We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Route Stop Off!”
Review of Avenues Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avenues Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 53 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hindhead, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Garden Route Stop Off!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Avenues for one night, a family of 6! Accommodations was great, the joining family room was ideal for the kids to have on their own whilst Mum & Dad has their own room. Clean, enough space in the rooms. Loved the fact that they have local restaurant menus in the lobby, made our choice easy. Great breakfast, we could have stayed longer - enjoyed the evening cliff top walk.

Room Tip: They don't have a fitness centre! So terrible doesn't count!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avenues, Owner at Avenues Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thanks again for your visit, it was nice to have you and your family here. We are quite concerned that you've missed a fitness centre - we do not at any time claim to have one! Maybe you have mixed it up with another guesthouse you've stayed in?

We hope to seeing you again one day, take care!

Best regards from Meike and Martin @ Avenues Guesthouse, Mossel Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    50
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
129
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Mieke and Martin were so welcoming and friendly when we arrived. They showed us around the whole property and made us feel really at home. The room was basic, clean and comfortable. A really handy local map of restaurants with a copy of all the menus to browse through we're a really good idea and helped us a great deal. Traditional and continental breakfasts were also welcome. We would certainly like to stay longer on our next visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Markbeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jammu, Jammu and Kashmir, India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a place! We didn't feel as if we were in a foreign land..Thanks to Meike and Martin for such a warm and friendly service!
I was so happy to see their dog kimba who reminded me of my dog jason back home in India.
The rooms are beautiful with a gallery which has an earthy touch.
The entire place is beautifully decorated right from the swimming pool to the mid side garden area.I recommend to all the visitors who are looking for comfortable stay in mossel bay.
Happy holidays :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArcherGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Thanks to Martin and Meike's warm, friendly and heartfelt hospitality, we spent a splendid Easter weekend at Avenues Guesthouse! The comfort and serenity of the rooms provided a feeling of a home away from home, while the variety of breakfast options provided a delicious and satisfying start to each day. We would highly recommend Avenues Guesthouse as a great, value for money accommodation destination! Chris and Reinhild

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reinhild T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, wish it had been more!! Meike & Matrin were wonderful hosts they could not do enough to help, one of us was unwell during our stay(not connected) Meike arranged a Doctor's appointment, which was on the morning of our departure, after visiting the Doctor Meike insisted that there was no rush to leave and take our time. The accommodation was exceptionally clean as was the pool and the pool was the warmest in SA. Nothing was too much trouble for them,made feel very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GizzyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have spent a weekend at Maike and Martins beautiful guesthouse and liked it a lot. The very good breakfast, the nice hiking trail in front of the door and the very personal touch will make us come back... Best wishes from Rike and Flo

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this spectacular guesthouse and would certainly recommend it to other holiday makers. The rooms are beautiful and bright, the breakfasts were delicious and the hosts are extremely efficient and very friendly. It is also very good value for money well spent.

R and B Berman

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and comfortable and spotlessly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BermanJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.9 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 53 in Mossel Bay
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#4 of 53 in Mossel Bay
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santos Express
Santos Express
#10 of 53 in Mossel Bay
377 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fly me to the Moon Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenues Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenues Guesthouse

Property: Avenues Guesthouse
Address: 23 21st Avenue | Linkside, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenues Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the gateway to the Garden Route and above beautiful Mossel Bay, Avenues Guesthouse is a place of tranquility with comfortable en-suite bedrooms and saltwater pool. Close to Mossel Bay Golf Course, beaches, hiking trail, sightseeing spots, restaurants and shopping malls. Off-street parking, free WIFI, tea & coffee in rooms. German and English spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avenues Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing