We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay in room 33”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed 4 relaxing days at the Mossel Bay Protea Hotel the past week. From Check-in to Check- out was effortless. Thank you Ronel and JJ for your hospitality. The hotel is very popular we enjoyed our stay so much we wanted to stay another night on our return trip but the Hotel was fully booked.

Room Tip: The Presidential Suite Room 33 private and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Hilary023
Baie dankie vir jou positiewe terugvoering en bydrae ons waardeer dit !
Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future – suite 33 will be ready. Take care and remember to live life slowly…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 448 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at the PROTEA HOTEL in Mossel Bay during a business trip. From check-in up until I left is was a lovely, relaxing experience. The rooms were clean, the bed was excellent and the food for breakfast and dinner was of a very good quality and presentation.
If I had to add and improvement suggestion, the only thing I could say is that the selection of single malt whiskeys and brown rums in the Blue Oyster Bar is very basic and I personally would have adored having more choice.
I therefore highly suggest this hotel for any business traveler or even for holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Rob655_10
WOW the TEAM are so proud ! A heartfelt thank you for your very valued comments. We appreciate the recommendation. Maybe with your next visit we would be able to offer a wider variety of whiskeys and rums at the very popular Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

From check-in up until we left is was a lovely, relaxing experience. The decor in the self catering units are stunning and they cater for every need. The staff are great! We love the hotel and will always go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warnush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Warnush
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.
Glad to hear you had a relaxing experience – as this is where we live life slowly !
Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future…..
Happy travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a great break-away long weekend which we started by booking into the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay. A warm welcome and very relaxing atmosphere made us feel very at ease and made it easy to settle right into a holiday mood. Our suite was very luxurious, well appointed and really comfortable. An amazing view over the ocean and harbour made for a great sun-downer on the room balcony! We had some cool unique cocktails at the Blue Oyster Bar before having dinner at the Gannet Restaurant. Their pizza is among the best you will ever taste, and their breakfast was full house! The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and made us feel very at home. I would like to thank Protea Hotel Mossel Bay for a great time and I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in Mossel Bay. The whole experience was amazing and exceeded all of my expectations!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josuahoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear JosuaHoffman

WOW thank you very much for your comments ! Glad to hear you enjoyed your week end with us…..true to our logo….”live life slowly in Mossel Bay…” Mossel Bay has the most moderate climate in Africa – so it is a popular destination especially over week ends and holidays. The TEAM at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay are great, always striving to exceed GUEST expectations.
Look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I decided to escape city life for a long weekend and booked into the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay. My boyfriend and I were welcomed warmly with a friendly smile and a glass of port and escorted to our Suite. What a 5 star experience! Bubbly, the sound of the ocean, view over the bay and the most exquisite decor! The atmosphere at the hotel was lively yet relaxed. We enjoyed the most decadent cocktails at the "Blue Oyster Bar" (I recommend the "Brad Pitt" for the ladies- happiness through a straw!). The Gannet Restaurant served us the most fantastic dinner next to a warm fire place and we had a king's breakfast in the morning.
I just had the most amazing experience! The only downside was leaving, yet not too bad as I felt completely revived! Thank you again Mossel Bay Protea!

Room Tip: The Suites are truly an experience not to be missed! Three story happiness! Sunny, beautiful view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IZ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear IZ82
We are so happy you chose us for your romantic long week end…away from all the rushing and noise -at the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay ……where we live life slowly ! The Blue Oyster Bar is the coolest bar in Mossel Bay with superb views over the BAY and the most decadent cocktails….The Café Gannet Restaurant is known as “Mossel Bay’s Seafood House” it has been in operation for over 20 years and very well known for its fresh delicious seafoods…The self catering suites overlooking the harbour and Santos Beach are very popular and very comfortable. Hope to see you again soon with your next breakaway from the city and its’ lights….Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor it is most appreciated.

Kindest regards


Karen Bús
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at the Protea Hotel for 3 days on our tour of South Africa. It was one of our highlights accommodation wise. The rooms were very comfortable, all situated as chalets overlooking Mossel Bay. The restaurant was really superb, the breakfast menu being very varied and highly recommended. Evening meals were waiter service, and again excellent value, and very varied. All the staff were very friendly, with nothing too much trouble. The whole hotel was spotless throughout.
I would also like to recommend a visit to the Bartholemew Diaz Museum directly across the road from the Protea Hotel.Inside the museum was a full size caravel(ship) which Diaz landed in Mossel Bay in 1488. How anyone managed to get such a large ship inside the museum is amazing. Also don't miss the 3 amazing stained glass windows in the building.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbparker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Ashtree Clithroe

WOW thank you very much for taking time to comment on Trip Advisor and your lovely comments. To be a highlight on accommodation, a spotless hotel throughout and a superb restaurant – makes our TEAM so proud. The hotel offers complimentary entrance to the Diaz Museum – it is a must see in Mossel Bay with South Africa’s First Post Office (shoe at an old Milkwood Tree). Trust your visit to our lovely country was a memorable and enjoyable one. Look forward to welcoming you back one day. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Me and my husband were one honeymoon and we were welcome so warmly and acknowleged as newly weds we were made to feel really special. The service was warm and friendly and very proffesional. The room was warm and extremely comfortable. Buffet Breakfast was 1st class. We had a two night stay that holds very special memories. Thank you Mossel Bay Protea Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Joy B

Thank you for lovely comments we are so priviledged to be part of your special memory. Hope to welcome you back for an anniversary one day. May the future bless you both with lots of love, health and happiness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1.0 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
253 reviews
17.9 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
359 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.8 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 54 in Mossel Bay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Address: cnr of Church and Market Streets, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Mossel Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $93 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing