We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and wonderful experience”
Review of Santos Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santos Express
Ranked #9 of 54 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 18, 2011

If you love trains you will love the experience of staying on this stationary train set on the edge of a beautiful beach with glorious views across the bay.As I lay looking up at the stars from my pillow beside the open window, I fell asleep to the soporific sound of the waves, secure in the knowledge that security guards were on duty outside. The single First Class "coupe" rooms of South African trains are compact, with a useful table, a full-length mirror on the door and adequate space for luggage, and are certainly larger than those you'll find on any Amtrak Superliner. With a shower and two toilets on each coach, the accommodation is immaculate - much cleaner than those I have encountered on working trains. My only criticism is that the blind was slightly torn, but I'm sure they will soon sort that out. The staff are welcoming and accommodating, and the included self-serve breakfast can be taken on the deck of the adjoining restaurant which shares those spectacular views. My overnight stay offered a touch of ocean-side train magic at a very reasonable price and I can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: The single rooms seems small at first, but by the following morning you'll be won over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 404 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

Looking for somewhere unusual to stay in Mossel Bay? Book a bed at Santos Express, a converted train on the beach.

Seats have been removed to make way for 16-bed dorms, private rooms and small social areas that overlook the sea. Showers and bathrooms are nice and clean – and there’s even hot water.

The only downside is the lack of kitchen facilities and lockers. Be extremely careful if you have laptops, phones and credit cards. Lock any small items, such as passports, in the safe at the front desk.

http://fabuloustravelguide.com/2011/07/mossel-bay-stay-converted-train-beach/

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Fabtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I had a good experience on the Santos Express Train. It is exactly that. It is a sleeper train on old train tracks right next to the beach. The accommodation is what you should expect on a sleeper train. The staff was very friendly and I had a good experience.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My son is part of a cricket tour group to Mossel Bay and within hours of checking in he has advised me that his bags have been rummaged through and all his cash has been stolen out of his bag from his locked room. His room was still locked when he returned - the bag open and the cash gone. This is completely unacceptable....what of the security in this place and surely people with guests keys should be trustworthy! It is outrageous.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank lampstandlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosTrain, Owner at Santos Express, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2011

Police are investigating this incident and we will post the outcome here. This is a rare occurrence and quite upsetting to us as well as to our guests and their mothers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Thank you to all the staff at Santos Express for a lovely stay. Everyone went out of their way to help with all my requests. Although the train beds are slightly narrow, I would recommend this unique experience to any back-packers travelling to Mossel Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Santos Express is one of the most original backpackers of SA. You can sleep in the typical train's rooms (not really wide but always charming) and see the sunrise while you are lying on your bed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Amazing Location.. You're sleeping in an old train next to the beach.. Cheap and with breakfast included.. One of our highlights on our roadtrip..

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
549 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santos Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santos Express

Address: Munro Road | Santos Beach, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $20 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santos Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation is in a train parked just 30m from the beach.We have an onsite restaurant and fully licensed bar. Function/Conference venue is available, perfect for a beach wedding. We can accommodate large groups comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Santos Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing