We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Moorreesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

When you travel a lot you like a proper hotel to sleep in. This is that hotel. The staff are friendly, the rooms are good, the bar has the drinks and the restaurant is perfect (and they share their recipes).
Once slept over in this hotel because I was to tired to drive any further and since I have been back many times. The most I enjoy the restaurant. Like many say it's one of the best in town. Their spirit of "when you serve food, serve good food" works!
I will definitely sleep at this hotel many more times because its just a joy to stay there!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReindersG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear ReindersG
Thank you so much posting your comments on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to host you. I couldn’t agree with you more – “a proper hotel to sleep when you travel a lot”, we are very pleased that you think that this is us! Some GUESTS even consider this their home away from home. We pride ourselves on clean and functional rooms, as well as efficient and friendly service and the TEAM are very proud that you’ve experience this. The Café Gannet is a true gem and very popular amongst the locals. Please let us know if there is anything we can improve on to make your stay even more comfortable, looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    144
    57
    10
    3
See reviews for
81
188
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel is a little gem ! Very large rooms and bathrooms and the balcony offers good sea views. Its a very cosy hotel with very friendly staff. We stayed there for a night on our Garden Route drive, would have loved to spend more time in this hotel !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddharth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Siddharth S
Wow, thank you for the lovely comments and taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor. Mossel Bay has so much to offer from Shark Cage Diving to sunset walks along the beautiful beaches, the perfect town from which to explore the Garden Route. I certainly hope that we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future and maybe for longer than one night. Live life slowly…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed one night, during our garden route trip. I chose this hotel due to it's reviews on tripadvisor. I didn't experience the stay as "great" or "excellent". It was ok. It is an old hotel. All ground floor rooms, with virtually no views. Sleep quality is good, since the rooms are quiet. The rooms and bathrooms are dated, and in serious need of upgrading.
The better part of the stay was the pub and restaurant on-site, we had lovely sundowners on the deck overlooking the bay. The restaurant is one of the best in town, and the food did not disappoint. There are no kids activities to speak of. Not sure if I'll stay here again. If you are looking for a run of the mill hotel offering quality for money, then this is your place, looking for something special, go elsewhere. * The butler that greeted us and carried our luggage was a real treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Johan B
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are sorry you did not find the hotel to your liking. Many of our GUETS find the fact that our beautiful old building is a national monument that dates back to the 1800’s, adds appeal and character to our hotel. We do, however, understand that not everyone may feel this way. The specific room you were booked in is one of the last of eight rooms that are going through an upgrade that will be complete by the end of October 2014. These rooms are being completely refurbished, including brand new bathrooms, room configuration and furniture. We have various categories of rooms, all with different types of views, being either the harbor, beach or swimming pool. We are very pleased to hear you had a good night’s rest and that you found our well-known restaurant, The Café Gannet, “the best in town”. We hope that you may visit us again once the last rooms have been refurbished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Whenever I'm in Mossel Bay on business my 1st choice is the Protea. They go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and many of the staff even remember your name! They have made a halaal section for breakfast so they understand the needs of their customers well!

I always enjoy my stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms I've stayed in were pleasant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihsaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Ihsaan
Thank you for taking the time to email your comments. Your feedback is highly valued and very much appreciated. A big Thank You from the TEAM here in Mossel Bay – as they strive to exceed GUEST expectations. Always a pleasure to host you! Looking forward to welcoming you back, remember to live life slowly…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Our Grade 7 school tour was booked in at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay - what a wonderful experience! We (the children - x24), were received and treated from the minute we walked in! The rooms were fantastic - clean and comfortable - the children kept on saying they are staying in a "Penthouse" :)!
A special word of thanks to the chef for an outstanding dinner and breakfast! We will certainly be back!
We can not thank you enough for the wonderful manner in which you treated our children.
Thanks

ALMA MATER AKADEMIE
Krugersdorp

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Lynn B
WOW, thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor. It was fun having you all. So sweet the comment of the Harbor Suite– “Penthouse”. Our self-catering Harbor Suites are very spacious being on 3 levels and the 2 balconies, glad they enjoyed this. Our chef is very proud of your compliments – as they strive to exceed guests’ expectations. Best wishes from us all at the hotel to all of you & the children. Live life slowly…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely spacious room, really friendly and helpful personnel plus easy walking distance to town and the harbour. Great food at The Gannet restaurant next door - had a very mild vegetarian curry and rice which was excellent and good value, just one suggestion is that they need to throw in some small chunks of potato to really finish it off.

Room Tip: 19 is a good room at this Protea Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Dave T
Thank you for your comments and posting them on TripAdvisor. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay does have a great location being centrally located. Our restaurant, the Café Gannet is known as Mossel Bay’s Seafood House and very popular amongst the locals – I will definitely pass on your suggestion to the chef. Look forward to welcoming you back! Live life slowly…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your hotel. The rooms were well equipped, nice views, the restaurant served good food and breakfast. The Manager as well as Deniesha were fantastic, so helpful and went the extra mile to make our stay most enjoyable! We will definitely be back again. The only problem we experienced was the Wi-fi that wasnt working and a little painful.

Room Tip: Self-catering apartments are amazing and the baths are really romantic and enjoyable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jo-Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Jo-Ann D
Thank you for your great comments and taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor! Glad that you’ve enjoyed your stay in our Self-catering Harbor Suites. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay - a 5minute walk to the Blue Flag beach Santos Beach & views over the Outeniqua Mountain, has a great location being the perfect stop from which to explore the Garden Route, half-way between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. My sincere apologies for the problem you’ve experienced with the WI-FI, this has been attended to. Hope to welcoming you back soon….live life slowly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
17.9 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Address: cnr of Church and Market Streets, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Mossel Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing