. We had to cut down on the lunches - you will not starve and its all inclusive in the price. There are other nice touches like a free laundry service (very much appreciated after a safari). Francesca and Marco offer a set of day activities, like snorkelling, skuba diving, trips to sandbanks and Chole island...very nice to do. Thanks also to Francesca for helping when my partner developed a fever. We would definately recommend Shamba Kilole and the island of Mafia in general. It is less developed than Zanzibar and the village has a very real Africa feel to it. We liked to wander around the village and engage the local people; who are very welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vince092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews