We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming B&B, excellent quality and fabulous hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenues Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mossel Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenues Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 53 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming B&B, excellent quality and fabulous hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Meike and Martin are running the Avenues Guest House in Mosselbay and to be honest this was one of the best places I've stayed at during my Garden Route tour this January!
You feel honestly that this is a home away from home without it being over the top in any way, shape or form.
There's a brilliant walk way from the B&B along the coastal line to the beach front, but beware: it's not a walk for the faint hearted. A shuttle service will take you back from most of the restaurants however you need to make them aware that you're going back to Avenues.
Breakfast also was brilliant, as was the overall state of the rooms, beds, bathrooms. There's a lovely reasonably sized pool and nice seating area in the garden. Overall a brilliant experience and a must stay place!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang3la76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    50
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
128
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed one night at this guesthouse en were welcomed in a most friendly way.
The rooms were inviting en spotlessly clean and situated around a patio.
There was also a smimming pool big enough to practice some strokes.
We got all the required information about Mosselbay and surrounding area and were helped with the finding of a good restaurant and the booking of the next guesthouse.
To be recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myriamhuizingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed just for one night at Avenues Guesthouse but had enough time to enjoy it. The place is charming, quiet and really well located, close to the centric spots. The room was clean, comfortable and had a nice patio. We were served a wonderful breakfast in a dinning room with views to the pool. Overall, it was a nice experience and we'd totally recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danicavassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

The Avenues is immaculately clean with very helpful and friendly owners who made me feel really welcome. I had a very good night's sleep and the breakfast they served me was great. I only stayed at The Avenues for one day but I made use of the swimming pool and also the free shuttle service which drops you back at the Avenues after you've eaten at certain restaurants. The decor at The Avenues is lovely and so is the garden. The only down side is that it is quite a long way from the beach and all the main shops/restaurants, but the free shuttle service, the very reasonable cost of the rooms and the extremely high standard of the guest house more than makes up for this. I'm very glad I chose to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

The "Avenues" was definitely a highlight on our trip along the Garden Route. While Martin gave us very useful advice which places are worth seeing (and which ones to skip...), Meike pampered us with custom-tailored breakfasts and printouts of the eather forecasts for the following days. Lazily hangig out at their pool was exactly, what we needed after a few days of pretty intense travelling. A grain of salt is the fact that Avenues has no vista onto the Mossel Bay. However, if that was the case, this B&B would obviously need to charge their guests considerably more. If you are after excellent service at affordable rates this is the place to go.
Rainer&Babs

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

A lovely Guest House in very safe residential area. Free evening shuttle service from restaurants back to Guest House in evening is a great idea. Hosts were most helpful, ensuring we had our day planned and suggested additional visit which fitted in well with what we had chosen to do. Even lent us a map! Breakfast was excellent, nothing too much trouble to prepare.

Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

We phoned B&Bs in Mossel Bay at random late in the afternoon looking for accommodation for 6 people for one night. The price was resonable and there was place for us. When we arrived Meike invited us to inspect the rooms first before we made a decision. The rooms were impeccable, clean and with all the amenities we needed. We were offered a welcome cup of coffee on arrival and were shown a large well-appointed area where we could relax. Our perishables were stored in the insitution's fridges for us. An ample and tasty breakfast was included and was prepared and served by the owners themselves. The owners insisted on seeing us off in the morning. We recommend Avenues without any hesitation. Avenues lives up to its motto: cleanliness, friendliness and service. You could not ask for more and at a reasonable rate too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbeckmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
18.6 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 53 in Mossel Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar-t-nique Guest House
Bar-t-nique Guest House
#4 of 53 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenues Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenues Guesthouse

Property: Avenues Guesthouse
Address: 23 21st Avenue | Linkside, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenues Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the gateway to the Garden Route and above beautiful Mossel Bay, Avenues Guesthouse is a place of tranquility with comfortable en-suite bedrooms and solar-heated pool. Close to Mossel Bay Golf Course, beaches, hiking trail, sightseeing spots, restaurants and shopping malls. Off-street parking, free WIFI, tea & coffee in rooms. German and English spoken. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing