We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

There is a little bit of tranquility here- so close to the town. It's easy to walk anywhere in Mossel Bay from here. the view from the pool deck and bar is amazing and the food is to die for- superb in all respects....well done guys.

Room Tip: try to get a view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaAyerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Fiona

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, much appreciated. One of Protea Hotel Mossel Bay’s unique selling points is its Location. We have a superb location 5 min walk to the beach, harbor and shopping centre. With amazing views over the main swimming beach Santos.
Look forward to welcoming back - soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 448 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Family units full of surprises.....balcony from tv room and another balcony from the main bedroom. bathroom layout to die for.....staff also efficient and friendly and willing to assist when requested.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elbie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Elbie_12

Thank very much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. The self catering harbour suites are very comfortable with balconies overlooking the harbour and Santos Beach. Great service and clean & functional rooms are very important, glad you could experience this. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Garden Route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have been in this hotel last week. It was a short stay but we had the opportunity to compare the hotel vs all others we visited during a wonderful 2-weeks trip in South Africa. We ranked it Top 1 in a list of well-known brand hotels. Great location, wonderful staff.. we had a delicious welcome in a sunny afternoon and we got an upgrade from s superior room to a junior suite. Rooms were beautiful, exposed to the sea and distributed on 3 levels. All perfectly clean, we felt like at home! We decided to spend the full day in the hotel, to get some rest but also to profit of such nice venues. The staff was extremely kind and professional, from the person at the reception to the ladies in charge of cleanings. And they were always discreet.. We had dinner (and breakfast) in the restaurant there and despite it was nice, we would have expected a broader menu. Also, during the dinner, the assigned waiter looked a bit upset (or better, not oriented to smile with us), we felt this a bit strange. Anyway, the hotel was great and we strongly recommend it. For sure, we will get there when travelling again to South Africa.

Room Tip: ask for a room exposed to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuseppe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Giuseppe
Wow thank you for ranking us the No. 1 spot in Mossel Bay . One of the hotel’s unique selling points is the location - GUESTS can park their car and walk everywhere – beach, harbour, museum and town CBD – all within a 5 minute walk. Service in a hotel is so important and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the STAFF exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much for your very valuable comment it is most appreciated. Live life slowly in Mossel Bay…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Protea Hotel Posttree Mossel Bay, Thanks to It's Staff, Should be accorded 5 Star Status. My Wife and I recently had the privilege of returning to our favorite Hotel where the Staff have become like an extended family. First impressions are lasting impressions and the reason why we return time and time again to this Hotel. One could not wish for a more geniune welcome and greeting upon arrival than here. The Staff are Professional, Friendly and attentive without being overbearing and a Credit to the Protea Hotel Group.

We have experienced most of the Rooms and Suites over a period of Years and each have had their individual charm which we have come to enjoy and were "bowled over" during this our recent visit when informed that our Harbour Self Catering Suites Booking we had made, had been upgraded to the Presidential Suite ! You could have knocked us over with a feather !
We were so impressed with the Suite's sweeping views of the Bay and the Mountains beyond that we promptly extended our Stay by a further 2 to 4 Days ! It Captured the Essence of "Living The Life Slowly in Mossel Bay" and to say that we were overwhelmed would be an understatement.

By virtue of my work as an Offshore Commercial Diver and Explosives Engineer I have travelled extensively and stayed over in many hotels worldwide but none such as the Posttree which has a unique blend of Modern and an Old World Charm to it. As the Gateway to South Africa's Garden Route they are in my/our humble opinion without equal in South Africa regardless if you opt to dine in the superlative Gannet Restaurant or Self Cater in Your Suite and have no hesitation in recommending them.

Barely an Hour after we reluctantly departed from this our most recent visit to the Posttree we developed Witdrawal Symptoms as we rode our Motorcycle Over the Scenic Robinsons Pass on our Way Home to Simonstown in Cape Town via Oudtshoorn and Route 62 we decided to return sooner than later and have commenced counting the days to our next Visit and Stay this time for a week towards the End of March to celebrate our 37th Wedding Anniversary with Our "Extended Family" at the Best Protea Hotel in South Africa and By far the Best in Mossel Bay :-)))

Room Tip: The Self Catering Harbour Suites or as an absolute Treat The Presidential Suite !@
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Braam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Mr van den Berg

It's always a treat for us to have you and your wife staying at the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay - you home away from home. Thank you so much for your valued comments and compliments. We pride ourselves on clean and functional rooms, as well as efficient and friendly service - actually our guest feedback forms scores this as one of our highest attributes. We are looking forward to welcoming you back and thank you for the privilege to host you for your 37th Wedding Anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We were on our honeymoon when we stayed here. The welcome was very warm and friendly. We had our room upgraded without asking and there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we arrived.
All staff could not have been any friendlier or helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Panman29

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay on your Honeymoon and taking the time to email us your comments. The TEAM are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the champagne. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Wishing you a happy life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The rooms are quite average, but the restaurant makes great food and the staff is friendly. The hotel is very close to the beach and a shopping centre which makes it a good location. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanro567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Hanro567

Thank you so much for your comments on TripAdvisor. One of Protea Hotel Mossel Bay’s unique selling points is its location. We have a superb location 5 min walk to the beach, harbour, shopping center. Next to the Tourism Bureau and the Dias Museum Complex which houses South Africa’s first post office. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed as the Protea Mossel Bay in early January. Over the years I have spent many comfortable night in that hotel which in my opinion is one of the better Protea's. It was still holiday season and very crowded which was good to see, although there were a lot of herds of small children all over the place! With a few exceptions they were being supervised by the mums although in some cases they were allowed to run wild.
The rooms are comfortable but probably due to the number of visitors they had, they did not manage to check out all their light fitting. 02:30 is not the time to find your light does not work when you're in a strange room! They did fix the problem very promptly after it was reported that morning.
I still had some WiFi problems in my room as I did on my previous visit. It is an old building with very thick walls which could contribute to the problems.

Room Tip: For me, the rooms in the main building are preferred. The other rooms are very good too but I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Al D

We are privileged to be your host when visiting the Garden Route – thank you for your loyal support. The hotel was exceptionally busy this past December and January, so I do apologize if we slipped up with a light bulb in your room. The WIFI problem is being addressed, the thick sandstone walls does not make it easy, but we have resolved the problem. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1.0 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
253 reviews
17.9 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
360 reviews
17.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
551 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Address: cnr of Church and Market Streets, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Mossel Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $93 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing