We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good affordable basic accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Santos Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santos Express
Ranked #11 of 52 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good affordable basic accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

My significant other and I rented a double room in March 2014. The accommodation was simple and clean.

The Santos is an old sleeper train which has been converted to a back packers and restaurant with an impeccable view of the beach.

The entire room was occupied by a double bed with a 70cm gap at the door. So the room was about 2m by 2m. Luggage stowage was available under the bed or above the door.

The shower and toilet are shared with other rooms, and are on par with other backpackers bar the lack of soap in toilet. Our room had only a european style recessed 2 pin plug point, so bring a converter if you need to charge things that require a South African 3 pin plug.

The breakfast is a basic and sufficient cereal, toast, coffee and fruit affair.

For people that want to spend their time exploring the sites and not hiding out in their rooms this a fantastic option. Bring Earplugs if the noise of kids playing on the beach bothers you.

Room Tip: Rooms further from the restaurant may be quieter as they are removed from both the beach and said re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    131
    65
    31
    29
See reviews for
53
161
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a one night stay attending my friends wedding and it was a great experience and the view even better,only advice is maybe up the price by R50.00 and serve a proper breakfast.
Thanks again for a memorable stay!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STIFFMEISTER2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addo, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

No!!! Service!!! Had to go ask for menu!! Never got asked if we want something to drink or if we want to order food!! We ordered drinks from the bar and thy did not have ice!!! The table next to us complained and thy are tourist!!! It's so sad that that places in prime spot's give mosselbay a bad name!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hencko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosTrain, Owner at Santos Express, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Hencko,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do apologize for the lack in service that you experienced on your visit. It certainly is not the way we normally do things. I take it it was your first visit, otherwise you would know this.We would like to invite you to contact us so that we may apologize in person and give you the opportunity to experience our normal high standard of client service.

All attempts to contact you have been met with no response and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards,
Allan and the Santos Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mossel Bay hotels

Frederiksværk, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We enjoyed staying in the blue train. The staff were all very friendly and helpfull and the train is lovely, clean and cosy. On top of it nothing can beat the location right on the snow white Beach. We rented a full coach - and would like to mention that we would have liked to be able to lock the coach and have the full privacy of having the coach for ourselves. Other from that it was a perfect experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mclean-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We decided to stay in the caboose where you have your own bathroom and double bed as well as balcony. Our room was really nice for the price paid and the views incredible! Location of the train is perfect as it is a quick walk from the balcony onto the beach and then into the ocean: what a pleasure! We handed our laundry in which we waited for for 2 days, which was a bit of a disappointment as we were told it would be ready by the following afternoon. The bar has a great atmosphere and we thoroughly enjoyed a few games of bingo with the locals! A really worth while experience!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

1. On arrival our proof of payment could not be found, and the receptionist looked like she needs training in how to be a receptionist, and how to be friendly..

2. We weren't shown to our room, and oriented.

3. Our room had a few errors... the bedding had holes in, the curtains were torn, the light cable was loose and looked dodgy.

4. The shower was disgusting and dirty.. we used wet wipes to clean ourselves

5. The room next door was being cleaned at 7am and what a noise it was.

6. Breakfast... what a joke it was... old bread,black soft bananas with awful service ...we got up and left.

7. On departure we were still told our deposit was not found... and we had proof of payment. Reception unfriendly once again.

So basically this was by far the worst stay we ever had...and i am a regular traveler around te world. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone. It really has the potential to be great...but not with the staff they currently have.

Room Tip: Do not waste your time or money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGG0lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear JGG0If,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our normal deposit request includes information on using your booking number as reference when making your deposit payment. If you had not done so, our accommodation finance section will not know by whom the deposit was made and to which booking to allocate it. If you had made deposit payment just days before check in and we have not received our bank statements, we are also unable to verify the payment. We have dealt with too many instances of bank fraud in the past and can unfortunately not accept printed proof of payment by the client unless it is first verified by our accounts department as corresponding with the bank statement. To our knowledge both of our receptionist are extremely qualified and able, as well as pride themselves on their customer service. We do apologise if you found them less than friendly.

We offer affordable and unique accommodation. We do not offer a bell hop service but had you requested to be escorted to your room and given an orientation tour of your small cabin, I am sure that we may have been able to arrange a staff member to assist you. We do apologise for your bed linen, we are in the process of replacing all the bed linen room by room and we are afraid yours had not been replaced yet. All of our electrical outlets and connections are installed by professional electricians, but we have initiated another thorough check by our maintenance team to make sure they have not missed anything. None of our accommodation has curtains.

Our ablution facilities are cleaned a few times a day and we have two permanent cleaners on duty during operating hours. It is challenging to keep these areas spotless as so many guests make use of them and we do apologise if your fellow coach guests did not leave the showers in the same condition they found them in.

Our cleaning staff only arrive at 7am and do not start cleaning the accommodation areas until after approximately 9am, when most of our guests start checking out. These may have been rowdy neighbours, so we do apologise on their behalf.

We do not serve stale or old bread. Our bread is delivered to us freshly everyday. We have had requests for riper bananas, so we do leave a few riper ones out for these guests, definitely not spoilt fruit. Our light breakfast that is included free of charge is self service, so we do apologise if you found the service lacking.

Our backpacking product is enjoyed by thousands of travelers every month, many of them return customers. We find that it appeals mostly to the more adventurous and seasoned traveler. We do hope you will visit again soon, but with a more light hearted approach to the experience, alternatively there are a few up market establishments in town that we will be more than happy to recommend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapstadt, Südafrika
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We decided to stay there on short notice -
we just asked about accommodation when we arrived - and they offered us the couple solution - good value for money : you have a small place for your own, double bed, own bathroom, fridge (ok..it was not working when we were there), coffee making facilities - and when you sit outside your place you have that lovely view!
The restaurant offers a good choice - we have eaten better - but views, surrounding, friendly stuff and reasonable prices made up for it!

Just be careful - its easy to trip on the premises!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlandos66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
1.2 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
17.7 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santos Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santos Express

Property: Santos Express
Address: Munro Road | Santos Beach, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santos Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation is in a train parked just 30m from the beach.We have an onsite restaurant and fully licensed bar. Function/Conference venue is available, perfect for a beach wedding. We can accommodate large groups comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Santos Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing