We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say it better than Stjalleh - Warm host with attention to detail!”
Review of Avenues Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avenues Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 55 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

When you leave a place wishing you were staying another night, that says it all. Mieke and Martin are great hosts and they've thought of it all. Our rooms were beautifully appointed and nothing was too much to get for us at breakfast. Avenues is highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 225 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a great place to stay. The hosts Mieke and Martin are very warm & welcoming and are good at making you feel at home. We stayed in a room by the garden which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with en suite facilities. The breakfast was more than adequate and for value for money this is an excellent place to stay. Unfortunately being there early in the spring we didn't take advantage of the lovely pool area but I can imagine that in the summertime it would be lovely to soak up the sun there. A good thing is that there is a free taxi service that takes you door to door to certain restaurants and picks you up afterwards. This is a brilliant service as if like us you have driven from Cape Town the chance of a night without driving is great.If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Mossel Bay stay here, its great and very good value for money..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Our host Meike and Martin really made our stay warm and welcoming. They paid attention to the smallest of details from having original menus of the surrounding restaurants to pointing out that we had a flat tyre (which we hadn't noticed! Disaster in the making!) n pumping it up for us, definitely recommended for a home away from home :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stjalleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed for only one night. The rooms are spacious and clean and had everything we could have asked for. The bathroom has a lovely walk in shower. The breakfast was also good. There really isnt anything bad to say about this facility or its owners. We will stay there again

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Mareze K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay, with clean rooms, and amazing service from the owners. We stayed here in 2011 and could not have asked for anything better. The breakfast each morning was amazing, and the owners always made sure that we were well looked after, including setting up a shuttle to a restaurant so we could drink and dine. In response to the gentleman who posted a negative review claiming it was only German tourists staying here I am fact from Canada and would recommend this to people from all over the world.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadiancoolguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed at the Avenues for seven very enjoyable nights in January 2012. It is situated in a quiet residential road high above Mossel Bay, From the time we arrived we were made very welcome with a pot of tea by the pool and information of the various places of interest we could visit. Our room was clean with an African theme and had a large walk-in shower. The towels and bedding were changed regularly. When we booked I mentioned that I have to follow a strict gluten free diet and to my delight, special bread appeared every morning thanks to Meike. The breakfasts were lovely with a good choice to tempt you. Meike and Martin arranged several trips for us but we found that the time spent at the B&B was enjoyable too. There was a large seating area round the pool and a big lounge room with wifi available to guests. They are a delightful couple who make guests very welcome. Would we return - yes please.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had an absolute wonderful stay in the Avenues Guesthouse! The guesthouse is situated right on top of Mossel Bay and you can reach the center of town and the restaurants within a few minutes. Our blue room was very comfortable and clean, we had TV, safe, hairdryer and also a private sitting area outside our room, so we didn't miss anything! The breakfast was delicious, freshly prepared and with a great variety to choose from. Thank you so much for making our stay in Mossel Bay so pleasant, we will definitely come again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
2.7 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
3.2 mi away
Garden Court Mossel Bay
Garden Court Mossel Bay
#7 of 9 in Mossel Bay
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#2 of 55 in Mossel Bay
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lavandula Manor
Lavandula Manor
#15 of 55 in Mossel Bay
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 55 in Mossel Bay
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenues Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenues Guesthouse

Address: 23 21st Avenue | Linkside, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $62 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenues Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the gateway to the Garden Route and above beautiful Mossel Bay, Avenues Guesthouse is a place of tranquility with comfortable en-suite bedrooms and saltwater pool. Close to Mossel Bay Golf Course, beaches, hiking trail, sightseeing spots, restaurants and shopping malls. Off-street parking, free WIFI, tea & coffee in rooms. German and English spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avenues Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing