We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

A thoroughly enjoyed family stay, if only it could of been longer, the staff were friendly, the hotel was in a good area and the scenery was amazing. The rooms was very clean and the bathroom was amazing. The restaurant was lovely and the kids could play for hours, will definitely return.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank GeorgeTsielepis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Tazbaby1
Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth, the perfect spot from which to explore the rest of the Garden Route. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting you this coming summer holiday for longer. Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 452 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

The staff went the extra mile to make you feel like a valued guest. They were super friendly and even offered to bring us extra heaters when we said it was cold. The R50 room service charge was my only fault with the hotel as many others don't charge for this service. But a beautiful room with the ocean on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teganrichley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Teganrichley
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, indeed you are a Valued GUEST. Protea Hotel has an absolute great location with being only 5 minutes walk away from the harbour, beach and as you mentioned the ocean is on our doorstep. I will certainly pass your comments onto our STAFF. Apologies for the misunderstanding with regards to the R50 room service charge, what this actually means is that room service is available for a minimum order of R50.00 and no extra charge of R50 is added when ordering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stop while driving the Garden Route.
Very clean and well appointed Hotel. The staff were very welcoming and could not assist enough.
Definitely value for money and an enjoyable overnight hotel.
The restaurant is not to be missed.
I will review it separately.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank WJW61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear WJW61
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Mossel Bay is the perfect town from which to explore the Garden Route being halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. We pride ourselves in clean & functional rooms as well as efficient & friendly service. So glad that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. Surely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

As always, staying at Mossel Bay Protea, you are treated like family. Reception staff welcome you by name. Again I was offered an upgrade to a Harbour Suite (oh the view is wonderful!!!).
Breakfast was great, with a wonderful buffet spread. Dinner also very good. Portions are a bit small for the price, but then the ambiance & service makes up for it.
I will defenitely stay here again and again and again!!!!

Room Tip: Try to book a Harbour Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Sandy v
Wow, thank you for considering us your “Home away from Home” – what a privilege. It’s always a pleasure for us to host you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Also a big thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, really appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent service and for the first time, I got to stay in the rooms allocated next to the reception. Room 23 was awesome and i wouldn't mind staying there again. before I used to be allocated at rooms outside so i was pleased with the latest room allocation, thanks for the service again

Room Tip: Room 23/25 will be appreciated in the near future
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MasterLee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear MasterLee44
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor. I’m very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the room allocated to you with your recent stay, will certainly make a note for your next visit. These rooms are unique being located in the main building which is one of the oldest commercial buildings in Mossel Bay and declared as a heritage site. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Every time you visit you receive the excellent service from checking-in till you leave the hotel, very consistent service and warm greetings and care from all staff. The breakfast is divine fresh and tasty all the time. Everyone makes you feel at home.

Room Tip: rooms 1-8 my first choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Banzi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Banzi D
Thank you so much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor and the wonderful compliment “excellent service”. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it onto our STAFF as they always strive to exceed GUEST expectations as well as being consistent. We look forward to welcoming you back…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel received very good reviews, so was my choice (as a lone traveller) along the Garden Route. The reception was very friendly and helpful -- the staff is amazingly pleasant and efficient. But instead of the "manor room" I booked I was "kicked upstairs" to the so-called Presidential Suite. Oh boy! It sounds great, but it was not at all "presidential", and as 1 lone person I rattled around in the cold rooms like a pea in a barrel. As Mossel Bay can be hot in summer, the large space and wooden floors might be fine in summer, but not in winter! The lighting was terrible: little lights up in the open rafters, and about 1/3 of them were dead! There isn't a single floor lamp, so no reading was possible after dark in the open-plan lounge space. The walls are empty of prints or anything to "lift" the dead spaces. The TV only had a few channels, of which (I think) 3 or 4 were sports! Talk about variety ... !

I was amazed that there were no bedside lamps! I asked for one, and was given one, but with the regulation 40 watt strength ... So okay, the bath water was hot, the place was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. But ... the little kitchen was so inadequately equipped, with not a single wine glass!

I had been told the hotel restaurant (The Gannet) was very good, but my fish and calamari was just okay (the fish was overcooked). Nothing that you can't find in a cheapie eating place.

Will I stay there again? Yes, but in the type of room I booked. I really hated the long walk to my (NOT!) Presidential Suite, up 2 flights of cold stairs, and I hated the dim lighting. That's just not good enough.

Room Tip: I did not see the ordinary rooms (see my review). I know the rooms do not have baths, only showers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuretha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Mietie
Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologise that our Presidential Suite did not measure up to your liking. It is a very modern unit and we do understand that this may not be to everyone’s taste. Heating in the room is supplied by both air-conditioning unit that has a heating option and a fireplace, both of which we would have been more than happy to assist in setting up. The unit is equipped with all the crockery and cutlery required but it may well be that, being such a large unit, it was in an area not obvious enough. We will most certainly reconsider their position. Please know, that we welcome you back and will do everything in our power to meet up to your needs on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
253 reviews
17.9 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
364 reviews
17.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
559 reviews
21.9 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Address: cnr of Church and Market Streets, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Mossel Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $105 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing