We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Star Quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of African Oceans Manor on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 53 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews
Level Contributor
243 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Five Star Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We choose African Oceans as the last stop on our three week tour of South Africa and couldn't have made a better choice. This is truly a five star experience, luxury accommodation with magnificent views and the Indian Ocean literally a stone's throw from the villa. Freshly prepared food for breakfast with a delightful, innovative choice of hot dishes. The fact that it s a ten minute drive to the town centre made it all the more appealing and if you want to sample the delicious South African wines they will arrange transport to and from the villas for a very modest charge. Restaurants are recommended and they will make a reservation for you. Same day laundry service at very reasonable prices, garage parking, a decanter of local port in the suite (at not extra charge), a fully stocked fridge and tea/coffee making facilities with ground coffee available and fresh milk in the fridge. Nothing is left to chance, everything we could have wanted and more.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraSStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Wow Sandra! Thank you so much for the compliments. Will definitely pass them on to our staff who will appreciate it so much. Come back soon and keep well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    49
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
94
284
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brakpan, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have visited Oceans Africa a number of times over the past 5 years. Whether for business or pleasure. I am always in awe of the beautifully maintained facilities, the lovely soft furnishings and the amazing staff that keep this well manicured facility rolling at an effortless pace. To add to this there are the sprawling views of the ocean that is simply walking distance away, promising beautiful sunsets and sunrises.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks you so much Nicolette! Always nice having you here. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opio, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had booked 2 rooms at the African Oceans manor for our family with 3 kids and were welcomed and told we got upgraded to the weeding suite. The place is fantastic, they thought of everything, there is even food, coffee and candles for guests. The view is beautiful,direct access to beach. Breakfast was delicious and served with style. Kids loved it too. Staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cladaley06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for a great review. Appreciate your feedback and glad to hear that your family enjoyed it so much. Hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Excellent Service, Friendly Staff and 5 Star Accommodation. Walking distance from the beach, Family Suite beautiful sea views. Everything you need were available. Nothing too small or too big for the staff – always friendly and helpful. It felt like home. What more can I say!!!

Room Tip: Family Suite - Beautiful View and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alethea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi Alethea,
A big thank you for all your compliments! Will definitely pass it on to our staff.
We miss your family already!
Kind regards,
Lindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Absolutely stunning!!! This guesthouse is a must stay. With all the bad experiences we previously had with accommodation, THIS gusesthouse was the best ever.

Staff are friendly and helpful. The suite was beautiful and spacious and the breakfast is excellent. The location is right on the beach with stunning views. We were really spoilt. I am really impressed with this guesthouse and would recommend this to anybody for there stay in Mosselbay.

Room Tip: The suite is spacious and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi Jenny,
Thank you for the lovely review and recommendation. It was such a pleasure having your family here.
Good to hear that you had such a positive experience.
Hope to see you all again soon. Send our best wishes to the family.
Kind regards,
Lindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful with the information we needed. They gave a very warm welcome. The service was wonderful and the room (suite 6) was immaculate. In the morning we had a very hearty breakfast in the beautifully decorated dining room, overlooking the bay.
This hotel is highly recommendable, if Mossel Bay is your destination. I wish I could have stayed many nights more!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for the review and all your compliments. Great to hear that you enjoyed it so much.
Hope to have you back for another visit.
Keep well. Kind regards,
Lindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scots in Sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Although tucked away in a residential area, this little gem has stunning views of the ocean. Breakfast was magnificent, taking in the view and our room (Suite 1) was perfectly equipped, very spacious anbd with a wonderful view of the sea from the bedroom and the balcony. Service was welcoming and discreet.

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRCScotsinSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for the lovely compliments. Please come back for another visit.
Kind regards,
Lindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
14.7 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
1.7 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.8 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 53 in Mossel Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bar-t-nique Guest House
Bar-t-nique Guest House
#4 of 53 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Oceans Manor on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Oceans Manor on the Beach

Property: African Oceans Manor on the Beach
Address: 7 Bob Bouwer Crescent | Bay View, Mossel Bay 6520, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Oceans Manor on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the rhythmic waves rolling onto the golden sand and the majestic Outeniqua mountains, African Oceans echoes perfection. Situated in the heart of the Garden Route, virtually on the shoreline, this is the destination to create lasting memories. The exceptional treatment, the unique and thoughtful touches, the luxury and comfort all add to the enticement of returning again and again. With superb staff and individual attention one should not pass through Mossel Bay without stopping by for a visit. Our rooms offer relaxation equipped with television, air conditioning, mini bar, coffee and tea facilities as well as private balconies/patios. Safe parking and electronic gate. We invite you to relax on our pool deck overlooking the bay and the breathtaking Indian Ocean. Nearby activities, among others, include elephant rides or a picnic with tame elephants, shark diving, game drives, walks with African lions and top golf courses. TGCSA 5 Star Guesthouse. Winner of AA Awards 2007/2008/2009 and the hall of fame 2010 & 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your African Oceans Manor on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Oceans Manor Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing