We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PATHETIC! Avoid at all costs!”
Review of Santos Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santos Express
Ranked #9 of 54 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stunning spot, but sadly you will be disappointed beyond belief. This place is a proper rip off, food is terrible and absolutely no value for money at all. With a quick glance through the kitchen stations, one could easily see how dirty it is. After complaining, the managers were extremely rude and unprofessional.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosTrain, Owner at Santos Express, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

This review has been reported as blackmail to tripadvisor. Reviewer received his order promptly and said all was fine during the table check. He cleaned his plate and when it came time to pay his bill said he is in the industry and that he has a blog with 38000 followers and will write a bad review if he has to pay his bill.
We are very proud of our restaurant on the beach and are fanatical about cleanliness and providing an extensive and affordable menu. We have thousands of satisfied customers per year, many of whom eat with us on a weekly basis. It is a shame that someone will try to abuse a good system like tripadviser to try and weasel out of paying their bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 411 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

The service was not good. Being a family, I was promised to have a whole wagon for ourself so we could have our private shower and WC. At midnight there were a group of bikers accommodated in our wagon….. On top of it the geyser was broken and they couldn't repair it, so we had to take the shower on another wagon.
Beside that, the restaurant was ok. And the position next to the beach is fantastic. Its safe and quite, you'll hear just the sea. No soap on the shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Fernando847,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Due to a miscommunication with a new staff member, unexpected late arrivals were erroneously booked in to your coach instead of the one behind you. We do apologize if this caused you any discomfort.

Our coaches are equipped with gas geysers and occasionally the pilot light is extinguished by the wind from the beach. We do have information signs up in every shower, requesting guests to inform the front desk should the pilot light need relighting. Three of our staff members relit the geyser on three different occasions that evening, but due to the strong ocean wind, they were unable to keep it lit. We do apologize for this inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

That was on my opinion the worst hostel/something where you sleep,in whole South Africa,and I am traveling already for a month in this country.
Never thought it will be like that.
Not to mention the staff which is doing the minimum to help you and not a bit more.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Ron D,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Most of our guests rather enjoy our unique accommodation and return regularly. If you can let us know what exactly you found unsatisfactory, we will be sure to investigate and rectify it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Rooms are clean but very uncomfortable ans small and had to split the family into 2 rooms. The beds where extremely uncomfortable and walls to thin (try to explain to the kids what the honey moon noises are from couple in the next room). The shower and toilet on the far end of the coach and had to escort my wife and kids to the toilet during the night because they felt unsafe. For a overnight stay for young couples who don't have kids, I recommend this place but not for a family.

Room Tip: Get the room with the shower and toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Andy G,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is true, the compartments are small, as they are still the original compartments of the train as it was in the 70’s when it was operational. We feel that keeping the train in it’s original state while preserving and restoring it, lends a certain charm and uniqueness, very popular with the more seasoned and adventurous traveler. While we realize it’s not luxury accommodation as you would find in an expensive hotel, we do provide unique and affordable accommodation. We also find it popular with families, as most children have never been or slept on a train and may never again.

We do apologize for the inconsiderate neighbours you were unfortunate enough to have. Due to the train not moving, sound does travel further along the coach than it would have on an operational train. We regret that you did not inform our reception staff, who would have gladly moved you to another coach if there was space available.

Our train is perfectly safe and all coach doors are locked at night by security. We have never had any incident on our coaches where guests were made to feel unsafe. We do apologize if this was your experience.

We are looking into acquiring more family suited coaches, so hopefully your next stay with us will be more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you want an original place, this is your option!
is just a train original, the only change is the bathroom with shower. the room is clean, very nice restaurant with a terrace overlooking the sea.
Start your day with that view from the window is spectacular and then have breakfast on the terrace with that view is really superb.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trottamundo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Looking for an awesome experience, and don't want to break the bank? Than stop looking. The Santos Express is one of my favorite places I've every spend the night. The rooms are tiny, (it's a train, remember) but the view and the experience more than make up for it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Worldtraveleratheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

First of all, the view.... amazing. If you're backpacking or just like to save money by staying in a hostel - this one is the one you want! Of course, you're sleeping in a train so, it is exactly what you'd expect...a TINY room with a small bed (at 5'7, I fit fine, but my buddy is over 6' and he had to sleep with his legs bent). I wasn't there to stay in the room all day, so it suited my needs fine. The bathroom and shower were shared between all the rooms on a single car. They definitely need to be updated, but again, were exactly what you'd expect for a train car. The bar and deck areas were where we spent most of our time, right on the beach - perfect! The food was fine and they offer a complementary breakfast if you're staying on the train (consisting of toast or cereal with coffee and orange juice).

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3rd car in a room with 2 (smaller than) twin beds... but I noticed that one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
152 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
558 reviews
6.3 mi away
Little Brak Beach House
Little Brak Beach House
#15 of 39 in Mossel Bay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santos Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santos Express

Address: Munro Road | Santos Beach, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $21 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santos Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation is in a train parked just 30m from the beach.We have an onsite restaurant and fully licensed bar. Function/Conference venue is available, perfect for a beach wedding. We can accommodate large groups comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Santos Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing