We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5++ bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have stayed in some good hotels & some poorer ones, but this place has one amazing bathroom, it is huge, bath to hold 4 easy,shower/wet room for 4.
Apartment on 3 levels for 2 of us, does anyone want to come over for a dance!!!! Large (very) gin & t about 1,80 beer bottle just about the same, even cheaper at bowling club , so off to bed, hehehe

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank yarrum47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Yarrum47
Wow, thank you for the lovely comments and taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay has different category rooms ranging from twin bedded – to self catering suites/apartments. Glad that you’ve enjoyed the space and comfort of the self-catering Harbor Suites. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 448 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

A renovated classic building makes this hotel slightly different from the normal Protea brand but it is a good all round stay. Friendly staff, clean rooms and a good restaurant attached make it a top spot to stay in Mossel Bay. We would go back.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Africanwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Africanwarrior
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor, much appreciated. Our hotel can be best describe as a hotel complex with our beautiful “classic building” as our main building, the Café Gannet Restaurant as well as the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar. Thank you for rating Protea Hotel Mossel Bay “top spot to stay in Mossel Bay”. We would love to have you back, looking forward. Live Life Slowly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A very beautiful hotel and very comfortable. However I would advise my black brothers and sisters to stay away from this hotel and the restaurant for you will be treated completely different from the other race. My wife and I were at the hotel for four nights and we fought with the staff on three nights. We booked the hotel two months in advance and asked for a particular room or something very much close to the far right side of the hotel on the reception block. They saw it fit to ignore our request and put us in a completely different room very close to the bar. We were given two single beds which were joined together but no converter was put therefore the night was very uncomfortable because we could feel the gap between the two beds. I complained and I was told there was nothing they could do. The following morning I was assured that everything was going to be sorted but when we got back to the room late afternoon nothing had been done. I kicked a fuss and I had to suggest to the hotel staff what to do for they had no clue hoe to fix the problem. Eventually three blankets were brought and we put them under the mattress protector and on,y then did we sleep a bit comfortably. The following evening there was terrible noise from the people at the bar some were even sitting right outside our door. Twice I had to come out to ask them to keep their voices down. Eventually the noise died at around 22:30hrs and only then did we manage to sleep. The following day was a Friday and we were to leave on the Saturday we then asked to be moved from this room because of fear of noise and also we wanted a proper rest as we were going to be traveling the following day. After visiting different rooms we were given the room we had requested when we booked. That evening we slept very well and woke refreshed and ready for the long trip.
In the restaurant the waitress wanted to sit us outside despite us having booked a table well in advance and with so many empty tables available. What I observed was all white people were just coming in and taking any table without any hassles or issues.
If you are a black person, by all means, avoid this hotel and restaurant and if you are a white person this hotel is definable for you. But it's very sad that twenty years into democracy we still have such treatment. It's a very beautiful hotel with very beautiful rooms and the restaurant (Garnet) makes very delicious food but I will not find myself there ever again until they change their attitude.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nollen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Mr. Motalane
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor . We pride ourselves on clean, functional rooms as well as efficient and friendly service. Our GUEST feedback on this is one of the areas we pride ourselves in.
We apologize for not allocating the room you requested. We allocated one of our deluxe pool side rooms, which are much sort after. Unfortunately, you were not happy with this room, so we then offered you the best we have, being our Presidential Suite, at no additional charge. My STAFF informed me that you felt this room was too large. You elected to stay in pool side room. Our manager personally came to apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced and asked how she could assist you further. We took the liberty of sending you complimentary wine on two occasions, simply as a gesture of our hospitality and concern for you, our respected GUEST.
Please be assured, we treat all our STAFF& GUESTS with the utmost respect. Our brand is built on the very important principle such as “Respect for Human Dignity”.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and please, be assured, we value each and every one of our GUESTS. We hope that you may return to our hotel and that you will experience our true hospitable spirit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had a Harbour suite with three floors including two bed rooms. Excellent view of Mossel Bay. Great bed and perfect bath room. Very good breakfast buffet. Easy to find and enough parking space availabe.

Room Tip: Take a Harbour Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Phillipp G
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is nestled on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua mountains as a backdrop and is singled out from other establishments. Glad that you enjoyed your stay, looking forward to welcoming you back. Live life slowly in Mossel Bay…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

very good service overall.
food was good, rooms where clean, reception was welcoming and environment was homely .
will recommend it to family , friends .
will certainly be back when i am in mosselbay again
thanks

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Standerjohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Standerjohann
Wow, thank you for your great comments and recommendation. We appreciate it that you took the time to post them on TripAdvisor. Best GUEST Service is what we strive for, glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Live life slowly in Mossel Bay…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

we stayed for one night during a 4 day Garden Route tour, we were given a 3 story apartment that really was first class accommodation. We used the restaurant that evening and received an excellent meal and fantastic service, unfortunately I can't rate the breakfast due to having to leave early.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Brian T
Thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor. Glad that you’ve enjoyed your stay in our Harbour Suites and the meal that you had in our restaurant, The Café Gannet. We pride ourselves in clean and functional rooms as well as friendly service. I sincerely hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future, also to enjoy our lovely breakfasts. Live life slowly…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My grandfather and I stayed for one night last week, and we had a really enjoyable time. The check in was smooth and easy, and there was lots of car parking. We were given room number 31, which is a great room looking out onto the pool, however, it's not too noisy even at night. Unfortunately, even though we had asked when booking for a twin room, we were given a double bed.

As we were only there for one night, we decided to put up with it and stay in the double bed. That was the only real negative. As all the restaurants in Mossel Bay were full with it being Valentine's Day, we opted for room service; this was excellent. The portions were good, and the price very good, especially considering it is a hotel.

Also, from the minute we walked in, all the staff were friendly from the receptionist to the cleaners, and even got a complementary drink!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Mossel Bay and the Protea Hotel, and if I was to visit again, the Protea would be high up on the list of places to stay, as long as it can provide suitable beds.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Ben S
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor, much appreciated. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to the room that was allocated to you, this was an oversight on our part.
STAFF friendliness is one of our biggest attributes and this is being reflected in our GUESTS comments. Some of the unique selling points that we offer our GUESTS are; Free welcome drink, free 500 MB WI-FI, free mineral water and free newspaper.
Our restaurant on the premises, Café Gannet Restaurant, is known as Mossel Bay’s Seafood House and very popular amongst its visitors.
We look forward to welcoming you back, with suitable beds….live life slowly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1.0 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
253 reviews
17.9 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
360 reviews
17.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
551 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Address: cnr of Church and Market Streets, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Mossel Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $94 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing