We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Train on the beach”
Review of Santos Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santos Express
Ranked #9 of 52 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Mossel Bay, South Africa
1 review
“Train on the beach”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I had a good experience on the Santos Express Train. It is exactly that. It is a sleeper train on old train tracks right next to the beach. The accommodation is what you should expect on a sleeper train. The staff was very friendly and I had a good experience.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    133
    66
    32
    29
See reviews for
53
167
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My son is part of a cricket tour group to Mossel Bay and within hours of checking in he has advised me that his bags have been rummaged through and all his cash has been stolen out of his bag from his locked room. His room was still locked when he returned - the bag open and the cash gone. This is completely unacceptable....what of the security in this place and surely people with guests keys should be trustworthy! It is outrageous.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lampstandlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosTrain, Owner at Santos Express, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Police are investigating this incident and we will post the outcome here. This is a rare occurrence and quite upsetting to us as well as to our guests and their mothers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mossel Bay hotels

Port Alfred, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Thank you to all the staff at Santos Express for a lovely stay. Everyone went out of their way to help with all my requests. Although the train beds are slightly narrow, I would recommend this unique experience to any back-packers travelling to Mossel Bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Santos Express is one of the most original backpackers of SA. You can sleep in the typical train's rooms (not really wide but always charming) and see the sunrise while you are lying on your bed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetown
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Amazing Location.. You're sleeping in an old train next to the beach.. Cheap and with breakfast included.. One of our highlights on our roadtrip..

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I was very fortunate to stay over at this wonderful place. I took 10 scholars up the Garden Route for a golf tour. The treatment that we received at Santos Express was 5 star. From organising all that we needed for a braai to extra early morning breakfasts. Nothing was to difficult for the friendly staff. Thank you so much, I will be back

Room Tip: Beds are a little short as you will sleep in old train coaches, but all you have to do is ask and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosTrain, Owner at Santos Express, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thanks Gavin,
Yup the train has all the idiosyncrasies of...well... a train. We do try and keep it as authentic as possible. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the kids hit the ball straight.

Regards,

Allan & the Santos Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2011

It may be ancient history now, but my wife and I visited South Africa twice in 2005. First visit I had booked Santos Express as a novelty surprise, we loved it so much that it was a must visit second time round.
To review it as if it was a hotel is ludicrous, its a backpackers with a twist, what on earth do you expect, its a train!
All the staff were fantastic, the bar was brilliant, the setting fantastic. What more could you want for the price.
If you're fussy/picky stay in a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markedlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosTrain, Owner at Santos Express, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Boy, do you get it ! Yup- it's a train. You said it better than I ever could. Thank you. Hope the Pound gets very strong and that we get to see you again real soon.

Allan & the Santos Express Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
#6 of 34 in Mossel Bay
86 reviews
6.3 mi away
Little Brak Beach House
Little Brak Beach House
#12 of 34 in Mossel Bay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santos Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santos Express

Property: Santos Express
Address: Munro Road | Santos Beach, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santos Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation is in a train parked just 30m from the beach.We have an onsite restaurant and fully licensed bar. Function/Conference venue is available, perfect for a beach wedding. We can accommodate large groups comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Santos Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing