We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Of the Finest Guest Houses in the Country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 54 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

As the Agri Business Sales Manager for Engen Petroleum, I travel the country extensively. From the major cities to the small 'platteland' towns & my perfered type of accommodation is guest houses & B&B's, I can state categorically that the African Oceans Manor is the finest that I have stayed in. The attention to detail for a business traveller is superb, the quality of rooms, furinishings & fittings make for a very comfortable stay. To top this all the staff are friendly & effiecient, the location is out of this world, specially if you enjoy a lazy walk in the morning or evening. The lasting memory of African Oceans Manor before I hit the road is the awesome breakfasts reflecting the establishment, very high quality with great attention to detail. If you require high quality, very comfortable accommodation in the Mossel bay area, this fine venue is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulleask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for the great review and lovely compliments.
Hope to see you back soon!
Kind regards,
Lindi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 518 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband arranged this location as a surprise for us. What we saw and experienced is beyond words. The guest house was everything and much more. It lives up to its 5 stars without a doubt. The place was absolutely awesome, the view breathtaking, the food of excellent standard and it was definitely money well spent and will come highly recommended by ourselves. We cannot wait for a return stay at African Oceans.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you so much! It was such a pleasure to have you here.
Keep well!
Kind regards,
Lindi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The wonderful staff, attention to detail and elegant luxury, coupled with the amazing views and ambience makes this establishment a must for the discerning traveller! The suite was fantastic, we were sorry our stay was so short. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend African Oceans to anyone looking for a relaxing atmosphere! Our sincere compliments to the staff who were there at every turn to fulfill our every need.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Hi Ivor, Thank you very much! It was great having you here and we hope to have you back for a longer stay some day!
Kind regards,
Lindi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

It was my husbands first visit to the Garden Route and it most definitely will not be the last visit. The staff at African Oceans are most welcoming, made us feel at home throughout our stay and were always eager to assist.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bavina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks Tasmin! It was great having you and Jaco here. Very glad you enjoyed it.
Kind regards,
Lindi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have always seen African Oceans advertised or spoken about on social media so my partner and I decided to have a romantic overnight getaway there a few weeks back. All I can say is WOW. From the time we walked into this establishment till the time we walked out, we were treated like royalty. The smell and pleasing sight of fresh roses greeted us as we entered our room for the evening and the furnishings and textures complimented each other perfectly to create a comfortable luxurious atmosphere. The space of the room made you feel like you are in your own home, and the view of the sea from the bed was delightful! The bathroom is fitted with a jet bath and a huge shower head. There were rose petals in the bath and a variety of bath oil, or bath salts, to choose from, neatly placed on a window sill.
I didnt want to leave the next day!
In the morning, their breakfast looked like it was from a magazine image - everything was perfectly placed and not too greasy - not to forget it tasted divine.
My partner and I have stayed at many places in the few years we have been together but African Oceans took the cake! We will be back soon! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazi-Jvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thanks Tasmin! It was great having you and Jaco here. Very glad you enjoyed it.
Kind regards,
Lindi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and i love to travel the garden route and tried different lodges, guest houses and manors but African Oceans is by far the best no matter what. This was our second visit to African Oceans and there will definitly be many more.Everything is of high quality and the breakfast is always exciting mornign after morning. Special thanks to the staff and hostesses , its always a plesure.No matter how may days we book it will never be enough!!!

Mohammed & Suaad

Room Tip: Any suite with a view and Suite 6 is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mo786wp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Hi Mohammed & Suaad,
It is always a pleasure to have you here.
Hope to have you back again and again to create much more memories...
Thank you for the lovely compliments - I will certainly pass them on to our staff.
Kind regards,
Lindi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at African Oceans on our last trip to South Africa in 2007. It was the first Guest house to go on to our itenary for this years trip.
Best breakfast in the Garden route and outstanding accomodation which made for a perfect stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for returning again and we are very glad you enjoyed it again.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Keep well!
Kind regards,
Lindi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
4.2 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
253 reviews
14.7 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
192 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 54 in Mossel Bay
289 reviews
3.8 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 54 in Mossel Bay
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Oceans Manor on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Oceans Manor on the Beach

Address: 7 Bob Bouwer Crescent | Bay View, Mossel Bay 6520, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $154 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Oceans Manor on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the rhythmic waves rolling onto the golden sand and the majestic Outeniqua mountains, African Oceans echoes perfection. Situated in the heart of the Garden Route, virtually on the shoreline, this is the destination to create lasting memories. The exceptional treatment, the unique and thoughtful touches, the luxury and comfort all add to the enticement of returning again and again. With superb staff and individual attention one should not pass through Mossel Bay without stopping by for a visit. Our rooms offer relaxation equipped with television, air conditioning, mini bar, coffee and tea facilities as well as private balconies/patios. Safe parking and electronic gate. We invite you to relax on our pool deck overlooking the bay and the breathtaking Indian Ocean. Nearby activities, among others, include elephant rides or a picnic with tame elephants, shark diving, game drives, walks with African lions and top golf courses. TGCSA 5 Star Guesthouse. Winner of AA Awards 2007/2008/2009 and the hall of fame 2010 & 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your African Oceans Manor on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Oceans Manor Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing