We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgrade heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Upgrade heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The manager kindly upgraded us to a triplex suite with fabulous views of the harbour and bay. Very spacious and well equipped with kitchen, fridge, large flatscreen tv and a seating area. We used their restaurant "Cafe Gannet" and enjoyed our meals along with several wines we had bought in Stellenbosch/Franschhoek at a modest corkage. Buffet breakfasts were excellent but I thought that staff could have made more effort to cover cereals and seeds which were often visited by small birds! They had a problem with their wifi but I was allowed to use one of the hotel's desktop computers to check my emails. We were offered complimentary wifi vouchers but I understand that Protea Hotels are rolling out free wlfi for their guests. Reception staff were polite and helpful and housekeeping was very thorough. Our car was parked beside the hotel but we were "invited" to tip the local street boys for "security"! There was nothing intimidating about this and it is a way of life in SA. It was actually the hotel staff who had cleaned our windscreen! Be careful taking the steps from the hotel to the restaurant - the final step is 2" lower than the other risers and my wife landed heavily, injuring her knee. I drew attention to the staff that a nearby lamp was not working and they had it repaired the following day. I am not sure what the normal rooms are like at this hotel thanks to their GM, Karen Bus!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Mr Mac Chelmsford
My most humble apologies for the delay in reply. Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay.
I am happy to advise the free wifi is now available and working efficiently, at the steps we are installing a handrail with additional lighting. Otherwise, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again when you return to sunny South Africa. “Live life slowly in Mossel Bay …”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    144
    57
    10
    3
See reviews for
81
188
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a suite with two other friends having arrived late in the evening on the off chance of finding 2 double rooms but having to opt for the apartment.

Lovely apartments over 3 levels and very clean and open plan. All the facilities well maintained and pleasant.

Our friends took the double air conditioned room downstairs in the basement and we ended up sleeping onthe upper level platform twin beds. This marred our experience a little given the upper platform was stifling hot and the facts there is no ventilation or window to open being near the roof. It also tests the theory that hot air rises so all in all not the best sleep.

Staff are faultless and very friendly. Local seafood restaurant just 2 mins walk from the hotel is excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Brit Flip
Thank you very much for your kind comments which are most appreciated. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, construction of the loft in the self catering harbour suite does not allow for windows to be opened, we have however made provision for additional ventilation. The Café Gannet Restaurant is known as Mossel Bay’s Seafood House very popular for its fresh seafood from our local harbour. Look forward to welcoming you back when visiting the Garden Route again. “ Live life slowly in Mossel Bay…”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was our second stay at the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay. On arrival there was a power outage so we checked in with portable battery operated lights. We stayed in the Presidential Suite which was awesome. Luckily the power came back on within half a hour of our arrival. Our suite consisted of lounge, diningroom, basic kitchenette, two bedrooms, nice big bathroom with jacuzzi bath and shower. My kids felt so special that our surname was on our parking bay stating "Presidential Suite" I loved the balcony which led off the lounge and the main bedroom.
The linen was of good quality and also enjoyed the fact that they gave you the option to choose which type of pillow you liked. The main bedroom also had a dvd player with a in house choice of movies to watch. We ate dinner at the Gannet Restaurant which was very busy due to the power outage earlier. The sushi and the mussel pot was very good. They also have a kiddies menu. The service all round from porter to waitress to reception staff was all of high standard and would definitely rate this a four star hotel and not three. Breakfast was good. We had booked here again on our return to the Eastern Cape so will add a further review

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a view of the harbour. Try the seafood medley which has crayfish, mussels, fish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene261202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Irene
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back to Mossel Bay. Mossel Bay is exactly halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth so does make the ideal stop over when travelling to the either. “Live life slowly in Mossel Bay…”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here as a stopover while driving the Garden Route to Cape Town. I used my company rate with Protea which should have included breakfast. We paid 895 Rand for the night and were told we got an "upgraded" manor room. This room was small, very basic, noisy and made me wonder what a standard room must be like. I spoke with three different people about breakfast and no one would take accountability and make a decision and just kept referring me to the hotel manager. I decided not to waste my time arguing with these people and we decided to eat elsewhere. As a frequent guest in other Protea properties, the chain should not allow this location to use their name. There is one major exception! The restaurant, Cafe Ganet was truly amazing. We had great service from Raylene who made us feel at home and took excellent care of us. The food was amazing and her suggestions were spot on.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EP05313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to email us with regard to your recent stay. Your feedback is highly valued and has been used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the rate misunderstanding that you experienced during your visit to our hotel.

Your comments on the rooms have been duly noted. We pride ourselves on clean and functional rooms, as well as efficient and friendly service - actually our guest feedback forms scores this as one of our highest attributes.

Once again my apologies for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

The hotel is situated in an excellent part of town with exceptional hotel accomodation. Lovely people and probably the best restuarant in Mossel Bay. Excellent for family outing. My son enjoyed the jumping trampoline. Fantastic - I would take the family to Protea anytime in future.

Room Tip: Ask for the double storey building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comfort B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Mr Comfort Bunting

Thank you for taking the time to email your comments. Your feedback is highly valued and very much appreciated.
We pride ourselves on clean and functional rooms, as well as efficient and friendly service.

The hotel complex is very nicely situated - a 5 min walk down to the beach, and the restaurant Café Gannet is fast becoming The meeting place in Mossel Bay.
A big thank you from the TEAM here in Mossel Bay - we look forward to welcoming you and the family back with your next trip to beautiful Mossel Bay !.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

A fabulous room split into 2 levels with great views of the Indian Ocean. Room was spacious and very clean. A well equipped kitchen and a living room with flat TV. Bathroom had both a jaccuzzi and a shower square! Breakfast was great as well as dinner...

However there is nowhere to go to from there ... and was very quiet on a sunday night.. thank god for the bar in the hotel :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanyukta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you Sanyukta for taking the time to email your comments. Your feedback is highly valued and very much appreciated.

We pride ourselves on clean and functional rooms, as well as efficient and friendly service.

Yes the Legendary Blue Oyster Bar, overlooking the Santos Beach and the pool area, is a very popular venue, especially for its fresh Wild Mossel Bay oysters and a decadent sundowner.

Thank you for allowing us to host you with your stay in the Garden Route. Live life slowly…..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

From the General manager to all the staff, you are treated like family.
this is my third stay and the service and atmosphere remains consistently good.

Room Tip: Ocean facing if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilton Vos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you Hilton for taking the time to email your comments. Your feedback is highly valued and very much appreciated.

We pride ourselves on clean and functional rooms, as well as efficient and friendly service. A big thank you from the TEAM here in Mossel Bay - we look forward to welcoming you back with your next trip to the beautiful Garden Route.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
17.9 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Address: cnr of Church and Market Streets, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Mossel Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing